Proud Pakistani?

I met up with a few friends from my old job today for lunch and it was great! I havent seen these guys in ages and we caught up on what is going with each other…good stuff.

One of these friends is a Pakistani guy. He is very sweet Mashallah and has always been nice to me. We were talking about how addicted I used to be to my coffee fix and the conversation went to tea and then chai and then Indian chai and then Indian products. For a guy who is so sweet and so nice, he stubbornly said that anyone and everyone he knows is boycotting Indian products now and he refuses to buy or have anything to do with Indians. Of course, this has something to do with the Mumbai attacks I can tell. I told him I dont think that is the answer to the problem and he turned on me! Says “how would you know anything about the disputes between India and Pakistan? You dont know anything. IM a proud Pakistani, not you!”.

Say whaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa??? Back up BUDDY!!!

Then, we argued about it. His stance was that anyone born and raised outside of Pakistan has no idea what is happening there…to a certain extent that is true but how is that a FAULT?! If you’re living outside of Pakistan, you’re not a Pakistani. If you buy Indian products, you’re not Pakistani. If you hang out with Indian people, you’re not Pakistani. So, what do true Pakistanis do? Get angry with Indians, boycott their products, keep to themselves, live in Pakistan and thats it?

Im sorry, I dont agree with this concept of “Hating India/Anyone = Proud Pakistani”. Where exactly will this take us? More bitterness amongst Indian Muslims and Pakistani Muslims? And how does not participating in this hate campaign make me less of a Pakistani?

Re: Proud Pakistani?

Here comes another proud pakistani.... Ps i've met sooo many ppl with this thought.
My only question to them is if ur soo proud about being a pakistani why don't u live in Pakistan then?

so you are one of those ppl who think doing nothing is the right way to teach someone a lesson. if you are not going to do then who will? most probably your answer will be...lets pray to god to do something for us lousy lazy muslims. i agree with your friend about boycotting the indian products and he sure is a proud pakistani in doing that. take a leaf out of his book and learn something important. terrorism is not going to solve any problems...your friend is doing the right thing by hitting where it hurts the most....pocket n money. sure him alone doing all that doesn't really matter but atleast he is doing his part.

qatra qatra dariya banta hai...but then its a lost cause on the likes of you n others like you.

you can do good for your country from anywhere in the world. you don't really have to be IN pakistan to do good.

i think you lot are brainwashed by the bollywood crap. indians have more hatred for pakistanis and towards pakistan but our ppl are so baighairat that they can't even live without spending money on bollywood crap once a day.

Being a muslim and being a Pakistani are two different things..... we should help more muslims rather than Pakistani's.

Initially, when I read your response Saieen I was a bit irritated. Because I dont remember stating anywhere in my post that I thought doing nothing is okay. I explicitly said HATE is wrong towards anyone. Read and reread if you need to. Nafrat will get you nowhere, try it out yourself like the world hasnt already. If you think me being a proud Pakistani has something to do with hating my neighbors then you really cant help anyone...Pakistan to BOHOT door ki baat hai.

There is no need for this. Did you see the title of this thread as the title of a Bollywood movie? Or even a Lollywood movie? No. Then I dont see the point of all this nonsense.

P^2- just memorize these songs and you will be all set…for bonus you can memorize sohni dharti and jeevay pakistan and dil dil pakistan..that will put you on par..

PS: seriously though, u dont have to convince anyone of pride
PS2: and tell that joker that by that token anyone who was born in pakistan can never be a real american or brit etc :halo:

What?!

It's kind of hard in this day and age to completely boycott products and services from anywhere. But yeah, perhaps to some, that is the answer, but to others it isn't.

Saieen, hatred or for that matter, any emotion is usually mutual. If I don't like someone, chances are they don't like me either. From your post it is very obvious that you can't stand Indians either and therefore, their products. Which is fine and by all means you shouldn't put money in India.

However, I must say that PSquared isn't wrong either. Extending beyond the obvius reaction is sometimes a mark of greater character than retaliation. Anyone can hate, but it's harder to look deeper.

