prices in pak...seriously?

Re: prices in pak...seriously?

desginer outfits are very expensive, but you can get something nice made in $200-250.

Where did you shop?

everywhere.. from designers to kaamwalas in kehkashan and gizri market.. any outfit that you would get within 20k probably has no work on it and wouldnt be fit to wear at a sibling's wedding.. maybe you can luck out at gulf but the quality of work there is so horrible i would not be caught wearing something like that.. moreover, the fashion of long flowy outfits requires a lot of fabric which also is pretty cost intensive

hey so i mentioned my outfit from mohsin's that def. fit for the bride's sister to wear (or so i think) and was a normal price 200-250 but I'm not comfortable sharing the picture on here. I would hate to see designers knock off a dress that I own, and let's face it there are a lot of people that steal pictures on here. So to the girls that may consider pm-ing me this offer was only for the thread starter...sorry and I hope you can understand my reasoning. If you have family in karachi you should ask them to go on by and check the stuff there and I bought a decent valima outfit from Rizwan Moazzam in dolmen mall for the same price. But it wasn't nearly as nice and heavy at the Mohsin's outfit so that's where i would go if I were yall.

These designer boutiques are largely run because of overseas Pakistanis, I can't speak for all the cities but buying 6 lakh bridal jora or 50-80k formal is anything but a norm in a city like Lahore, yet the fashion you see on the streets of Lahore is extraordinary. Even the locals living in posh areas actually don't give a hoot about designer wear (they're all good for copying or getting inspired) they still follow the same old method of getting quality materials, trendy laces, finding unique prints, contrasting colours, having a personalized kaam and going back to your trusted tailor, viola - you have an utterly unique and personalized outfit. In Lahore, one thing I'd noticed is that it more about carrying the outfit than having a designer tag

Unless you belong to the elite class, wearing a designer outfit means nothing, tell people the price and hear 'oh its nice but it ain't worth it, I could've got this done for half the price'- which is not far from the truth.

well this goes for not just the attire but also for everything else that concerns a wedding. pakistani people living abroad have to come down to pakistan for the big event and people here in business know that very well so they are all prepared to suck the blood out of your veins!!! be it the photographer/dress designer/decorator/caterer!!! even then the worst thing is that most of them have absolutely no concept of customer service!

I think the FAD of wearing high-end designer wear will fade in the near future. I think the fact that Pakistani designers have made themselves more accessible to overseas clients in the past few years has helped their profile grow significantly. However, the ridiculous prices we now observe on high end designer outfits will mark the beginning of the end. It now seems the norm to see a girl in inexpensive pret-wear at a wedding, something you've picked off the rack and costs you far less than a custom made outfit say from, Bunto, Umar Sayeed, Faiza Samee etc. It's funny because I got a recent quote for some outfits by Indian designers, and they were priced at half the original estimate I had in mind. I feel these designers will just have to adapt to the trend of low cost designer wear for the masses.

I agree! I think this trend will fade away! Though what I find so funny is that why people go to these designers anyway. They might as well directly go to places where these designers get their kaam done!

My khala ordered my bridal at PLk and while she was there, a really pretty outfit came in after kaam being done on it. The shop owner told my khala that the outfit is for the designer Mehdi! he had sent his design to PLK and asked them to make it. My khala asked him for the price and he said that he charged Mehdi 300,000 rps, but Mehdi will sell it at 900,000 rps or more. This sounds a bit outrageous, but the amount that all these designers charge, it is very believable! Khala said that the shirt was full of kaam and stones so I am sure Mehdi will sell it fro 9 lacs at his boutique.!

So if anyone wants and is willing to pay for a designer outfit, just take the design to PLK or Jabeens. I am sure they can copy the exact design for less than what the designers will charge with their label on it! Plus who knows, the original outfit may have been made at one of these shops anywayz.

i bought beautiful outfits for my brother's mehendi and wedding from Jabeen's on Tariq Road (Rim Jhim is their sister store in Clifton) and i paid 16,000 rupees for the mehendi jora and it was all pure silk with a pure silk jamavar churidar and kaam all over the front of the kameez plus a chiffon dupatta. the shaadi jora was a lehenga with a long, full kaam shirt and a plain chiffon lehenga with booties on it and that was 26,000 rupees. the dupatta was chiffon. so it is possible to find nice outfits in that range but you have to look in the right stores/areas. also, i'm surprised you didn't find anything in kehkashan - they don't have readymade's there but i found lots there from the good kaam wala's in that range. if you go to a designer boutique, then yes, you are looking at much higher prices. asifa and nabeel had a gorgeous jora that i saw but it was mostly plain chiffon with very little kaam and it was around 80,000.

this is mostly a fad initiated and perpetrated by pakistani brides living abroad, i found. when i was shopping in karachi, everyone i met was mostly amused that us overseas people would spend so much on a jora. there is a very small percentage of society in karachi that pays for the Bunto's, the Mehdi's, the Faiza Samee's, etc. most people go their own route or go with boutiques that are quality but not necessarily designer for their bridal joras. the idea of spending even 2.5 lakh on a bridal is pretty wasteful to them.

I've heard this from several people. Indian designers do seem to be more reasonably priced compared to Pakistani designers with half the reputation/name.

well these fb designers are ripoff too...this one person had listed a dress for $350 because Ashwariya had worn the design, i asked her why it was priced that hight as it didn't even have any kaam, just strips of various fabrics. Anyway, she never replied me :D

it is listed $250 on another fb designer page.

Go for Ayesha Hashwani, she is quite reasonable and her clothes are beautiful. My sister got her outfit from there for my engagement and it cost 35,000. She has worn it a few times since as well.

@ SGC can you tell where exactly is Jabeen's on tariq rd, any address, ph # or website?

& what is PLK?

thanks

Erm... I don't have their exact info but its you can't miss it- any cabbie will know where it is along Tariq Road. I think it might even be across from Tariq Center? They don't have a website.

Jabeen’s House of Wedding
Shop #1,Sasi Centre,Tariq RoadP.E.C.H.S
Ph:4389196

your right.

lawn is so epxensive nowadays,,,however 85000 rupees dress aint worth it, plus to be honest, people mostly look at the bride...dont take her limelight....dont buy it, instead give them ur budget and tell them to look...they are also trying to jaan churaney waley baath.....they wont go looking the entire city for u.....either do ur own work..or give them a budget....

Go to ichra, visit all the shops, see their kaam, then get your own fabric ( they will use cheap low quality fabric for high quality fabric price)
choose a design, bargain and then get it made, i had a nice dress made for my sister, for 15000, one mistake i made is i gave them money
to buy the fabric as well, which they used a very low qality one but they charged me for the most expensive one.

Do not expect honesty from anyone here, they rip you off, if given choice they will even rip your cloths off and kick you out naked.

:( I did that for one of my outfits but i ended up buying really cheap and crappy quality fabric on my own...the quality of the kaam was superb but ruined by cheap fabric :(

I've just bought 3 outfits for my brothers wedding- the total for all 3 has come to £850!!
Don;t think I would be able to justify spending £1000 on a non bridal.

My sis in laws valeema outfit was $1500 and that was knocked down from £2300!!