why do ppl want to spend so much money on dresses they will wear a handful of times? i just dont get it.
now I can understand if the groom wants to get a zegna or armani collezione suit for $3K, but then he will wear it often, but a wedding lehnga, how much mileage can one get out of it anyways.
why do ppl want to spend so much money on dresses they will wear a handful of times? i just dont get it.
now I can understand if the groom wants to get a zegna or armani collezione suit for $3K, but then he will wear it often, but a wedding lehnga, how much mileage can one get out of it anyways.
True, I might spend that kinda money for my husband's outfit but not for a lehnga suit kinda thing!!
I can't imagine ever spending 1 lakh on an outfit.
No matter how much money I have at my disposal.
I'd rather get 4 outfits at 25,000 each.
2 years ago I purchased 3 very heavy, bridal lehngay in Karachi. They vendors all started asking prices in the range of 35,000 - 65,000 and ultimately I purchased them for 18,000 - 25,000.
you can try, for sure, but i don't know how successful it would be...
most places i've shopped at people usually do drop their prices. it might not be a huge 50% drop but its still better than paying full price. its the principle, you know? :)
Fraudz, khuda ke liye ab tou walimay ke suit ka peecha choR do, das saal ho gaye haiN.
sadly i stopped fitting in the valimay ka suit a few years after getting married. although after dropping some pounds I can squeeze myself into it now, but for the most part it isi sits in my closet taunting my beer belly.
It depends what you requirements are....i mean if you go to a designer sure it will cost u more than 1 lakh.....but my dresses were i think average rate...around 55,000-60,000
Well, what i think its totallly depends form where u r buying it.
and abviously that for sure designers dress wouldn't be less than 60,000 ,70,000......(which nowadays has came upto 1 lakh rupees..)
My cousin got her dress done from karma which costs her up to 1 lakh rupees..
people who buy this expensive lenghas/wedding dresses certainly have no brains....lol
anyway, if that makes them happy, i guess good for them...
u cant say they don;t have brain ,.......thay do have :) btw that is something makes them happy (and its the only day for the bride so she has full right to decide.
Whoaa … 50, 60,100,000 for a dress. I mean that’s just sheer absurdity. People are taking this showoff and status thingie way too seriously. Vendors are taking advantage of the situation and ripping everyone off left and right and middle, and people are happily getting ripped, wasting there hard earned money on “Stuff” that don’t do anyone any good.
After all its just a cloth with some traditional work done on it, hundred thousand Rs ..Oh my my. For those who have a hefty bank balance and cant wait to get rid of it, I would recommend them donating money to charity or discretely giving it to those in desperate need. It’s really pitiful to see people going above and beyond their limits in buying everything most expensive just to flaunt their money and getting attention from their equally phony acquaintances (with all due respect to phony acquanitances, ahem).
Bride and groom should wear simple, elegent, soft, and romantic clothes like pure silk or chiffon, so they get more attracted to each other and are more comfortable in an uncomfortable situation. Frankly, something as frivolous as a dress (piece of clothing to cover the body parts) should not cost any more than 5-10,000 Rs.
To be very honest, I am getting quite fed up of aunties elaborating … array itne lakh ka jora hai itne hazar ka make up hoa aur itne lakh ka zewar aya. Dil kerta hai kehdoon .. aap ki iss nadani aur pese ke Ziyah per wah wah keroon Ya Sar pakar ke Afsos .
Whoaa … 50, 60,100,000 for a dress. I mean that’s just sheer absurdity. People are taking this showoff and status thingie way too seriously. Vendors are taking advantage of the situation and ripping everyone off left and right and middle, and people are happily getting ripped, wasting there hard earned money on “Stuff” that don’t do anyone any good.
After all its just a cloth with some traditional work done on it, hundred thousand Rs ..Oh my my. For those who have a hefty bank balance and cant wait to get rid of it, I would recommend them donating money to charity or discretely giving it to those in desperate need. It’s really pitiful to see people going above and beyond their limits in buying everything most expensive just to flaunt their money and getting attention from their equally phony acquaintances (with all due respect to phony acquanitances, ahem).
Bride and groom should wear simple, elegent, soft, and romantic clothes like pure silk or chiffon, so they get more attracted to each other and are more comfortable in an uncomfortable situation. Frankly, something as frivolous as a dress (piece of clothing to cover the body parts) should not cost any more than 5-10,000 Rs.
To be very honest, I am getting quite fed up of aunties elaborating … array itne lakh ka jora hai itne hazar ka make up hoa aur itne lakh ka zewar aya. Dil kerta hai kehdoon .. aap ki iss nadani aur pese ke Ziyah per wah wah keroon Ya Sar pakar ke Afsos .
I agree 100%...............its just primitive...and personally i d feel guilty after spending so much regardless of how much money i have...i d rather feed and clothe the poor as an act of sadqa..for starting a new life....
The lady who cleans our house is Paki... her daughter was getting married... she bought a new lengha 4 her for Rs 2000, this was way out of her league, but she wanted to make her daughter happy on the day by making sure she didn't wear anyhing 2nd hand.....
There has to be a balance striked b/w looking good/ looking original and extravagance (something that even the Quran warns against).
Comeon... 3.5 lakh! I wreckon 10 poor girls could comfortably get married in that much. Tell me, would we be that willing to spend 3.5 lakh on sadqa???
But I guess if someone is a millionaire, then the amount quoted above is not that much... but still, we have to think...
Wassalam
PS: all u girls who had the choice to choose ur bridal wear should count their blessings! Most ppl with backgrounds from karachi dont get that choice... our MIL buys both the shaadi and vailma dress :(