Pregnancy in Ramadan

Re: Pregnancy in Ramadan

So I went to my mom`s house today and everyone was making me taste things for salt or seasoning....

pinks: The Hadith is pretty straightforward, but I guess the person interpreting it does not agree.

hehe I remember that!

I must say, I'm much hungrier and thirstier this year while nursing, than I was last year while pregnant.

thats what i thought too about that hadith... but considering that most of the major Imams are of the same view in regards to how that hadith is interpreted, then we have no choice but to accept their opinion as they are surely more knowledgable then we are.

Uhm. If it says pregnant women are exempt from fasting, then why are they saying they still have to? Doesn't make any sense whatsoever.

I say the person carrying the child inside of them knows better if they can fast.

I'm jus' sayin'.

I was in the 8th month of my pregnancy last yr and didnn't fast...still have to make up for those! :|

Because each hadith has to be taken in context before a ruling can be derived from it. The average person isn't equipped with the knowledge to do that, hence the need for Alims/ Imams.

But again, if a woman feels that she cannot take the hardhsips of a fast and it is adversely affecting her health/ the baby's health, she has leave to break her fast.

Isn’t it better not to keep a fast than break it? :konfused:

Well, the second link doesn't even give a textual reference. And the first is really adding to what the Hadith says. But you're right, context is important. I have just never heard of this before. In my family, regardless of degree of religious observance or country of birth, most people seem to feel women do not need to fast when pregnant.

What pinks linked, It is not permissible for pregnant and breastfeeding women to break the fast unless they fear for themselves or their children - Islam Question & Answer

I don’t understand how the writer clearly states that the Hadith applies to all pregnant women and yet the scholars have the authority to limit the application. If the Hadith applies, it just does. PERIOD.

It actually IS NOT like being sick. You can be “a little sick,” but you are never just “a little pregnant.” You are simply “pregnant.” More on the comparison with illness:

Now again, even the scholars are not this extreme! How ludicrous! The woman is only allowed to break her fast if the other option is the death of her child or severe harm to the child. It’s not okay if it may just cause a little harm to the child! That is beyond ridiculous and totally ignores the actual Hadith.

Well this is interesting. Does this suggest that it would be better for me to go ahead and give only formula for the month, in order for me to fast? The problem of course is that a month of doing this will pretty much mean that I will no longer be able to nurse my child. Is that better? For most people a wet nurse is not an option – giving formula is the closest comparison.

Sahar, I think what you are doing is right. Islam is not at all a hard religion but many times people make it look like that.

i know people are trying not to be offensive, but i find it really annoying. something is clearly stated that its best not to fast, remember fasting can be made up in many ways, even if your ill, old, preg, anything, theres a compensation scheme in place. whats farz is namaz, are you just as adamant on praying? if yes, then good. however i have come across so many women, and even men, who insist they need to fast, their wives should fast, during preg, and say oh if we can do it, itl be ok...we dont know the effects its having on baby, baby wont tell you will he? I didnt drink enough water in my 2nd trim, and i didnt realise it was having an effect on babys hearbeat, was too high, however unless im being ctg monitered, i wouldnt have known.

so how can you women possibly know the effect your fast is having?? risking the feotus just because oh i feel fine is not good enough, islam isnt this harsh, no wonder non-muslims think we are a bunch of extremists weirdos, isnt this extreme? i have to correct every muslims womans stance in the hosp when she says to a non-mus oh im fasting....they think its compulsory.....i have to say oh its not comp, its her choice, im not fasting.....

its odd isnt it, jidher farz ka likha hai, woh hum kartey nahi, jo farz nahi hai, we are adamant on fulffilling it, at any cost.

Again, i cannot and will not question how that hadith is to be applied as i am no scholar. Perhaps those concerned could do in depth research with regards to that hadith if the scholarly opinion does not sit well with them. If the majority of scholars are saying the same thing about a given hadith, then i personally have no choice but to accpet it.

It is mentioned again and again through those articles that is there is real fear of harm to self/ baby then a fast can be broken/ not kept… it even mentions somewhere that such a woman is NOT obliged to fast. From what i have understood from the articles is that a healthy pregnant woman is not allowed to skip fast just coz she’s pregnant.

