Provincial autonomy and concurrent lists

Re: Provincial autonomy and concurrent lists

but better for sure

Mr. ganguly, you are poisoning what otherwise can be a very healthy debate. Your namesake has already gotten out many times, time for your dismissal from this topic I'm afraid.

Gimme a link on "how better" is bangladesh than Pakistan?

Blitzy you are putting words in my mouth again..:stuck_out_tongue:

If the fed government gives proper powers to the provincial government..they could empower the assemblies to draft consensus provincial constitutions or charters defining what kind of provincial system would operate..that automatically solves the problem :rolleyes:

And comparing Pakistans senate as an example of a power sharing is also wrong..Paks senate is a nominated assembly..basically if i have 2 crore to kill I could get elected as a senator from Punjab, Sind or even baluchistan!

Go to any ranking page based on literacy simple google might suffice

Yeah, I MEAN WHO COULD POSSIBLY HATE BHANGRA…!
Anyways, point was that I dont think Musharaf is some puppet of Punjabis…
He is just asymptomatic of the underlying ailment that afflicts Pakistani society in general. But having said that, I think people over simplify the issue by harping on these ridiculous conspiracy theories.

Your comparing two piles of sh1t too see which one smells worse…
But I admit Benglais have done well in the social sectro in general.. India could learn a thing or two from them.
India isnt exactly a bed of roses either…

India is again ahead on the ladder so if it has to learn anything it willbe from some other country certainly nto from bangaldesh or pakistan......... again if u are in doubt just a cursory google for the ranking on literacy and other social denominator index will suffice

Well, if your not willing to take a lesson from your neighbors then dont come and stick your nose in our bussiness.. Worry about your illiterate and hungry masses and let us worry about our own case closed. A cursory browse through google might help you realize the derth of poverty and backwardness of our own country…
One word of advice, dont research any Indian sources… Outside of giving you the ashwarias latest hair due, you wont get much else… Hmm maybe thats why you live in such a bubble?!?

I never said india has all its problem solved but when it comes to social denominator what a worse off country like pakistan bangaldesh can teach India really.. we like to take inspiration from those who are better placed

Pakistan isnt all that worse off... India has only now moved up in terms of development but that too only slightly. Its a fluid thing, Pakistan was ahead of India in many things for quite some time, and despite our shortcomings, we will most likely improve once again. Even now, the difference income isnt that high, and living standards in Pakistan are often better then in India in many parts of the country. But then you wouldnt know that.
Bangladesh has implamented many good ideas which India could learn from. Pakistan could learn from them aswell, the micro financing scheme worked wonders for rural women in Bangladesh and Pakistan tried the same although I dont think it was as succesful.
My point is simply this though... We dont think India is a worth while country to emulate, your Democracy is something that should be emulated up to a point (your democracy is still rather flawed) outside of that, we choose not to look in your direction. Your level of poverty is the same, and nothing has changed for any of your people... So, kindly keep your advice to yourself, your not worth it.
BTW, isnt this is why everyone in South Asia hates you people, your arrogant and cant keep your nose in your own bussines:)

PP1,

You might want to check latest World Bank poverty and development numbers on India and Pakistan first. :) Just a suggestion.

pakistan is depedence ton donor yes in past donors like usa were there so they felt they have strong economy that donor disappeared they felt they are bankrupt aain donor has come they are felng that they have got soem chance again this donor will leave the scene once taliban and al-quida are fixed and once again bakrupc will creep in........ noone takes seriously this kind of economy........

waise i was talking about literacy and other social denominator economy ki baat to maine ki bhi nahin

these days u will see pakistanis showing 8% growth rate but they hide that 12% inflation......... hat kind of growth is this if not donor driven and how sustainable this kind of upside down economic practice will be is anyone's guess

Where did you get the figure of 12%?

I know inflation is a big problem but will you tell me what is the inflation in india?
Remember more money (in case indian call centers) means more money to spend hence more inflation!

With or without inflation, hat difference does Pakistans own matter matter to you.. Feed you hungry before ou bug us.

Mr. Amorphous, Wali Khan's is an enlightened, secular, and liberal family have spearheaded rights and education of women in our society. He didn't lead the procession as per your propaganda.

The wife of late Ghani Khan, Pashto poet and brother of Wali Khan, was from Hyderabad Hindustan. Later his daughters married and settled in Hindustan.

I do remember reading newspaper stories about such incident many years ago. It was probably about some court-marriage. The couple had to flee to a Gulf state after a lot of commotion. I would try to dig up more about the circumstances surrounding the incident.

When I said 'correct me if I'm wrong', I myself was casting doubt on that version of events. As I have no evidence but my worn-out neural pathways to back up that statement, I apologize unreservedly. Wali Khan had his principles, and he lived by them.