Anyway, that's my philosophical rant. Nobody really has to agree or even read it.

X2, thats true. No matter how long he stays here he will never be an American so he might as well just shove off to Pak or wherever else he thinks he fits in. It just raised the same age-old, tired and done-with debates about identity issues of children born outside of Pakistan.

On my way home, I thought about it a lot. Why is it that people like my friend (lets call him Adnan) and even Saieen (no offense) think people born outside of the US have no claim to their ancestry just because I was born in a different location?

Furthermore, why did these Proud Pakistanis leave Pakistan if they were so proud? Why are they having children abroad if its so horrible for us to have been born abroad?

Why do you assume that we're "Bollywood crap" watching people that are confused Saieen? Just because we speak English more then Urdu? Thats your reasoning? You know my fobby cousins that came from Pakistan a couple years ago have already been to majority of the clubs in Chicago...they're very Proud Pakistanis. Im sure they were just doing Dawah and spreading the word in go-go boots and daisy dukes. Oh and there is this uncle we know who gets drunk everytime he wants to be a Proud Pakistani. And another guy that beats his wife when he feels his chest swelling with Pakistani Pride.

Yes, Im very irritated about this.

Another thing is, how can you actually expect the world to look at your faith as a ray of hope if you can only hate? There are people dying everyday because of this nafrat and we cant seem to let it go. It doesnt matter who is wrong or right anymore when there are innocent people involved.

I know Indian people, my grandparents were Indian and everyone before them was Indian. You cant hate these people...you were one of them.

Nik, thank you. I appreciate that.

P^2- as you may have learnt by now, I am a total arse when it comes to stuff like this, I faced similar comments by someone in uni so I started dissing pak big time, and then the jacque arse gets pissed off.. so I stated…dude…what you heard…that is someone who is not a proud pakistani is like…so you still think I am one? he shut up.

PS: its the proud pakistanis killing each other in pakistan, dont see too many of us foriegn born folks going to pak to kill, suppress, oppress, and harrass other pakistanis…crap..maybe that is what we are missing… start oppressing that dude pronto

PS2: okay so I have no claim to ancestry because I was not born there, so now flipping and going by the type of twisted reasoning u noted, what kind of patriotic proud pakistanis leave their land? :halo: etc

I am a Muslim and I live in India....so what are you going to do??:(

It really annoys me when people think this way. No wonder nationalism is regarded as a bad thing in Islam, all it does is divide people. I'm marrying an English lad and I'm bracing myself for all the nasty comments I will no doubt get from the elderly aunties later on, even my brother has brought it up quite a bit that he thinks 'marrying out' is wrong tho lucky my parents are fine with it and usually tell him to shut up.

The average Indian (Hindu or Muslim) does not hate Pakistani people just as the average Iraqi or Palestinian does not hate the American people despite what is happening in the Middle East. Anyone who says otherwise is stirring things imo. Oh and to all the 'nationalists' that are floating about there's a fine line between pride and arrogance.

BAN!!!!!!! :p

I am a Proud Pakistani
Mujhe Chayay nahi Money
Mujhay Pyar Hay Des say
So what's so funny

• Late Fakhr-e-Alam (1972 - 2008)

@X2, maybe I should just start oppressing him. So, how do you get oppressive?

You know, its a basic concept that we were taught by our cultural history, world leaders and even Islam. Zaroori nahin ke har baat ka javab aap usi vaqt dein aur battar se battar dein. I wish all the time and pray that someday someone comes up with the brilliant idea of not retaliating with violence, animosity or hate. Inshallah.

P^2- some of these nutters need to be schooled in teh same lingo they understand, coming back with some pyar bhara message 3 days later does not teach them squat. that is if u want to school em, sometimes its just better to let them be their ignorant selves, but then lets not be friends with them :)

Oh…this is so bad..:snooty:…now who is being judgemental?..itnay pyar aur dulaar agar hum Islam ko dete toh who know..:slight_smile:

sahi main, its Islam and Imaan we have to worry about not where you were born or where you are living…every place gives you the same things.Just my opinion…trying.to.hide.below.the.table