I hate talking about myself here but I am just starting my third trimester (Ah), and Alhumdulillah my pregancy is going great and today is my 4th fast. Yes I feel slightly hungry/ thirsty but not any more then any average adult. I am just making sure that i make an extra effort outside the hours of fast to maintain good nutrient/ fluid intake. I make it a point to not stress with too much work and rests when needed. Alhumdulillah i’m feeling fine.

However, had ramadan fallen during my first trimester, i would’ve been the first to not fast with all that weight loss, nausea, vomitting etc, it would’ve been unhealthly for me/ baby to have fasted then.

As for breast feeding, i think it clearly mentions that if a wet nurse or the like is not available, and a mother’s milk supply is adversely affected, then a woman is allowed to not fast. No where does it mention to give formula milk instead (knowing that a mother’s milk is way better then formula milk).

And its not like pregnant woman stop other activities (work, shopping, driving, etc) unless there is real fear of harming the baby… we dont bubble wrap ourselves just-in-case something might happen to the mum/ baby (God forbid it could, one could get into a car accident while driving which would inevitably harm the mum/ baby, but that doesn’t stop us from getting on the road does it?)

Namaz isn't the only farz, so are other things like how a woman should dress. By your arguement, if a muslim woman isn't dressed in accordance to the quran/ sunnah then she shouldnt be as obsessed with paying attention to her fasts?

If you were careless about your fluid intake, then that is really your fault and it was not right for you to be negligent about it.

Most woman do go for regular check ups during their pregnancy, i think they'd know from that is something was wrong...

an article posted previously in this thread (from babycentre) mentions that there is no sound evidence to suggest that fasting does adverselfy affect the baby, why do we jump to assume otherwise?

And we shouldn't decide what to follow/ avoid based on what non-mulims think. I'm sure to many of them the concept of hijab is extreme, uss ko bhi islam se nikaal deiN kya just to please 'em?

sawal ye nahi hai ke farz ko poora kya ja raha hai ke nahi, sawal ye hai ke kya hum kissi farz ehkaam ko farz se kum na samhajne lage, God Forbid.

Pregnant women told not to fast during holy Ramadan

By Divya Talwar
BBC Asian Network

Pregnant women who fast during Ramadan could be putting the health of their unborn baby at risk, according to a new study.

Fasting during the month is one of the five pillars of Islam, although pregnant women are exempt if it poses a risk to their health.

However, some Muslim women still choose to fast, despite the health implications.

Aanisa Butt, 32, fasted during both of her pregnancies. 

“I wouldn’t fast every day, I would do one day of fasting followed by a day of rest. Doing alternate days helped me keep my energy levels up,” she said.

Ramadan is the ninth month of the Islamic calendar and a time when Muslims across the world fast from dawn until sunset.

“When Ramadan falls in the summer, it can be really difficult to stay without food and water the whole day and if you’re pregnant it is even more hard,” said Aanisa.

“But I wasn’t worried about my health or my baby’s. I think Allah gives you strength and he protects your unborn child.”

Although Aanisa gave birth to two healthy sons, if women fast for long hours during their pregnancy it can result in problems for their unborn child.

**A study by scientists in the United States, based on census data from the US, Iraq and Uganda, found that pregnant women who fast are likely to have smaller babies who are more prone to learning disabilities in adulthood.

The researchers from Columbia University found that this trend was most marked if mothers-to-be fasted early on in their pregnancy and during the summer when longer days meant they went more hours without food.

Religious leaders say pregnant women shouldn’t attempt to fast as it puts the health of their unborn baby at risk. **

read on…Pregnant women told not to fast during holy Ramadan - BBC News

That's good! Have a blessed and easy Ramadan.

this is an old thread, but i have a question.

A pregnant women, if she is not fasting in ramazan, but she plans to make up her fasts later on, does she still has to pay fidya ( or feed one poor in the morning and at night?)

Please do not fast. You are in your first trimester, this is the stage of development for the fetus. The basic structure for ALL organs is being laid down, you cannot afford for something to go wrong. ALLAH has given you permission not to fast during pregnancy and breastfeeding, please avail that.

I dont think Allah would have given us a relaxation had it not been in favour of both the mother and the baby, already. He, who knows it best of all, whats just right or wrong for us, His creatures. I dont know why people just think of and try to prove themselves to be super human.