Pregnancy Complications..!!

aoa. Frnds my Gynae has told me that i have pregnancy sugar, which is according to her a boarderline sugar
sugar level is 92 with fasting, she wants another test with fasting and wants 4 readings with fasting,breakfast,lunch and dinner, i dont wana waste my blood its already 8 points. According to lab 92 is a normal level.

1)share some healthy breakfast ideas for pregnancy sugar yet healthy for my baby ..
2)what if i would not follow the chart ? How could pregnancy sugar effect my unborn ? And how can i protect my unborn baby with its effects? Dr didnt explain me anything, My next appointment is after 2 weeks:(
it will be my 1st week of 8TH Month after 2 weeks inshaALLAH ..

Re: Pregnancy Complications..!!

This is called gestational diabetes. It will go away after your pregnancy. About wasting your blood, it only takes a little drip of blood to test sugar level in blood, I wouldn’t risk not getting tested. I also had extremely low blood level in all 3 of my pregnancies but I had to get a glucose intolerance test done as being Asian, a bit overweight and mother having diabetes put me at higher risk, but alhumdulillah I was clear.

For breakfast eat low sugar cereals such as bran flakes or brown bread toast.

As for risks of not treating it, it can be very dangerous for your unborn baby, it can cause the baby to be stillborn or have breathing or heart problems after birth. Also babies are always heavier. So please don’t risk it, do the tests. And follow the treatment if needed which is normally insulin.

One of my friends had it in all 3 of her pregnancies and she was always hospitalised for the last 2 months of her pregnancies even though she was given insulin to try n control it at home. The babies were always born early by caesarean at start of 9th month as it was to risky to let her go to full term, her babies were all very big, 10lb or 11lb. 4 years after having her last child she then developed diabetes. So it’s also a sign u will get it later in life.

Why did your gyne not explain all this? If she didn’t , u should have asked her.

Waste your blood?? Are you serious?? That’s ridiculous! Go get tested and make sure you’ve got your gestational diabetes under control. As the previous poster has said it can be very dangerous to leave it untreated and to be careless, for both you and your baby. Here are some recipes to follow for ALL of your meals, not just breakfast: Eating Well | Gestational Diabetes Recipes

Kindly do question your doctors as much as you feel the need to, rather than coming online and searching for answers which are general and not according to your specific situation. It is VERY silly not to question a doctor and just come back saying “O doctor didn’t tell me anything”

Saniya, these are all questions you should be asking your doctor. You don’t have to wait until your next appointment to ask questions. Just pick up the phone and call the doctors office. If you’re not getting answers then just change your OBGYN.
You don’t want to waste your blood? Don’t be silly!!!

Just a personal pregnancy pet peeve … please state how far along you are in weeks and not months!!!

^^ I think in Pakistan they go by months. For some reason I hear everyone in Pakistan counting by months instead of weeks.

Saniya, I agree with everyone, please ask your doctor what these numbers mean, what you have to do to keep it in control. Do you need a sugar monitor to check your sugar several times during the day? Your doctor should be able to answer these and other questions for you. If she/he can’t, please consider changing your doctor.

In the meanwhile watch your sugar and carb in take. I don’t know what kind of eating habits you have but incorporate lots of veggies, fruits (not too sweet like mango) proteins, yogurt, whole grains in your diet.

Not sure if it’s done differently there, but for the most part Dr should have prescribed a blood glucose monitor + lancets + insulin, needles, etc etc.

They often direct you to check your sugar after every meal, so about 4x a day. You don’t want it to be etoo high OR too low.

A dietician is supposed to give you a very specific meal plan based on your diagnosis/weight/etc.

Until you get the actual meal plan, stick with very low carb/low fat. If you find yourslef hypoglycemic, drink milk or a little bit of juice.

Absolutely NO sugary things like soda, juice, candy, cakes, baked goods etc.

High blood sugar can cause miscarriage, stillborn, or other birth defects., the risk of those far outweigh the risk of “wasting” blood. If you have a good machine, and good technique, you’d need only a tiny drop of it and it wouldn’t even hurt nor affect the amount of blood that you have.

You can find answers to general questions on any website, every reputable website will tell you the foods that are safe to eat in diabetes/pregnancy, and what kind of risks will happen for the baby and you if the sugar is uncontrolled.

As for specific questions regarding your medication or other blood issues, that’s something you HAVE to ask your Dr, no one here can tell you that.

Ok, I had gestational diabetes in both my pregnancies. If the first test is high, they usually do a second bigger test. My sugar level was borderline high. I only had to watch my diet, go for weekly blood tests and that’s it. The nutritionist gave me a diet chart that I had to follow. I did not need insulin etc. But everyone is different, if sugar levels are very high, than insulin may be needed to correct it or if your body doesn’t respond to the diet. Having gestational diabetes means you could get it later in life too ( regular diabetes) so after the pregnancy you should watch what you eat and work our as well. My kids were Allhamdulillah fine, not very big at birth, well one was over 8 lbs but still and I had normal deliveries.

I was worried too but don’t worry as stress can contribute to it as well. Please ask any other questions you may have too.

There is a nutritionist at Agha Khan hospital, go and see her if it turns out that you do have gestational diabetes. The first test comes out high at times but that doesn’t mean that you will have diabetes until the second test confirms it. I had very low iron too, 6 when I delivered, but it was necessary to get blood drawn every week.

One more thing, if you have more children, you will need to get tested early on for diabetes in the pregnancy instead of the seventh month as is the norm.

I know it’s devastating to hear that news, But it’s really not that bad. I hope you will not end up needing insulin, but if it comes to that, Allah forbid, there are other women who have done it and had healthy babies. You have tried so hard to have a baby, you are almost there, you shall have to do whatever it takes. Please do keep us updated, In Sha Allah prayers for you.