I have read this thread from top to bottom ( didnt have anything to do + i am concerned about all this issue)

I dont think Pakistan is suffering from ethic differences. poor in all parts of country are same and live in similar conditions, and they dont care who is in power in islamabad, lahore, karachi, quetta or peshawar!

Elite club is running the country all the time, who is member of this club regardless of his/her background is pleased.

once out of the club they blame everything on what may be popular to flare up things among masses. ethincity is a tool used by members and ex members of this club.

We should be really talking about "The Club" and its members. They only work for own goals and objectives.

Common person in Pakistan is same, face same problems for servival.

its not Punjab versus Other provinces
in reality its

"The Club" v/s all Pakistanis

The problem arises Shak when some suffer at the hands of the club more than others

Higher poverty in Balochistan
. In case of Balochistan, any single measure indicates that it is the poorest province.

Only 20 per cent of its people have an access to safe drinking water compared to 86 per cent in the rest of Pakistan. Village electrification is only 25 per cent compared to 75 per cent in the rest of the country. Infant mortality rate per 1,000 people is 108 as against national rate of 100. The situation of basic amenities and access to education is also far below the ratio of other provinces.
Presently, the poor are recovering from the devastating drought that plagued the province for the last five years. The groundwater is depleting rapidly. Only six per cent of the land is cultivable and productivity is low because of the arid conditions.

To quote Mir Khuda Bakhsh, a clan elder of the Marri tribe in Kohlu, who told newsmen that the motive of the military action is to capture oil and gas resources of the area. According to him, the local people ask, what benefits the exploitation of power resources in Dera Bugti has brought to their lives in the past 50 years? They still burn wood for fuel purpose and live like nomads.

Then, how would the exploitation of mineral riches from Kohlu benefit the local population in the future? Whereas the Sui gas brought an industrial revolution in Pakistan, Balochistan still lacks an industrial base which is the single biggest cause of unemployment in the province..

Though the natural gas was discovered in Balochistan in 1952, its many districts remain deprived of gas transmission facility. It was only in 1976 that the province got its first liquefied petroleum gas (LPG) in Quetta. Later, gas through pipelines was made available in that city.

Even Sui in Bugti tribal area, which houses the gas plant, does not have piped gas connections in most cases. District Ziarat got piped gas connections only last year after several protests from environmentalists and NGOs lamenting the fact that that the local population was still using wood from Juniper forests.

Sui gas field in Bugti tribal area meets approximately 45 per cent of the country’s total gas production. The Pakistan Petroleum Ltd (PPL) is producing 720-750 million cubic feet of gas per day from its 80 plus wells in the field. The gas reserves discovered were to the tune of 9.625 trillion cubic feet.

**According to an estimate, the province produces natural gas worth Rs85 billion annually but gets Rs7 billion only as royalty from the federal government.

The 12.5 per cent royalty fixed for gas drawn from the field area is based on “wellhead value”, which is much below market value received by other gas fields in other provinces.**
Sui gas field is the single largest source of energy supply for different industries, power generation, agriculture, commerce and household use in the country. This gas is also used for manufacturing fertilizer and other chemicals and is a vital source of huge foreign exchange savings as the same would have been spent on the import of energy had the gas reserves not been discovered. Unfortunately, the province has been deprived of its due share in terms of royalty and economic benefits.

Balochistan remains almost voiceless, having no say in the decision- making process at the centre. Its over 50 per cent population subsists below the poverty line.Income-based inequities in human development need to be addressed.

During FY 2000-2001, only 9.2 per cent of the total Khushhal Pakistan programme budget had been allocated to the province compared to 16.2 per cent for the NWFP, 19.7 per cent for Sindh, and 48.9 per cent for Punjab. During the first year of the programme, utilization as a percentage of the budgeted amount was the lowest for the province at 2.8 per cent compared to 7.7 per cent in NWFP, 8.2 per cent in Sindh, and 19 per cent in Punjab.
In the FY 2004, the federal contribution to the provincial development programmes was 56 per cent for NWFP, 28 per cent for Punjab, 19 per cent for Sindh and only eight per cent for Balochistan. The share allocated in foreign project assistance (FPA) to Punjab was 53 per cent, NWFP 29 per cent, Sindh 12 per cent and again only six per cent for Balochistan.

As provided in the 1973 Constitution, the concurrent list of subjects was to be reviewed after 10 years in 1983. This has not been done even after a lapse of 31 years.

Balochistan’s financial position is so weak that sometimes the provincial government seems to be merely a salary distribution-agency instead of a federating unit.

Frequently there arises a problem of shortfall of revenue and the provincial chief executive warns of stopping payment of salaries to government employees. The province generates a revenue of Rs1.622 billion, apparently just enough to pay the monthly salaries of its officials. A grant of Rs27 billion is received from the federal government and has a deficit of Rs15.5 billion.