PTI internal elections

They are starting today, a process which could make or break the party. If they are held successfully it will become an example for the other political parties within the country, and if it fails not only it will damage the party immensely but make it a laughing stock. I dont think the time is proper for this activity now, they should have conducted them six months back. Now the elections are nearing, and still no one knows the candidates of PTI in various constituencies. After the announcement of candidates, it will still take them a couple of months to campaign to propagate their message.

Anyways the countdown begins from today, a big risk…

Re: PTI internal elections

It is surely a massive risk and although it was ideal to hold them 6 months back, i don't think it was possible since there was no membership campaign and it was never going to be easy holding elections with millions of members especially when it has NEVER been done before in Pakistan.

Obviously there will be problems, people leaving party, mistakes etc and media will give huge coverage to the weak points purposely ignoring the fact that it has never been done before and how difficult it is with available PTI resources and volunteers.

What is the risk in holding party elections? I don't understand. Why would they make or break the party?
Would these elections be different from elections other parties have had before?

Elections are just around the corner, first of all the timing is not appropriate. Secondly you cannot satisfy every one in elections like these, therefore some people who dont get positions of their liking could opt out. Anyways lets see, Islamabad would be today and KP during December.

Pakisani media seem to be blissfully unaware of any such development right in the capital. God bless them.

So far they are going well

Same media who has questioned Imran Khan and PTI reps in at least 100 talkshows
Aap k party elections kab ho rahay hain
Kya aap serious hain in k liye
Hum kab se sun rahay hain, kab karwa rahi hai party elections

It's just like, Imran Khan sahib aap ki policies kya hai, aapki economic policy, youth policy kahan hai???
When these policies were announced, no one bothered to give them any coverage except for economic policy which was then labelled as wishlist :)

No one has ever held these party elections in our history through 'open membership" so that tells you why it is a massive risk. People who lose these elections leave the party (mostly because of EGO problems), some will claim rigging and others will give other reasons as it may not be easy to work for a party whose members elected your opponent, it can hurt anyone's ego.

These elections are way different than other parties. The only party that holds such elections are Jamat e Islami and even they do not hold them through open membership but selected members cast their votes only.

It has huge significance as popular and elected members then award party tickets. Imran Khan cannot sell these tickets or award them to own family members as it is common in Pakistan (or even subcontinent for that matter). It promotes even an average middle class contestant to reach the top level by working hard rather than rich people investing money and then obviously claiming it back with interest once they get elected :)

ISLAMABAD - As around 63,000 voters of the Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaaf (PTI) went for intra-party polls for the federal capital on Sunday, most of the enthusiastic youth experienced numerous difficulties due to blockage of the land-lines dedicated for the election and jamming of mobile-phone networks.
However, despite repeated requests by the voters and candidates, Hamid Khan, chief election commissioner for the PTI polls, did not extend the deadline of 12am for polls and the polling continued until filing of this report.
Great enthusiasm was witnessed at the polling stations as media teams witnessed voters in long queues. The PTCL phone lines dedicated and publicised for voting had been blocked by the government, apparently in order to disrupt the polling.
Emotional voters expressed their annoyance with the blockage of the phone lines, complaining that they had made arrangements for almost a month for the polling day but things had changed following the blockage.
“Since phone lines were not responding, I tried the cell phone number, but that was also not working either due to network problem or due to some conspiracy. So I came here to cast my vote,” said Mohammad Zaman, a voter at G-9 Markaz polling station. Another voter, Shafique Ahmed, said the poling officer at I-10 Markaz polling station did not allow him to cast his vote despite the fact that he had presented a copy of his CNIC.
The polling officer said the party did not allow casting vote on a copy of the CNIC and the original card was mandatory, he said.
PTI chief Imran Khan congratulated workers for taking part in the first-ever intra-party election, saying the PTI would get rid of family control in the political parties and voters would chose their leaders through transparent system of voting.
“This is a historic day. The PTI workers have laid foundation of change and a new Pakistan would emerge from these polls where the masses’ whims would prevail and there would be no place for political monarchs. This is a real change and this change process would continue until the people see their true leaders taking over from the coterie of corrupt,” he remarked.
PTI President Makhdoom Javed Hashmi, Secretary Information Shafqat Mahmood, Ayla Malik, Dr Israr Shah and others visited polling stations established in G-6, G-9, G-10, I-10 sectors and in the suburbs of the federal capital. The selection of the polling stations was intriguing and reflected that the PTI leaders avoided polling stations established in posh areas and rather populous areas were selected with massive voters’ presence.
It was a new chapter in the country’s history as voters exercised their right to choose around 500 party leaders for the federal capital in the first-ever intra-party elections held in the country.
Though over 70 percent voters cast their votes through cell phones and SMS messages, around 41 polling stations were established across the federal capital to facilitate those who either did not have access to cell phones or did not know how to vote through the new gadgets.
It was also for the first time the voters exercised their right to vote through modern gadgets and information technology – paving the way for a new, transparent system of voting where the voters were able to choose their leadership without any fear or favour.
Talking to reporters, Javed Hashmi said it was a great day and the PTI workers gave a message to other political workers to get rid of the rotten culture and their lifetime chairmen.
“This is a day of hope for a change. I can see a new political culture emerging from these elections. I have waged struggle for change in the political parties and now this change is taking place,” he added.
Shafqat Mahmood said the PTI had conducted real election in the party and this was not a drama.
“Though we don’t have the resources that a government enjoys, yet we have installed a mechanism where over seven million PTI voters would take part in the party polls. This process of elections would be completed by end of December or in early January,” he added.
Mahmood also condemned the government’s tactics for blocking the phone numbers dedicated for voting and said the PTI would face the government’s tactics bravely.
PTI leader Ayla Malik felicitated the PTI workers on the eve of the intra-party polls and said it was a historic day for the party as well as the country.
“This is a big day and the political workers have succeeded to win their right to choose their leaders. This election would help smash family control in political parties. This would also trigger a political awareness and the political activists would not allow family hegemonies and the culture of nominations anymore,” she added.

