PTI women activists tortured [merged]

Source: The News
11/16/2007
LAHORE: Forty PTI workers, including three sisters of the Pakistan Tehrik-e-Insaf Chairman Imran Khan, were rounded up by the police from a peaceful protest demonstration against Imran’s detention at the Barkat Market, after a brutal baton-charge and thrashing by plainclothes security personnel, here on Thursday.

Mrs. Rani Hafiz Khan, Uzma Khan and Aleema Khan, sisters of Imran, along with PTI office-bearers were proceeding towards the Punjab University new campus from the Barkat Market to protest against the detention of Imran and his manhandling by the IJT, when massive police contingents armed with batons countered them.

PTI Lahore president Shabbir Sial and women wing president Saloni Bokhari were also present. The protestors carried banners and placards, hailing Imran and condemning the JI’s student wing. They also chanted slogans against the IJT. The PTI wanted to join a student procession in the PU against the IJT’s brutality.

Meanwhile, more than 200 policemen equipped with batons and firearms under the supervision of SP Model Town Imran Ahmar and DSP Shams appeared and intercepted them. The protestors refused to stop rallying. Police on resistance thrashed male and female protestors and shoved them into a prison van.

In the absence of lady police, male police officials thrashed and manhandled the PTI activists. The lady activists started crying and shouting at their arrest which created panic in the market.

The arrested male workers were shifted to Garden Town police station while women were first shifted to the Gulberg police station and later to the Model Town police station.

Sources in police said the Garden Town police had registered a case against 24 nominated male and female PTI workers and 10 unknown workers on the charges violation of section 144, 186 and 188 of PPC.

The arrested PTI women were identified as Uzma, Nasim Zohra, Azhar Sajjid, Salma Ejaz, Dr Uzma Asif, Rabia Khan, Sadiqa, Samia Khan, Mrs Rizwan, Munazza Hassan, Talat Naqvi, Professor Shahid Fazal.

PTI women activists tortured

Re: PTI women activists tortured

dont have any argument with the article, but from the pics posted here it seems like there were lady cops on site.

so see that aunty in orange shalwar qameez and ‘joggers’ running away, i can see a female cop right there..

There were around 200 policemen out of which half left and the women cops arrived after the baton charge had started and even upon arrival werent involved in putting the women into the vans, those honours were done by the male police and undercover cops as you can see in the pic.
The guys were beaten up at the Garden Town police station and later taken to the Model town police station where they were kept in a lock up. At their arrival at the model town police station in prison vans under tight security, the students and women were cheered by crows waiting outside the police station. There were around a 100 people outside the Model Town police station waiting for their release. The women were released at around 11 in the nite while the guys at around 1, most of them students. It's alrite that the police have orders to arrest people who cause law and order situations, why the beating up after they are taken away?!

just to play devil's advocate..for all i know its her bhai helping her get up in the van.

anyways, my intent was to show that the article is not accurate, i like accuracy. I am not really debating that men may have put these ladies in the vans, probably because they were not going to take orders and go inside..but that is a whole diff discussion that I am really not focused on.

the article is just not accurate on that one point, and I thouhgt i would statethat.

yea they lack accuracy in that they havent talked about women police gettin there later on although what they say isnt entirely false that women were manhandled by male police in the absence of women cops, coz that is exactly what happened unto the time when the latter got there n bout her 'bhai', u dint see the scenes there so ure free to comment
women were baton charged for Gods sake

I saw this on GEO yesterday and the guy was no bhai. He did the same thing to other women too. The lady in Orange was literally dragged and pushsed on to the ground. Saw it myself.

here is the actual video

Imran Khan’s Sisters beaten up on street by police
check this out, mayb this is the way bhais treated behens where you grew up, i can assure u this isnt a norm in other places

wow, so now 60-80 women cant get together and walk on the street with some posters. That too near a very popular shopping market.

For context, some other countries where Pakistani women could have benn treated the same or worse..
Burma. Nigeria. Zimbabwe. North Korea. Sudan. Eritrea. Fiji. Laos. Libya. Angola. Cuba. Somalia.

Reverse Swing – Imran Khan

http://www.dailytimes.com.pk/default.asp?page=2007\11\15\story_15-11-2007_pg1_9

What a Shame!!
That really makes me sad. Though, I don’t agree with his political views but I do think he is one of the greatest Cricket player on the Planet and he is our national hero. He deserve better then that and those Jamati Ghundas must showed him little bit respect even they don’t like him politican or cricketer, He is double their age.

Re: Reverse Swing -- Imran Khan

you should've seen what they did to his sisters for protesting. there were no female cops just male cops shoving and pushing those ladies in the police van without any regards to their gender. fukin' pathetic.

what does the dictator think that by closing Geo and Ary he can silence our voices and blind our eyes?

Jo chup rahe gi zuban-e-khunjer
Tu lahu pukaray ga asteen ka

down with the dictator....what they did to his family is truly deplorable!!!

I saw those photos but I didn't know that those bibis were his sisters

^^ were those imran's sisters???? can anyone confirm that?????

yup, they were his sisters.

ohmygawd....I cant believe this....seriously, knowing the background they come from, his family....it is unbelievable

Re: Reverse Swing – Imran Khan

http://www.dailytimes.com.pk/default.asp?page=2007\11\16\story_16-11-2007_pg1_14
Are you talking about this picture??

Dictator wasn't there when Jameyiat asked him to come to PU, locked him up for one hour and then handed over to the police. He has been saying for past 11 days that he would bring students to roads but I think he didn't know Qazi saab as yet

^^ Santa Qazi saab is a government collaborater. Mushy "planted" MMA in the frontier in 2002 elections, for certain.

yes, his sisters and cousins were in this protest rally.

I don’t think this ladies in particular are his sisters, they were in the same crowd and the whole crowd was handled similarly.