Prime Fakeer

What’s up with this PTV Prime and advertisements for charities. Every other commercial is asking for some sort of charities. Then Tariq Aziz with his khofnaak awaaz scares me every other Sunday. Do any of you donate to these charities?.

Shouldn’t Prime be showing entertainment for charging us $15 a month?. Why would I wana watch 3 hours of charity drives on a Sunday?. And why would I wana watch commercials on a Premium channel?

Re: Prime Fakeer

*Originally posted by funguy: *
What's up with this PTV Prime and advertisements for charities. Every other commercial is asking for some sort of charities. Then Tariq Aziz with his khofnaak awaaz scares me every other Sunday. Do any of you donate to these charities?.

Shouldn't Prime be showing entertainment for charging us $15 a month?. Why would I wana watch 3 hours of charity drives on a Sunday?. And why would I wana watch commercials on a Premium channel?

I am so lad to find another person who doesn't like Tariq Aziz's "khofnak awaz" That guy thinks he is really something. He insults callers on the live TV. Poeple still seem to just love him. He is so arrogant sometime its amazing. I heard he used to be very rude to people attending his neelam ghar show. I once heard he slapped someone on the show who answered "panjabi" for question: what does "chopaya" mean. Its horrible but its so funny it still cracks me up.

^^ I dont knwo if he was rude to the people on Nelam Ghar...You really think that he would have gotten away with calling some one "cho-paya" ...especially if it was a real Punjabi. Punjabi would have ripped him(Tariq Aziz) a new on, plus what can a mumi dady Karachi wala do besides ..."Ib kay mara to mai apni amman ko bula laon ga" :D

sighz I used to get annoyed by their commericals too.

*Originally posted by Kaleem: *
^^ I dont knwo if he was rude to the people on Nelam Ghar…You really think that he would have gotten away with calling some one “cho-paya” …especially if it was a real Punjabi. Punjabi would have ripped him(Tariq Aziz) a new on, plus what can a mumi dady Karachi wala do besides …“Ib kay mara to mai apni amman ko bula laon ga” :smiley:

Why do Punjabis take pride in danga fasaad… :hoonh:

What's wrong with Tariq Aziz? I don't find him insulting at all. Infact I like the way he practically has a shair or two for every single occassion! True we shouldn't have to watch ads or charity stuff on a premier channel but that's not his fault. But then again Funguy would you rather watch Tariq Aziz with a bit of humour every now and then or some dumb lollywood flick with Anjuman sticking her fat ass in everyones face?

Minerva just because Kaleen said it that way doesn't mean that all punjabis take 'pride' in danga fasaad.

Tariq Aziz and a bit of humor?. Someone pelase poke my eyes. I must be living on Mars. When the hell did he make you laugh?. Are you sure you weren't on laughing gas?.

Hmmm. Infact he reminds me of u a bit. Yeah.

No wonder we never progressed.

Now I know the answer. It's such a relief when you find the answer.

*Originally posted by Femme Fatale: *
What's wrong with Tariq Aziz? I don't find him insulting at all. Infact I like the way he practically has a shair or two for every single occassion! True we shouldn't have to watch ads or charity stuff on a premier channel but that's not his fault. But then again Funguy would you rather watch Tariq Aziz with a bit of humour every now and then or some dumb lollywood flick with Anjuman sticking her fat ass in everyones face?

Minerva just because Kaleen said it that way doesn't mean that all punjabis take 'pride' in danga fasaad.

I have seen the guy in person. He can't control his anger. You can see it on prime tv too. If he could, he would shoot those guys calling him specially when they startr talking about politics and stuff when he wants to collect money. I am surprised they even bring him in for such purpose.

I agree, he seems to have anger management problems. I am not surprised one bit at your revelation that he got pissed at participants on Neelam Ghar. The show was recorded before airing so it is very possible that he got into arguments (possible fights) with his guests. He seems like a control-freak to me. He always had this "better than thou" attitude. Everybody has to listen to his shairs but he doesn't have the patience to listen to any one's.

Believe it or not, the dude also ran for Presidential elections back in 90's.

FG u have anger management problems too don’t you? :eek: Maarna matt ab mujhay.
And yes…Please let your status be visible again. I like to be able to track u down and send you chat invites in ur pm when ur online :flower1:

Believe it or not, I have recently figured out that you could actually be online while being offline. I am really enjoying this new state of nirvana. Don't ruin it for me , please OR I WILL BLOW YOUR BRAINS OUT!

PS. I don't have anger management issues.

Anhaan. Tum jahil gunvaar hee achay thay. I don’t like this new techy you :hoonh:

You mean you like me all rough and tough?

Like? Prefer is the word.

I have a completely diff issue with these charity shows, they probably talk about their organisation in teh first 15 mins, if you turn the TV on after that its just ppl calling and telling the world how much they donated, some idiots put their kids on the phone who tell the public how much theya re donating, a rather cheap, sleazy way of getting some loser his 10 secs of 'fame" on prime.

I mean what does a call like this do

"ji mera naam arif samad hai, mein noo jasee mein rehta hoon aur mein nay 200 dallar donate kiye hain"... tariq aziz just says thanks and thats it.

so basically we sit there for hours on end listrning to losers procliam to the world how much they have donated...why do we even need the charity ppl and tariq aziz on the TV then.

i like this part of Prime. they are doing a great deed and is for a just cause. i hope they’ll have more charity programs in the future and yes i have no problems with people bragging about their donations and what not. they have every right to tell how much they have donated :k:

what happened to the saying that give with your right hand in a way that your left hand does not know..

I find the gloating kinda pathetic

I have no problem with such charity oriented programs, no problem but the approach has to be different, they have to either have a ticker at the bottom of teh screen telling you what the group is all about, or discuss their projects and the impact that they have made with case studies throughout the program and have discussions with viewers in a call in format where viewers can tell them about needs in certain areas or share their views about how some of the issues can be solved.

more of a call in discussion and ifnormation show, ppl can callin and donate but they dont have to tell tariq aziz. what interest does a viewer have in seeing ppl call in and say how much they have donated. instead have a total ticker ofhow much has been collected so far over all and targetted for diff projects.

There is an additional issue which FG was pointing at, this is a pay channel, ther ehas to be a balance with entertainment and other things. how often do see see such shows on HBO :slight_smile:

I don't have anything against the charities collecting money. BUT for Prime PTV to air it THREE hours on a weekend is NOT ethical. It's not professional. They treat Prime as PTV. There is a difference. PTV is nationally funded and is free to its viewers in PAK.

Also, how does Prime select which charities get airtime. Do they charge them money?. Is it just because someone at Prime knows someone at this charity?. There are many other charities that deserve airtime and they dont get that.

And I agree with Fraudiya how ppl call in and keep saying hello hello for a minute b4 Tariq says Shukria and hangs up.