Re: Problems & Difference faced by Punjabi/Urdu Speaking Couples?
urdu is national language bhai … punjabi is then a sub-category … pehlay ye to clear karo k ye urdu speaking log kaun hain …
aur koi mujh ko paratha banana sikha day plzzzzz … its been 15 months i had a real one
but no worries … going back home soon … tey fer meri maan day huth day parathay ee parathay :coolios: :coolios: :coolios:
I just do not get why people thrive on differences, why the need to point the 'nitties gritties'...? even if it starts out just as a fun comparison, it ends up on a sour note. it only encourages judgemental finger pointing, gross generalizations and leads to superiority/inferiority complexes, nothing good ever comes out of counting differences. anyways, carry on. sigh
I am half punjabi half kashmiri married in urduspeaking or hindustani family. There are no issues or problems to report. Each family have their own cultural traditions and I am the common link. I do not make fuss about "hamaray hann tu aysay hota hay" and thats why life is good. Infact when you marry into a different family you actually learn so many cool new things. Oh and I like older ladies in my inlaws still calling me dulhan after sooo many years of marriage :@:
well I'm urdu speaking but most of my moms friends are punjabis. Punjabi aunties are sweethearts, esp when it comes to pampering their kids, particularly their boys. They cook awesome food, and in general very sweet. However, they are pretty blunt, and at times can be pretty wild/crazy, in the sense that they act like they have no sharam. My moms group of friends are pretty straight, but they have a mix of all the qualities I mentioned up above. However from what people have told me, punjabi people are routy, cook awesome food, at times paindu lol and usually the guys are corrupt, etc. Also culturally they may have certain rasams or traditions they do that probably differ from urdu speaking people. I like urdu speaking people, but I feel punjabi people are more warm at heart. My babysitter was punjabi and my fav aunty who I consider like my mom is also punjabi, so I'm pretty fond of punjabis you could say :) I think urdu speaking people are more reserved and punjabi people more open. Then again this is all based on the people I know and associate with. As for punjabi/urdu speaking people having issues, if you are speaking in terms of guys and girls, I think culturally there are differences and it might be hard to adjust to a punjabi culture especially when you aren't familiar with it. That would be the only reason. I ignore whatever political and stereotype issues because not every urdu speaking person or punjabi person can be generalized to possess the same qualities.
Its also funny to see Urdu Speaking aunties sitting on a couch with their PAAN DAANS.Eating a Paan and shouting at heir maids "Arrre Najma Kidhar reh gae kab see Chai ka intizar karwa rahe hoo humien"
awww u reminded me of my naani. I miss her! except she ate her paan on a thakhatt :) hehe
I am half punjabi half kashmiri married in urduspeaking or hindustani family. There are no issues or problems to report. Each family have their own cultural traditions and I am the common link. I do not make fuss about "hamaray hann tu aysay hota hay" and thats why life is good. Infact when you marry into a different family you actually learn so many cool new things. Oh and I like older ladies in my inlaws still calling me dulhan after sooo many years of marriage :@:
no ignorance, I’ve seen it myself at all these dawats, and punjabi girls themselves come and talk smack about punjabi aunties as well. Hope you know the questioner asked about people’s experiences
^ honey are you really one to point out where other women act besharam (your words) and attribute it to their ethnicity?
why is it even necessary to point out differences? like someone else said, pointing out even harmlss or minor differences leads to generalizations and inferiority/superiority complexes.
I’m sure i’m not the only one whos left with a bad taste after reading some of the posts in this thread.
butit seems liek the ones who have a superiority complex and the ones who thrive on differences, im sure you all don’t find anything wrong with this thread. :k:
I think the only reason for pointing out differences is because even within Pakistan everyone forms different communities within themselves. Look at memons for example, they form such a tight unity just amongst themselves, and they are happy that way. If you are punjabi you feel more comfortable with punjabis, if you are gujrati you will mix better with gujratis. It mainly has to do with the environment and types of people you are used to, especially when it involves a girl who isn't punjabi, marrying into a punjabi family and vice versa. In the end it's all about will the guy or girl be able to adjust and fit in.
^ and how does that explain your post...that you see how guys tend to be "corrupt" or those women are lacking sharam?
It should be about the family itself, and NOT the ethnicity that they're marrying into. I can understand if these differences are felt in Pakistan where the population of Pakistanis is quite large, however, outside of Pakistan, considering how Pakistanis may be the minority, they shouldn't hold so many differences.
^ and how does that explain your post...that you see how guys tend to be "corrupt" or those women are lacking sharam?
It should be about the family itself, and NOT the ethnicity that they're marrying into. I can understand if these differences are felt in Pakistan where the population of Pakistanis is quite large, however, outside of Pakistan, considering how Pakistanis may be the minority, they shouldn't hold so many differences.
Dude ... the one who started the post wanted some personal opinions and this other person gave them their personal opinion ... u don't agree with it thats fine ... but there is no need to bash the other person ... cuz that is wat was asked of him/her