all my other applications like windows media player, word etc all working fine. yes web browser is working fine too. i am login to gs using another computer. as for that online scanner i will try to do it tonight thanks.
oh by atm i meant “at the moment” i use work computer to login to gs and my laptop was at home.
aww i accept your apology hugs
it doesn’t need to be installed on her comp but it needs to be launched, i’m doubtful whether it’ll work
any news on whether the online scanner worked for you?if you are able to get everything up and working again, from now on try to always keep the antivirus software on and updated. i’m glad you make backups of your data every so often though, it’s good practice.
i’ll keep looking online for other solutions, hope others would be able to give some good suggestions though
I have not gone through all the post. I hope aaho/nisha25 might have helped you. I am going to share my 2 Cents. If your problem is still un-solved then these points will definitely make it worst ..
First of all .. SYMANTEC SUCKS .. :d .. and AVG sucks too. If you want to use a “Free” AV then either go for Avira or Avast. If you want to use some paid/cracked version then go for Kaspersky (eat more memory but you will have full control of your system) or ESET NOD32 (i love assembly language in which it is programmed).
Your system has already been infected by virus. No matter whatever anti-virus you are going to install now, its not gona help. Even if you do online scanning from ESET/Kaspersky/BitDefender they might find the virus but if the virus is in C:\Windows\System32 files then definitely the next time you will restart your system, it will crask or you will get BSOD (Blue Screen of Death). So its better to re-install your windows. If you are thinking to re-install windows, then let me know, I want to advise few things.
Regarding blue line: Take a screen shot of your screen and then see the image. resize the imaze so that it fits half of your screen and then see if you can see the blue line in the IMAGE as well or not. if it is in the image then there is something wrong with your OS otherwise, your laptop screen has DEAD PIXELS.
No, don’t just re-install your windows. You also have to make sure that you format the partition that your windows is installed on. If you don’t do that and just re-install windows, the infected files will still be present on your system and will take over eventually.
thats what i was afraid of and i asked her that if she wants to do re-install then let me know.
First of all, the virus that has infected your system has copied itself into “non” system areas as well. so no matter if you re-install the windows, those files will be active again, the moment you try to navigate/click on it. It could be like that you have some Uninstaller of WinZIP in some folder. (for example). you installed windows and then try to install winzip from that installer, that installer is already corryupted by virus. so that virus will be in your system again.
Suggestions
Back up your important data (pictures and documents, no executable please) to somewhere else and the “Format” your complete system. complete means, format every single drive. and re-install windows
if you can’t do the above part, then delete every single “.exe”, “.zip”, “.rar”, “.bat”, “.ini” files from your system except from C:\windows and C:\Program Files. After that, re-install the windows. And the very first thing that you gotta do is to install antivirus. at this particulr point, i will highly recommend to go for Kaspersky AV. it will give you 30 days trial.
your system is really messed up .. you will have hardtime fixing it.
^^^duh i dont’ know why i didn’t think about formatting the whole HD and all the drives she might be using. i think that’s the only way to reinstall windows xp sp 2 without the problems recurring
she has backed up all her data so this is the only way to save her whole system.
there’s a pic of the vertical blue line that she gets on her screen even before windows starts up on the first page and she gives some more details about the fact that it doesn’t flicker when there is movement of the screen/laptop. read her comments regarding this
i was just trying to understand what her laptop’s problem was and why it was acting like that b/c she started out with a reinstall of her OS in the beginning of the thread
i had eset Nod32 AV before and it’s incredible no doubt
I like NOD32 and Kaspersky but i always prefer kaspersky because it gives me a lot of control on my system. The other day, I wanted to test the new AV from Panda technolgies. So i installed it and then i was installing some software which has some trojan in it .. “crypted.exe”. Panda AV din even tell me that there is some malicious activty. Though, it blocked the file to connect online but still the file was in TaskManager and when i tried to stop the process, it didn’t let me to do so since it has already injected itself into other processes. That was a pain. I was afraid to restart my system since by doing so, it would have get chance to load before Panda.
I managed to get it out somehow and then i installed Kaspersky and i installed the same piece of **** again to see how kasperky react. (i run kaspersky in full advance mode). the moment i installed that software .. Kaspersky gave me info that “some process” is trying inject itself into some other process. i denied it. then it gave me another message that some process is trying to make registry entry. I denied it. then it gave me that some process is trying to connect online to this ip address. I noted the ip address.
After that i looked at taskmanager and i could see crypted.exe there. I killed the process and it was killed, since Kaspersky didn’t let it inject into other process.
Kaserpky gives me lot more control over my system.
right i am gonna try all these new solutions one by one…thanks a lot ppl…really appreacite it
@nisha that online scanner didnot work (i mean it sued to come up and then used to disappear)…i an outdated browser…abhi new wala install hua hai so will try on that…
yaar instead of the online scanner, please just go right to the formatting of all drives you have on your laptop like suggested by some here and again make sure you’ve backed up before doing that. and after that you can reinstalled xp and ask T1000 for the antivirus software that he had suggested. those two are the best out there so you’ll be protected immediately after installing xp this time.
no not fed up, i want her system to be up and running smoothly as quickly as possible.
she’s having a problem even launching the online scanner,
i think it would be a waste of time. plus, i feel like since she never had any antivirus software running even b4 she has some major issues with her system, it’s obvious she has a virus issue, the online scanner d/n need to tell us that, so wouldn’t it be quicker just to format the drives cleanly and completely so when she does a new install of XP there would be no reason to have leftover problems.
ah, come on man .. .. you can pick on her on some other topic. let the topic dedicated to what it is .. .. and I don’t think that I have seen Nisha25 debating on wrong things .. anyway .. Blessed2006 let us how things work out.
jhoomi use some logic yaar, blessed(the thread starter) is a pakistani, erm why would i blame pakistan and isi for her laptop problems…btw, whatever happened to that “i’m sorry to indians on GS” thread you opened in all views and all that you said there…hmm? i even hugged you for the cute sorry and now this. instead of your smart remark you could just give some good suggestions to blessed so her system is up and running again
yaar the probblem is i have lots of important files on my computer…transferring them on an other computer or on usb is a problem…coz all of those files are really big they dont fit on disks…bohat mushkil se ki thi maine pehle bhi…just dont want to go via all that hassle…but since i dont have any other options left i am gonna do it…currently i have installed this new antivirus (surprisingly it got installed) so gonna run that