PTI's internal strife: IK issues 'gag order'

So, whats going on now?

PTI’s chief furious as internal party differences made public - Pakistan - DAWN.COM

ISLAMABAD: Differen*ces within the Pakistan Tehreek-i-Insaf (PTI) that had been simmering for some time now became public on Tuesday.

Pulled to pieces by the media over the cracks within its ranks, PTI Chairman Imran Khan issued a ‘gag order’ warning all party leaders — regardless of their position within the party — against providing information to the media about what he called “PTI’s internal issues”.

In a curtly-worded press statement, Mr Khan said: “The party will not tolerate any internal matter or document being discussed or released to the media by anyone, no matter how senior a position he/she holds.”

Also read: Rifts surface among PTI local cadres

The party election tribunal, led by a former judge, Justice Wajihuddin Ahmad, which had earlier sent a report raising serious questions over the fairness of the PTI’s intra-party elections, is said to be unhappy with the role of Secretary General Jahangir Tareen. Justice Ahmad reportedly issued a show-cause notice to Mr Tareen, seeking clarification on why he didn’t offer his services to the tribunal and assist it in discharging its duty.

Then, Umar Cheema, the recently-appointed spokesperson for the PTI chairman, questioned the role of senior party leader Hamid Khan, who was the chairman of the party’s election commission. Although the PTI has yet to officially confirm it, Mr Cheema is said to have been removed from his position in the shakeup following the adoption of the Justice Wajih report.

According to PTI insiders, a group within the party — led by Mr Tareen — had opposed releasing the Justice Wajih report at this point in time. The report holds that the party’s internal elections, held in early 2013, were not genuine.

Differences over fate of Justice Wajih report prompt Imran Khan to issue ‘gag order’ barring discussion of internal matters with media
As a consequence of the report, all organisational committees within the party have been dissolved, but most key office-bearers are continuing with their responsibilities until the next elections.

Mr Khan said the PTI was a democratic party, “But there has to be discipline and confidentiality about internal discussions and proceedings relating to party matters.” Therefore, Mr Khan warned, any party member, including the senior leadership, was found leaking or deliberately making public any internal matters or documents dealing with internal party affairs, they would be immediately suspended and proceeded against.

Although the press statement mentioned the controversy surrounding the election tribunal report, it avoided naming the protagonists.

“Mr Khan expressed his anger over the recent leakage of documents and statements relating to the election tribunal,” said the statement. Mr Khan said such things were deliberately being made public to harm the party.

The statement, without na*ming anyone, also mentioned the serving of a show-cause notice within the party to an influential office-bearer.

“The PTI chairman took serious note of the show-cause notice served to a senior party leader being made public. Subsequent revelations in the media of documents and letters to and from the tribunal, accompanied by statements, were also noted by the chairman, who made it clear that the party would not tolerate such irresponsible and damaging behaviour.”

New PTI CEC

Also on Tuesday, Mr Khan appointed former interior secretary Tasnim Noorani as new chief election commissioner for the party. The chairman appointed Mr Noorani on the recommendation of the PTI’s election tribunal “with full powers that he might need to carry out all tasks relating to membership and electoral rolls including formation of any committee to assist him in any of these functions”.

Re: PTI's internal strife: IK issues 'gag order'

What is it with this guy,

"Other" are buying my MPAs, i'll dissolve KPK assembly if my MPAs sold their vote..

and now, issued warning to all PTI that "party", who is party here? he himself??? and btw isn't this kind of thing/warning should be strictly internal and confidential matter???

I mean, he is accusing that his very own party mates, at higher positions (when saying regardless of their high positions in party) are not under his control and he have to do a public chitrol like Altaf Hussain does it for its rabita committee????

annd he says, he'll bring change... bhai sahib, pani party to sambhal lo...

^^^I think IK is a unstable personality with dictatorial tendencies. Btw, its funny b/c according to internal party report PTI's elections were rigged. I wonder by who? LOL

This is embarrassing for the party which wants to ensure free and fair elections in the country

Re: PTI’s internal strife: IK issues ‘gag order’

Reason
Sale of all four general seats ticket of Senate
#Mukmaka](http://www.paklinks.com/gs/usertag.php?do=list&action=hash&hash=Mukmaka) with PML N secretly

No miracles should be expected from party of "Super Permanent Lotay".

i agree

Ok so the issue here is not the fact that a party in Pakistan (seemingly for the first time ever) has conducted an honest self-audit.....The issue is that IK has chastised members for leaking info. Ok.

