Protest against Sa Re Ga Ma Challenge 2009

Hi as some of you may be aware, the second season of Sa Re Ga Ma Pa Challenge has started. Its the same one in which Amanat Ali was the 2nd runner up.

I would like to draw your attention to something very disturbing and wrong that is happening on the show. This year one of the ‘gurus’ is Shankar Mahadevan of Shankar-Ehsaan-Loy fame. Now the slogan for his gharana is ‘Har Har Mahadev’. So whats the problem you ask?

Well for those who don’t know ‘Har Har Mahadev’ is a hindu greeting/warcry. Its similar to how how muslims may say ‘Allah Hu Akhbar’. That itself I am not against. But Shankar’s gharana has a pakistani female singer called sara khan. And I believe it is completely wrong to ask her to say ‘Har Har Mahadev’. Just as it would be wrong to ask a hindu to say Allah Hu Akhbar.

I am not against the show hinduism. Shankar may be a completely nice guy. But asking muslims (Indian or Pakistani) to say the slogan is just wrong and can only lead to problems. I think we should all start some sort of an online petition to bring this to the notice of Zee, so they can get Shankar to change the slogan.

What say you?

P.S: On a side note did you guys see the girl from Oman? I think she is from Afghanistan…she is so adorable.

Re: Protest against Sa Re Ga Ma Challenge 2009

I would be more worried abt singing..then saying a word..I dont knowww

If this singer does not want to say the slogan, she should just return to Pakistan. Let them do what they want to do. If I make a group and name it with some Islamic slogan, I wouldnt want people from other countries telling me to change my slogan unless it is directly against the other country or religion.

i completely agree with ptolemy. this is an outrage.

agreed..........yehi to unke planning hy actually.
n our buddhu contestants.............................

thats how india plans to culturally conquer pakistan

this sara khan should say allahu akbar when they say whatever they say

Whether it is against any country or religion is not the point. Do you think it would be right if a indian hindu was invited to pakistan and then asked to say Allah Hu Akhbar? Because Allah Hu Akhbar is not against any country or religion, it simply says god is great.

Moreover these singers who have gone there have spent a lot of money on tickets, visas, parents accompanying them etc. So it is not easy for them to just pack their bags and leave. That is why it is ethically wrong to ask them to say something like this.

aur india jao dosti bharane. why do pakisatni guests go to india anyway? music is not part of our culture and if it is then you should be open minded and accept all religions because music knows no boundaries LOL....I hope they don't get sick since india is such a unhygienic place. jo wahan jaata hai kamzor hoke waapis aata hai.

Why is it Challenge 2009 ? Isnt it supposed to be 2008 ? :konfused:

completely agree with you

lolzzz why do we mix religion everywhere... first n foremost wen did singing become a part of islam hahaahohohoho... khair... then we can sing we can go to india umm we can dress up pretty much like them but then we cant say tht hmmmm pretty wierd aint it...

This is sacrilege. India is trying to impose its kulchar on unsuspecting innocent Pakistanis.
Like cabbage bhai says above, this is an outrage.

ptolemy..honey u know what?..i dont know y u and some pakistanis lie have such an intense aversion 2wards hinduism..do u know our ancestors were all idol worshippers b4 islam was accepted by them?..most of the time islam was forced upon them actually..

i dont see the problem..besides its shankar’s group..its their show in their country in which the number one religion is hinduism..so its there rulzz baby..and if anyone doesnt agree then i think they should not have come there in the first place..:gizzy:

soni dude where did u get this info from… i can understand u feelign bad about this but don say sumthing u don know about… i wud say u read a few history books… :slight_smile:

I watched its first episode today, Why the heck they are so against Atif, I dnt know this guru's name, he is a music director and he was chatting some crap like their will be much better singers coming out from this ''munjh'' than Atif and all tht

soni…honey u know what? I am not a pakistani. And I don’t think I could have any aversion towards hinduism since I AM A HINDU MYSELF! Or an agnostic as I prefer to call myself. And I care 2 cents whether your ancestors were idol worshippers or whether they were forcibly converted. That is not my concern.

As I said in my previous post…if someone were to ask me to say Allah Hu Akhbar…I would not be comfortable with it. Not because I am anti muslim or something…but I would simply not be comfortable. As far as I know Allah hu Akhbar means god is great…its nothing against any religion. But it is associated pretty strongly with a particular religious group of which I am not a member.

If you would care to know ‘Har har Mahadev’ used to be the warcry of the 17th century Hindu warrior king Shivaji. And do you know whom he chiefly fought his battles against? You guessed it…the Mughals. And today it has been adopted by the communally tainted party the Shiv Sena whose anti muslim actions who may have heard of.

Har har mahadev again is not against any religion. But making a muslim or christian or sikh forcibly say it is just not done in my book. And saying that it is a hindu country so it is their rules is pure hogwash. This show is supposed to have participants from different countries including pak. Shankar surely knew about that..so couldn’t he have adopted something without any religious hues? It was simply a matter of being considerate towards other people.

Now you may ask why am I writing all this if I claim to be a hindu? The reason is I know the kind of nutters living on both sides of the border..case in point lillyy2k2 and ravage. This has all the potential of snowballing into a bigger controversy if it is not nipped in its bud. That was my only intention. Hope I have put my points across.

Sorry for the long rant.

'nutter' eh.. remind me never to back you up again ptolemy, no good deed goes unpunished it seems.

i am truly hurt.

iv read more than just a few hisotry books sweety..:)..so thanks ..i know what im talkin about..maybe its time u caught up on history of getting a ppls to change thier religion..if u think thats done without resistance i think ur living in denial..

ok..ptolemy..now i understand y it bugs u so much..got it..guess u r right in ur own way..:)

lolzzz i think soni deary we can start a whole new thread on who forced whom to do wat... but yeh again as sum wud say ignorance is bliss i can understand start thinking from a non-biased end ... otherwise chill...