For guests who come to you live with you perhaps for over a month .. How do you prepare the guest room to make it as comfortable as possible for them ?
What considerations would you keep in mind while preparing their room?
I have some questions as well :
How often do you change their bed linen , Duvet covers? weekly? fortnight?
would you leave a fruit basket in their room?
how about leaving some extra pillows and fleece blankets in the cupboard incase they need some?
Would you offer them a new towel or expect that they bring their own?
how about leaving a few moisturizing creams / deodrant etc on their dressing table , or would it be expected of them to bring their own stuff ?
For guests who come to you live with you perhaps for over a month .. How do you prepare the guest room to make it as comfortable as possible for them ?
- How often do you change their bed linen , Duvet covers? weekly? fortnight? once a week
- would you leave a fruit basket in their room? no
- how about leaving some extra pillows and fleece blankets in the cupboard incase they need some? YES
- Would you offer them a new towel or expect that they bring their own? offer [show them your linen closet]
- how about leaving a few moisturizing creams / deodrant etc on their dressing table , or would it be expected of them to bring their own stuff ? NO...guests bring their own
- First aid box in their room? lol...why? are they kids? haha
make sure they have a box of tissues, a glass with plate and cover, a dimmer [automatic lights], passage to bathroom well lit, a towel, prayer rug, TV, DVD player, Digital box to receive some desi channels, extra blankets etc
well, they may be bored if they are early morning risers…remember, you are doing something nice for the guests…what you do is your prerogative but for the guests it may be necessity, especially if they are elderly…my Bhabhii’s parents watch news after fajar prayers … well, i suppose you know your guest’s preferences/needs…right?
They will bring their own stuff,but its always nice to have some things like u mentioned moiturizing cream.First aid box sounds good too.
If it was me, no food in the room(as you've mentioned a fruit basket). I'd let them know about things in the kitchen/fridge they are free to eat whatever they want and whenever they want.
And it really depends who are the guests. If mine or hubby's friend then everything will be formalish...but if his or my parents/siblings then no worries. It'll be more like a ghar wali baat,changing bed linen etc should not be a big deal.
I try to tend to the basics basically...
*Extra pillows...
*Extra sheets and fleece blankets...you never know what they like to use.I prefer the linens are freshly washed (if possible) and smell nice.
*Towels...freshly washed.
*Jai namaz,tasbeeh and info on prayer timings...esp if they are coming from a different time zone...also a chappal for wudu/bathroom.Some people need one some do not..!
*Incase they do not get a chance to completely unpack,a few basics like toothbrushes and shampoo etc.I always have that in the bathroom so just check if anything needs to be replaced with new bottles or tubes.
*A nightlight...a digital alarm clock..
*Since our guestroom also serves as a study room,so I try to declutter as much as I can...remove unnecessary and any confidential paperwork from in there...I also sign out of the websites I Am signed into...now I don't want them to run into my GS account...:p
*No food in the bedrooms..!
*a few times when my parents came over,they were up way before we got up and they never turned on the TV incase they might wake us up.So I keep some magazines etc in the room,if they feel bored.
*I fill up a few munchies or cookies etc in the jars in the kitchen and have them on the counter if they want to help themselves to a cup of tea or something to eat..
*And also turn down the ringer on the phone in the guest room (if you have one),as you don't want to wake them up if they are still suffering from jet lag and taking a nap in the middle of the day....
As much as I would love to have some closet space for my guests,I do not.I have the closets stuffed so that is one thing I never seem to do.
- How often do you change their bed linen , Duvet covers? weekly? fortnight?
- would you leave a fruit basket in their room?
- how about leaving some extra pillows and fleece blankets in the cupboard incase they need some?
- Would you offer them a new towel or expect that they bring their own?
- how about leaving a few moisturizing creams / deodrant etc on their dressing table , or would it be expected of them to bring their own stuff ?
- First aid box in their room?
I'd do all of the above.
No first aid box but first aid box should be handy in case. I don't know why.
Fresh and clean towels are a must - new or not new doesn't matter.