I forgot that the rest of the parties in the country were already eons ahead in this exercise.

You are kidding yourself. There has been no 'first time ever honest self-audit'

Pti is as dishonest and corrupt as PML,PPP, etc.

Your hero-worship blinds you to see this party is the exact same corrupt party as all the others.

Please don't ask logical questions. Everyone knows that it was genuine effort from Imran Khan to hold internal party elections which most parties have never done. Lot effort was made, irregularities happened despite the efforts, the fact that they even asked for an audit report is first ever but nothing is enough for some.

Reason is it makes them feel better in supporting parties that appoint their whole family members on key posts and every decision is made by Badsha e Salamat. This is the case of them bringing PTI down to their level rather than raising themselves. People see Jahangir Tareen & S M Qureshi and ignore 90% of average workers who were elected.
Another political mistake by politically naive person to improve things, he should have just gone with the flow and do what other parties do :)

Party election & rigging was planned by Imran Khan to make the fans fool
Exposed so angry

Display of superiority complex!

Where, only PTI and it followers can think logically, rest cannot. Doesn't matter what reality is!
Where, honesty is rare and P T I chief have to cry in public!

Yet only logical discussion can held within the PTIans...
Where so far, PTIans have ranked number one in abusing and name-calling...and only MQM may have chance to compete PTI...

Yes it is superiority complex if not something else...we all know IK do it because of the drugs he take... Don't know if other PTIans are on drugs or not...

And the abusing starts

Lol blaming others for name calling and using language straight out of the books of paid patwaris. All this groups posts is rubbish like "Zani Khan" "IK on Drugs", "U Turn" etc. I guess the education provided in Danish schools is finally paying off.

Aray bhai,

why are you wasting you time talking to the people who cannot have logical debate aka not part of PTI or criticize PTI... you should be doing debates with the people of PTI only, because only they are capable of having logical debates... so please do not waste you valuable time in debating inferior species like us....

Also your leader, who is the biggest logical guy ever, endorses my claim, as per him... no body buy only PTI should vote for him and support him anyone found supporting any other party is an idiot as per his logic.. and that is great logic as per PTI

Thank you

Lol take it easy mate, sorry to hurt your feelings but i never called you or anyone illogical. The simple fact is that absolutely no one can deny that all the flag bearers of so called democracy have absolutely no democracy within the parties. Here is a guy at least trying to genuinely change that tradition, people find nothing but wrong with his efforts rather than trying to force other parties to take the same route. Who said he was going to succeed 100% in holding first ever party elections at such a large scale involving hundreds of thousands of voters. If same mistakes are repeated at same scale next time around, criticise him all you want.

So it wasn't you

Please don't ask logical questions

It is not only you, almost all PTIans behave like this, so it is normal for you... remember when people were dying due to suffocation in Multan, SMQ, the 2nd most logical guy in PTI said, it is normal... so it should be normal...

and not getting in debate with you because we cannot have logical argument or debate... you can have it with PTIans only... so no need of clarifications

Great idea!!

so you wouldn’t be wasting our time by putting your great ideas to us or quoting us.. right??? you can do it with PTI only…that would be calling social boycott of all who are not from PTI… would be great..

Check out the hypocrisy of PMLN supporters. For past few months print and electronic media is constantly writing about rifts in PMLN, forward block, old stalwarts quitting the party, exposing the corrupt ways of Sharif family, threatening to form new unit. I didn’t hear them crying that if PMLN cannot handle a party, how will they run a country? Or are they running a country. No why would they even mention anything like this, they all go mute.

That just shows anti PTI flouters just love to bash PTI in most pathetically knee jerk and hyperbolic way, just for sake of it.

Bloody hypocrites.

Typical deluded Pti posts -nobody is defending PML. Sharif is criticised all the time.

They are pointing out how Pti is exact same corrupt party as PML,PPP etc.
Only deluded fools think otherwise.

As for ‘Pti elections’, we all know how the elected Javed Hashmi was shunned and kicked out of the party on Imran’s orders.