PTI holds historic, first ever intra-party election | Pakistan Today | Latest news | Breaking news | Pakistan News | World news | Business | Sport and Multimedia

Not a single word on Geo about the whole development. But I have been listening to the earthshaking news of Altaf Hussein condemning Gaza attacks since yesterday. The MQM had a conference on the issue today and I remained under the impression throughout the day as if the Palestine issue has been finally resolved for once and all — thanx to the condemnation and the conference.

Interestingly this was the first time i heard about Gaza issue in the whole weekend i watched Geo. Almost every time i switched to Geo or ARY, all i could watch was minute by minute update of Thackrey's health and then death and finally funeral.

I understand that there could be other important news and if they were busy covering SERIOUS issue like Gaza then fine but can't believe they couldn't cover this even in between breaks from Pakistan hater Thackrey's live funreal coverage.

More interestingly, the condemnation was taken as the main story while the main story of attacks on Gaza actually became a side story. A classic way of putting the cart before the horse.

Anyway, my sincerest thanks to Altaf Bhai for speaking on Gaza, making it an obligation on the media to report it. Otherwise, so many fashion weeks are starting around the globe...

Impressive ways of conducting elections. Whether you are from PTI or not, you have to give it to PTI for a courageous step. This bottom up election process has never been followed in subcontinent (let alone in Pakistan) where top down selection has been followed since decades. This whole process has been transparent and verifiable.

This was internal affair of Nirrals .
The election were held in the residence town of party chairman and charity king .
Months have been spent to make it a better show with great spending of charity money
But they could not bring even their members in this Posh city where there was no risk or disturbance of of any type .
Rigging was claimed by the party women wing itself .
I have no concern with this drama
but how they will bring their few voters to the poling both in general elections . It is a question

Doesnt matter rigging was claimed or election drama was in the town of IK. Atleast they did something that no so called parties of awam could do. This is better then topi drama of (N)autanki league elections where showbaz sharif was elected billa-muqabla...
I have no concern as well but Unkil just a question...aap ki party pani saay chalti hai?

IK is making sure that his grave is not worshipped when he is gone.

:salute:

I tolerate your misguided attacks all the time Pasha Saheb but this takes the cake. Put your money where your mouth is and provide proof that charity money has been used.

If you can't then forever admit and accept that you will do and say anything you can to discredit anyone that does not agree with your views.

Let me also remind you that casting such doubt over someone that does so much charitable work for the awam is a sin answerable to Allah......is it still a game to you? If even one person decides not to donate to the hospital or the school as a result of reading your false allegation.....how do you think that would go over with the Almighty?

When all charges leveled here against leaders of Pakistan will be proved , I shall must prove that and Ch Nisar and Khawaja Asif are still waiting for any legal action since months for the same charges. Ask your leader to do some thing against them as he announced before public , After that you can challenge me . You know I am always available just a few KM away from the more than 180,000 Sq yards residence of your leader .

Unkil you forgot ...IK also promised to drag Altaf Hussain in courts.
you forgot... How many times Raja Rental promised to end load sheding.
you forgot... Rahman malik is suppose to present some undeniable evidance in NAB against Sharif Brothers.
PS: Aap ki tabyat zyada khrab lagti hai.... larkana kay kareeb move hoo jain please.

Jiyale will dis agree though