Pti gets historic reception in the National Assembly

Re: Pti gets historic reception in the National Assembly

Lessons of life - you don’t always get what you plan! IK took a maximalist position, no doubt in that whatsoever. But he has to accept JC’s results now. If you have remember correctly, IK dropped his NS resignation demand mid way in the dharna, and JC became the final solution. Albeit PMLN didn’t want that either, both parties went around the circles over T&Cs, but at the end, PTI achieved the much empowered and independent JC despite ending their dharnas.

This is politics. Idealism is all good and dandy but sometimes, especially when you are at the mercy of others, you have make practical agreements. IK has always struggled with practicality.

Errr no. They were only days away from their Pakistan Blockade day, and that could’ve either made or break things on large scale for either for PTI or PMLN. That was their last big strategy, and that must be given some benefit of doubt. In the eyes of Mullahs, Dharna was one big summer festival, but it was an absolute nuisance and pressure cooker for the government.

Did he also drop ‘I don’t trust a JC while NS is in power’? If you don’t trust elections, believe parliament is fake/choor then be a man and leave it and I would’ve support PTI in that.

That would’ve failed as well, as people were getting tired of dharnas.

Yes. He said form an empowered and independent JC and resign after the results. He sat outside parliament for 7 months and only came back after the JC. People were also getting tired of PTI sitting outside and not playing their role in the assembly. You cannot please everyone. Those who want to nit pick and bash PTI on failing to reach prophetic perfections will continue to have a moan here and there. In two days, I’m pretty sure they’ll find a new issue.

That’s a highly subjective view from hindsight. Your guess is as good as mine. The way I see it, people were anticipating PTI’s last move and they wanted to results after that.

So it’s pretty much confirmed by the reaction (which was expected) that Imran Khan is the biggest problem in Pakistan. His criticism of the corrupt Mafia and murderers was wrong and he should have been more respectful. Imran is paying the price of speaking against them being called greedy power hungry even though he has never ruled the country but people like Nawaz Sharif are champions of democracy after conspiracing against sitting governments with the help of ISI. The same people who used to call Zia (worst dictator ever) their daddy are now champions of democracy lol.
And the we have a party whose leader is proven criminal even at international level are talking about constitutions.

No wonder this country is going through it’s worst phase ever…well thanks to Imran khan :slight_smile:

What is PTI going to get sitting with most morally, financially corrupt people in history of the world, what does PTI have to gain from sitting in parliament? Nothing is going to come out of this JC. Imran knows this, PTI knows that. Only way for PTI was streets. This was a puzzling move.
I want to know whose decision this was? I am thinking SMQ, Shafqat Mahmood…

PTI gave a chance to rats like Khawaja Asif, who talk garbage before and ended up back-tracking short time after.

Well we are supposed to close eyes on these corrupt leeches because this is part of democracy and we are likely to get the fruit of democracy in 3-4 decades. Till then, anyone raising questions against these leeches is considered anti democratic :slight_smile:

Early on in the initial stages of dharna’s the gov’t was at most pressure and IK had chances to get 5 out of the 6 demands save the resignation. The stubborness of not compromising on any of those points gave ample time to the gov’t and in the latter stages of the protests, I believe PTI and supporters had realized that. Also, the rigging and reforms issue could have been kept alive while maintaining the pressure IN parliament and at the same time the continued and sustained protests could have resulted in a different outcome.

Plus PTI was ELECTED to parliament to serve the people, it’s not based on whim because you differ in policy issues that you decide not to go and still benefit from the added privileges of being a member. I agree with what someone had said earlier that it was more of a face saving strategy and the opportunity had come in the unfortunate Army Public School shooting.

However, their is still hope for optimism with recent negotiations on the JC, their decision to attend parliament and give fierce opposition on national security issues and concluding the outcome of the JC on rigging and election reforms.

Atizaz Ehsan grilled K. Asif brilliantly in the parliament session and the questions raised were quite valid. The purpose of the session was on a critical national security matters relating to the the Middle East and instead became a circus for criticism of opposing political party.

If a resolution could have been reached, it would not only have sent a strong message to other nations but also strengthened our role as a important mediator without budging on troops and military engagement.

Our politicians are so screwed up!