PS. I know doctors don’t always have time to answer a lot of questions, it becomes routine for them too. You can also google babycenter and check out the gestational diabetes sub forum there, it has a lot of information.

Thanks everyone for replying , my dad had it thats why im worried that i may also develope this after delivery, i had it checked for 2 times before in my 5th month and then in 6th, 1st it was 94 which was boarder line , and second was gulucose tolarance test with fasting with 3 readings, dr has given me diet chart and said follow it 4 2 weeks and take a test with fasting ,b4 breakfast,lunch and dinner if result will not be in my favour then she will give me any meDicine . She just answered this of my all questions, she said your bAbies ultrasound is normal but your sugar is on boarderline . Im too much worried, 1st of all i had a miscarriage,then fibroid and had been ttc for a year n now pregnant with too many complications, im all fed up of these tests, on the top of it we cant afford these expenses we both are worried and praying for a healthy baby and my health too. Im not over weight . My weight is 55.5 kgs and its my 26th week.
I still couldnt find any good gynae . I am now changing my dr and hospital as well , tryng to get appointment of dr.Aisha of aga khan (garden)..
Im hopeless and feeling down :frowning: i spend my whole day in tension and worrying about my health bAby and husband, he has treated me his level best as being a husband, i couldnt give him any happiness :frowning: i wanted a healthy pregnancy ..

You need to take a deep breath and calm down. Stop thinking like this. I couldn’t give my husband happiness. What does that even mean? It is not like you purposely went out and got all these problems. It is life. Things happen. Stop stressing

I was also worried when I found out about the diabetes but Alhumdulillah I did not need any insulin or medicine, just the diet chart. Babies were fine too Alhumdulillah ! Don’t worry, usually borderline cases respond well to the diet, in my second pregnancy I could not even follow the diet properly as I was very very sick and could not eat at all. The first one was easy to follow as I got tested in the 28th week and by then the sickness was gone. The blood tests are not expensive. Don’t worry, IA all shall be fine

Saniya, you are not doing yourself any good by stressing out. Look at the positives - your gestational diabetes is just borderline, and was caught well in time for you to do something about it. Follow your Dr’s diet advice and make sure you get some exercise too. You will be fine! As for “wasting blood” - that is ridiculous. If your iron (haemoglobin) levels are low, follow an iron rich diet or ask your Dr to prescribe iron supplements. pregnancy anemia (iron deficiency) is not at all uncommon and can be treated.

Saniya even if you do have Gestational Diabetes it isnt the end of the world, number one.

Number two, pregnancy is a naturally “ill” state. Immune system (body defense) is down. A healthy pregnancy basically boils down to the purpose it serves: is the baby ok? If it is, stop cribbing about the rest. Kindly read up on what to expect when pregnant. You will be amazed at how many issues women face on this journey. You don’t just go hopping and skipping through the nine months (40 weeks). Few may seem to go through that and have what you call a healthy pregnancy but pregnancy is easy on NONE. It affects in its most natural form all systems of the mother’s body, putting a load on the kidneys, heart, lungs, even skin (stretching it out, acne, dark circles, rashes, itching). SO many issues come hand in hand and it is ok because that is HOW IT IS.

I would really suggest that you educate yourself and your husband too if he is an issue or has an issue and needs to be getting “khushi”.

I would really advise you not to be ungrateful for this chance to be a mother, and him not to be ungrateful and complain about this journey.

HOWEVER, I WOULD definitely say that YOU need to be responsible as much as you can for carrying this baby safely. That means to tackle any problem healthwise and follow the advice of DOCTORS, your OWN doctors, strictly. Not wasting blood??? I mean really, how are you being responsible making these health choices when it is abundantly clear that you have no idea what is needed or not?

MAJOR word of advice to you. STOP looking for direction on online forums and kindly trust and follow your doctor who is seeing you physically and in person and is able to view the growth of your baby too. Kindly base your decisions on what THAT doctor is telling you rather than asking a bunch of people far away and remote from you what to do.

O and while we are talking about this, stress and depression DOES have a bad effect on the body (and therefore the growing baby) because stress releases certain hormones and chemicals which aren’t good. Try to keep a positive outlook by remembering the big picture.

In case you lost sight of what that is, the big picture is that ALLAH BLESSED YOU WITH A BABY ALHAMDOLILLLAH.

Holy Moses…aap kabhi khush bhi rehti ho?

Jo na pareshaan ho vo apke post parke pareshaan zuroor ho jaye.

Gestational diabetes is as common as a cold.

REHA:
kesecomments diay hain apne dear .. post parh kar preshan ho gai tu mere sath tu ho rha hy or mere paas itni education nhi thi regarding gestational diabetes, i feel good when you people share your experiences .. baqi now i will try to act upon your advice .. you people are really helpful ..

saniya dont get depressed or tensed first of all thank to ALLAH who give u this happiness .and second if u are worried about your health it is very commom to have gestional diabetes it will sub side after your delivery INSHALLAH..ALLAH will give u healthy child AMEEN and make your pregancy easy for u. remember me also in your prayers :slight_smile:

Don’t worry Saniya, IA the diet will work.

Matlab kehne ka ye hai ke pregnancy mein agar aap har cheeze pe pareshan rehangi to apki pregnancy pareshaan haal hi guzre gi.

Apne aap ko khush rakhogi to ye waqt apke liye, baby ke liye aur apke husband ke liye acha guzre ga.

Agar apki doctor concerned nahin hai…to relax. Always speak to your doctor first because they will know best.