those who are nice and appear to be good have in fact so much to cover, let’s be honest.
any thoughts? :>
from thread to thread, just how you change
your purposes, your tones, and your voices,
from thread to thread, how do you reflect,
your moves, your thoughts, and your choices
how, do you carry all these shifting faces
within your selves, within all your cases?
people are not one dimensional characters
we show different facets of who we are in real life based on the situation
that does not change who we are as people
same goes for GS, different posts, different sectins only show certasi aspects of our personalities
or atleast the masks that we wear, some knowingly and some unknowingly.
and then there are those who you think you know..but dont realize that you know nothing about them :)
Dushi jee, while you have a point here, I will agree with Fraudia paa. I don't use my own example (when it comes to presenting good examples) but just for sake of argument, I will consider my example.
I am mostly active in cafe for just light chit chat. Once awhile, I do visit Religion Forum (I have my reasons for not posting in the forum that much). Now just because I post in cafe more than Religion, does that mean that I am a completely different person the moment I step in any of these forums? Light chit chat and posting Ahadith/Ayahs can both be a part of person. A person can choose to show only some of his/her personality depending on the forum. Now keeping this same example in mind, I can also say that just because I post in Religion forum once awhile does not automatically make me a good muslim (which I don't consider myself anyways)? The answer would obviously be No.
real life is a whole diff animal, as in it, you are that much more suceptible to falling prey to someone's masked dishonesty & hidden duality of motives, until you find the exposed face.
assumptions and prejudgements is all a fair argument against not presuming anything untoward about other people or even about one's own forming violence after seeing violence.
no one, not you also, would like to see ugly- ness of someone's character.
when so much of life is directed to upholding truth and we know why we need to uphold truth, then why leave room for second guessing and unpleasant surprises of disappointments because of delibrate misgivings.
it is not about accepting one to be pious or not pious, it is about making it certain that impiety is a probably piety and that no piety is associable.
at least that affirmation and loss is certain from the get go.
portrayal of being a mystic and being found as a heretic is not the best showdown, is it?
when u see a villain on a TV screen do u believe he is a bad person in real life?
masks 'may' have layers of truth, or may have no similarity to the face underneath.
hum hein lajwab,
i agree. i am sure and would admit, my posts can be any mood from serious to non serious, but hope is that i always remain me. that you can find dushwari in them, an sense where dushwari's posts are referring to.
the underlying basis does not have to shift, does it?
being one way, conservative in one thing is fine and being non conservative is fine.
but being purposefully controvesial and leaning on hypocrasy is not fine.
that is what the issue is.
your example of your own self posting in religion forum, & your analysis of yourself as someone who you think is not make you a good muslim is self defined.
when an onlooker reads you, in diff forums, they can tell it is hum hein lajawab.
we all joke, we all have our moments of being high or being low in being silly or being sagacious.
but what is at stake when people are giving the clue of being someone other than what they so claim they are, that, is what is questioned by my inital post in this thread i opened.
how nice it would be if people owned up to their selves and did not feel the need to cowardly hide away their underlying thoughts.
um..just a thought, it is not meant to be taken by fellow GS members are a targeting comment post.
best,
Dushwari
Dushi jee, while you have a point here, I will agree with Fraudia paa. I don't use my own example (when it comes to presenting good examples) but just for sake of argument, I will consider my example.
I am mostly active in cafe for just light chit chat. Once awhile, I do visit Religion Forum (I have my reasons for not posting in the forum that much). Now just because I post in cafe more than Religion, does that mean that I am a completely different person the moment I step in any of these forums? Light chit chat and posting Ahadith/Ayahs can both be a part of person. A person can choose to show only some of his/her personality depending on the forum. Now keeping this same example in mind, I can also say that just because I post in Religion forum once awhile does not automatically make me a good muslim (which I don't consider myself anyways)? The answer would obviously be No.
no one, not you also, would like to see ugly- ness of someone's character.
but i would, if someone is going to become more than a nick i converse with, i would need to get a better understanding of his character...ugly or not ugly.
portrayal of being a mystic and being found as a heretic is not the best showdown, is it?
its a relative term..either way, mystic for some is a heretic for others..
and vice versa
^sounds good. i dont want to appear as someone splitting water, yet, life experiences surely teach us all toughness and being resilient - that is for those who learn from their mistakes.
what about those who never learn adn master mind evil acts?
getting to know them, even is acceptable.
but what if they harm many before they come to realize their uglyness?
very poignant confession, it is humbling and humble.
for the sake of the argument, do you believe that having a certain core of your personal dignity, a transparency is a sin?
But remember, this is Internet. Not to judge the book by looking at it's cover but sometimes we fail to understand a person in real (yeh to phir bhi Internet hai). A person gets to know another person through his/her words and actions, in this case: his/her posts. If a person (ppl like me) is pretending to be someone else when in reality, he/she is different, then let him/her know of the following hadith:
(quoting from memory so it is just summary and not word-to-word) Prophet Ahmed (SAW) said that one of the peron disliked in the sight of Allah is the one who pretends to be someone else when in reality he/she is someone else.
Now remember, the 'pretending to be someone' is not stuff like being all religious at one point and then joking around at another. Both of these things are acecptable in Islam., hence, don't count. When I say 'pretending to be someone else,' I am referring to things like:
I pray 5 times a day (when in reality, I might not)
To claim soething (which in reality might not be true)
*]To lie to impress others or "fit" in a group
There are probably more examples of this.
what about those who never learn adn master mind evil acts?
getting to know them, even is acceptable.
but what if they harm many before they come to realize their uglyness?
1) those who never learn and mastermind eveil acts, u need to know who they are so u can protect yourself from them.
2) whether they themselves realize their ways or not is not whats paramount, but for people around them to realize that and protect themselves. whose at fault when a snake bites a person, the snake or teh person wrapping teh snake around his arm?
^ hin33,
do you believe that having a certain core of your personal dignity, a transparency is a sin?
is that better or a deceptive existence?
at the very moment of just about to finding the truth is another ditch deeper than ever,, so another few billion yrs needed there to surpass the tests that dignify good and bad... there is no core .. its all layers of filth .. and ugliness and the beauty and cleanliness is all lies. that i use to cover the filth and rottenness of self..
Fraudia bhai,
you should teach philosophy.
the nature of the snake, good reminder, yes, but snakes are domesticated too.
they dance to the tune of the snake charmer.
& they dont necessarily bite the charmer or his family. it takes skill and time.
deception and disloyalty are the worst human venom. animals are better, as some species show.
i know,
see how reduced Fraudia bhai is to the 'Hey Yo'
from not adressing me at all directly initially :>
i know though that the brotherly care is there, unless it is a mask..
Fraudia bhai,
you should teach philosophy.
the nature of the snake, good reminder, yes, but snakes are domesticated too.
they dance to the tune of the snake charmer.
& they dont necessarily bite the charmer or his family. it takes skill and time.
deception and disloyalty are the worst human venom. animals are better, as some species show.
nyah I would be the worst philosophy teacher, when i took philosophy in undergrad at the end of teh semester we had to stand up and tell the class and the prof what we learnt. I stated that none of what we read really matters,...pissed him off..he asked me to explain and why i felt that the works of socrates and aristotle and sartre etc have no importance.. I said not its not importance, its no relevance...they each formed their views based on their time, their challenges, and their circumstances,... so just like them, we each need to have our own philosophy.