The easiest way out for many of us is to slam democracy and try to shut it down while forgetting there isnt even a single decade in last 50+ yrs when the men in uniform havent ran over the system.. And ofcourse being the
“holy-cow” of this country, they are immune to any corruption or illegitimate things they do.
Any wrongdoing can be highlighted in a democratic fashion. You gotto stick with it. Give it a fair chance and you’ll see much better country in few years inshallah.

I am not a fan of PTI or IK but it is really odd that parties like PPP, MQM and N-league that keep on changing their positions and make u-turns, nobody likes to pick on them but love to go after PTI when they make apparent u-turns. I am amazed that no-one pointed out that when few months back we got aid of one billion dollars. people in general believed that SA paid us in advance to help them militarily. Mr. Dar strongly denied this and labeled it as a ‘gift’. now even after the cat is out of the bag, no one pointed out the sheer lies of N-league.
Everyone is aware of the ever-changing love/hate sequel of MQM and PPP. On one hand MQM is considered an enemy of the state and at the same time offers are given to them to join PPP in making government. Nobody seems to be bothered about this. There are so many other examples like these.
PTI folks make armature blunders owing to their and especially IK’s shortsightedness but others do dubious stuff in planned and very professional manner but they forget one thing that only those should be throwing stones who themselves are clean.

^ Excellent post. The sheer hypocrisy and double standards of some of the posters is astonishing and cunningly opportunistic. Those who’d been wailing about PTI’s apparent U-Turns and nit picking their statements totally ignored Kh. Asif’s behaviour. As if it meant nothing. Wasn’t his pathetic speech an example of Nawaz League’s mega U turn? From Prime Minister to party workers to Finance Minister, they all made an appeal to PTI to come back. So who are they to criticise PTI for returning? Mr Oowain Oowain should stand in front of the house and call his colleague Ishaq Dar a 'begherat’ for dealing with PTI and bringing them or else just simply STFU and not make any more embarrassing U-Turns. But people who are blinded by hatred for PTI just because they are not ‘picture perfect’ ignore all the duplicitous dealings of PMLN and others simply because oh well…they never said they are ‘different’, they are what they are so who cares.

Moral of the story: in Pakistan, you are allowed to get away with every crime and dodgy dealing and people won’t bat an eye lid as long as you don’t claim to be ‘good’. Pathetic.

Asif’s behavior was much better than that which was said from container
“Oay Nawaz Shareef !” , "Oay Buzdil ! " “Oay Besharam !”
His language was much better
Anyone disagree ?

btw, I really enjoyed the look on the faces of ch. nisar and NS when Eitzaz Ahsan was commenting on the behavior of K. Asif and others. It was like ..“Ah..not again!!!..” :slight_smile:

Yes I do uncle :smiley:

thank you uncle imran khan …

[mod]Some abusive and derogatory remarks towards other posters are moved. If you dont have anything positive to contribute except calling other names than this is not the place for you. You know who you are!![/mod]

waisay bhai chugtai, PTI and imran khan have shown some dreams to this nation , so obviously more criticism will be directed towards them

rest of the parties have nothing left in them…for example who cares when we say

MQM employs terrorist and jingoistic manners in klarachi and altaf hussain is a pathetic don

zardari is a cheater with no ethical and moral values

nawaz sharif/kh asif and many other PMLN leaders have no personality, character and demeanor,..take U turn and are pathetic politicians

who cares… these parties have nothing to sell and people are sick of criticizing in them, they have no hopes for them.

bazar may PTI nakliee hai with slogan “naya chooran lay lo” … so obviously more attention and love for PTI chooran!

hain jee?..kaya kahyal hai bhai jee.

I must say that Kh asif is such a pathetic politician…no maturity whatsoever. every-time he opens his mouth, he creates problems for the govt.

if Nawaz sharif does not condemn kh asif behavior, it would prove that kh asif used this language with nawaz’s approval. some criticism of PTI and IK was expected but there was not need to use such language and create more rift.

Its a classic evaluation to how PML(N) responded to PTI’s appearance after 7 months:

Of lions and sheep: The problem with PML-N

Of lions and sheep: The problem with PML-N’s narrativeSource: Dawn.com Published in Politics on Wednesday, December 17, 2014

http://www.pakistanherald.com/utils/Image.ashx?path=Of-lions-and-sheep-The-problem-with-PMLNs-narrative-12172014.jpg&imagefor=Article&size=Custom&width=650&height=325

The protesters have been labelled enemies of the state. The protestors have been labelled as foreign conspirators.The protestors have been labelled terrorists. At least the government is consistent in its policy of negotiating with terrorists.