I'd definitely do a basket but it would be one nice welcome basket. Like things someone might enjoy knowing or having from our town. A restaurant guide, a mug, lotions, potions, deodorants, some of my favorite munchies so if they don't like them at least they'd get eaten by me ;), etc. Welcome baskets are fun to put together too actually, lol.
In the beginning , I had this little travel kettle , that I would place on the dressing table in one side along with tea bag sachets and some powder milk in a little cute jar and sugar cubes .. this was more or less one of the rituals I always used to do for guests .. but twice it happened that chai was spilled on the bed and that sort of made me mad coz the luxury sheets are expensive , you gotta take care ..
So eventually i decided not to do the tea arrangement in the room.. I know guests loved it , but accidents can happen and no point crying over them after they have happened ! so really i think the no food policy is a good policy that Chips mentioned in her post ..
I still keep the fruits /crisps coz majorly its the buzrugs in the family that come for stay and its hard for them to get out of their warm room and go downstairs to a cold kitchen .. so purely for their convenience I have to keep it ..
One important thing , not to freak out the guests , always let them know how to switch off the night security alarms
we had husbands aunty stay over and forgot to tell her that at night alarms are on and we have to put a code if any of us is to step out of our rooms .. the alarm went off and she screamed like mad , we ended up almost getting a heart attack thinking she fell off the stairs or something ! it was quiet a scene … so yeah always let them know what to expect !
CB, can I also come to your house as a guest, you seem like a hostess with the mostest!!
Most of the people who come and stay with us are good friends so they are usually very laid back about the whole thing. It is all very informal. This is what I always do:
Fresh Bedlinen changed once a week
New Tooth paste in the guest bathroom and a new packed toothbrush (sometimes people forget)
Fresh white towel
a few spare rubber slippers if anyone needs them
I also make sure that I ask about their breakfast preferences and ensure that I have those things. For example we eat wholemeal bread, but most people from Pakistan prefer white bread. So I always get that beforehand. Funnily enough, most of the guest that stay with us always end up joining us in the kitchen in the morning and helping around, so that’s nice!
I think its a good thing that the guests join you in the kitchen, specially makes it easier to give them tht “at home” feeling when they they are living for more then a night ..
Seriously! Soo much in awe of your concern about guests well being! Who would want to stay in a hotel when they have a hostess like you around when they visit your city
My husband keeps telling me to chill out on doing all this stuff coz memaan's feel like they are living in a hotel not a home :( but i dont agree with him coz I feel guests should be given a full protocol so they enjoy their time away from their home to the maximum ...
I do the same thing and really want to give them the hotel experience ..as I live that pampering myself. Problem is when you are taken for granted. Word gets around and people expect that royal treatment. That's fine if people would reciprocate when you go to their place. I have found that most people don't bother and are very laid back...that's definitely a bit of a let down. With time I have lowered the standards and stopped with going overboard. You do get bitter when the other person doesn't feel obliged to o overboard .
isse takalluf paidaa hotaa hai aur phir mehmaan qayaam se lutf andoz nahiiN ho paataa...use har baat meN sankoch hotaa hai...ek dooree paidaa ho jaatii hai...itnaa honaa chaahiye k mehmaan ko aaraam mile magar use Hotel kaa saa aHsaas/gumaan na ho jisse uske andar takalluf aa jaaye aur vo apne qayaam se lutf andoz na ho paaye...aisaa meraa Khayaal hai apnaa! :)
^ KKF , I think that is what most men think , honestly I have heard mostly men say this while women work their heads off to make everything special .. But I do agree that perhaps we shouldnt be going overboard coz then expectations get raised like Twinklestar mentioned in her post .. I dunno kia theek kia galath :hinna:
lol…don’t be confused…if you do, hand over your house key and move out to a hotel yourself so they fee ‘at home’ lol …
…your observation regarding men folks does sound right! my Bhabhii does the same…my bro and i say let them feel ‘at home’ … takalluf kii deevaar na khaRii kareN k unheN comforter use karne emn bhii takalluf maHsoos ho! lol