The lack of a clear narrative only complexes the possibility of a diplomatic process. Is Imran Khan wanted for inciting violence by the police or is he wanted back in Parliament by the government?
Sheikh Rasheed is criticised for hate speech and Imran Khan is criticised for using language unbecoming of a popular leader, yet the ministers from the government engage in similar behaviour.
I believe the problem is twofold; an ever changing party policy that is not clarified to all its representatives and the personal egos of party representatives appearing on television.
On one channel, a government representative paints the government as the sitting duck, helpless in the face of violent mobs; being stalked and preyed by the wild wolf of D-chowk.
On another channel, a government representative stays true to their party’s election symbol and roars threats of violence and arrests to all representatives of the PTI.
For the love of God, decide what the protestors are. Terrorists or mummy-daddy weaklings?
With all the recent acts of violence, the cat is firmly out of the bag. The Hyde to the government’s Jekyll tends to shows its ugly self far too often for anyone’s liking.
You cannot continue to play the victim after throwing the full resources of the state in your favour. Chaudhry Nisar releases a statement promising the protestors will be met with the full force of the writ of the state.
An hour later, Pervaiz Rasheed holds a press conference claiming helplessness in the face of the violet mobs of protestors.
An hour later, Saad Rafique vows to respond to Imran Khan by ‘stooping down to his level’.
An hour later, news breaks of Ishaq Dar welcoming PTI for negotiations.
Where is the consistency?
You cannot play both the lion and the sheep. If the government’s policy is to be against street protests, they should prevent Rana Sanaullah from appearing on television and challenging opponents to a street fight.
Every time the government is able to win over supporters by painting PTI as the antagonist of this story, they get their buttons pushed by a PTI leader and completely lose the plot.
Nothing strengthens the PTI’s movement more than the constant illusion of chaos, which the government’s dodgy narrative only adds to further. When you, being the government, say that nobody knows what is going on, maybe you shouldn’t be in the government. Right? However, is the PML-N think tank really so thick-skulled that they cannot even fake a sense of calm?
Instead of restricting the supporters of the PTI to a limited procession or movement, the PML-N support in Faisalabad played right into their hands by engaging in a fist fight; and so, the tiger vs the lion catfight continues.
The PTI, meanwhile, has realised that there is more than one way to skin a cat; they have dragged the government out of their burrows and into the battlefield.
This is no longer the case of an opposition party causing the government agitation; this is now a clash of egos between the PTI and the PML-N — in fact, it has been like that for quite some time now.
The PTI has accepted that they are only doing this to bring the government to the negotiation table. What more can they do short of admitting defeat?
In their attempts in trying to shame the PTI leaders, the PML-N might end up losing everything. Instead of offering them an olive branch, the government is basking in the possibilities of further insulting Imran Khan and his party members. Had they stuck to their guns — the metaphoric ones — this impasse would have long been behind them
I do not know what the PTI’s plan D is, but if the government’s plan is to keep feigning chaos and disillusionment, things could still spiral out of control for them.
Nawaz Sharif had publicly asked for a judicial commission and the government had shown a willingness to negotiate and relative flexibility. Their PR narrative so far painted them as the sheep, the victims.
Why the aloof attitudes now?
The moment they felt safe, the lions emerged out of the sheep’s clothing. It may have been heralded as a moment of victory for their loyalists but for the neutrals, it exposed the shallowness of the government’s narrative and strengthened Imran’s position.
The only reason Imran has been able to keep the momentum is because the government keeps adding fuel to the fire.
And the problem with the PML-N is, they do not want a revolt but they do not want to stop being the lions either. If only they could stop falling prey to their own egos and not resort to violence to ‘teach them a lesson’, they may be able to still win some sympathy.
By now, everyone knows the hand Imran has and continues to overplay.
By now, everyone has seen the claws PML-N has, too.
But if they keep resorting to violence, we will be moving into uncharted territory. And, the lion isn’t king there.

Love your disagreeing