Pregnancy and Your Diet

Re: Pregnancy and Your Diet

oh yeah the gym membership ur supposed to yell at me about!! Inshallah this weekend I will take my lazy bum across the street & renew my gym membership...so sad!! Hehe. PS. Due to winterstorm i might not go to work tomorrow so maybe I will get it tomorrow.

:snooty:

I thought the panjeeri helped me a lot too after my miscarriage. I couldnt stand or do chores around the house for more than 15 mins at a time. Even with the panjeeri it took me abt a month to recover. But the downfall was all the weight i gained and havent been able to take off :bummer:

Lol what kind of panjeeri u guys had? My mom made the yummiest stuff for my bhabhi both times, second time around I only had it once... and never again. It was so yummy. :(

well ur friend should concentrate on taking supplements.for the 1st three months,folic acid tablets and then folic acid is stopped and iron and calcium supplements r taken until delivery.dont completely rely on supplements but do take care of ur diet.if u r suffering from aneamia it wud result in much horrible condition in ur 7-8 month.ur baby might be underweight.may be his/her eyes r not made properly (this has happened to one of my friends .she didn't even finish the one putta of iron throughout her pregnancy and had a c-section.her baby suffered fromjaundice the day she was born and one of her eyes is not completely made)

so this all depends on u which way u want.as u r suffering from anemia ...make sure u daily have 2 dates ,1 apple and 1 glass of carrot juice or beetroot juice.it boosts ur HGB levels.so wud help u a lot in anemia.bcz iron drips r very painful which i have heard from others.so try to control it through diet.

i too had panjeeri and i think i did right.. also doodh haldi is very helpful after delivery..this is very good to heal u laterz.i dont blame panjeeri for my weight ..that helped me alot in recovery..

weight is upto u..dont even go for diet right after ur delivery k mainay yeh nai khana wo nai khana mai diet krnay lagi hon yeh woh..right after delivery is even ur time to eat ..diet k liay to sari oomur pari hai but thats the real crucial time..right after ur delivery u do lose much weight right away..i lost round 8kgs...laikin panjeeri and doodh haldi to wakai mai lo..once u r healed then do whatever u want and yeah walk krsuktay ho ..wo slowly slowly start kro...its not a big deal...weight shedding is not a problem at all..hojata hai buss thori will-power chiyea...

mainay b buhut nukhray kiay thay panjeeri nai khani..my mom made it from pure desi ghee,nuts and some medicines which my nani jaan told my mother.they help in binding ur bones ,good for ur eyesight ,hair and pata nai kia kia..after delivery to sub kuch he dheela hojata hai.. my mum brought all those things and then ground it herself first by hand then by machine because they r so hard they may even crash the chopper blade and brought that big heap of panjeeri here to me.i used to have that in my breakfast ....

My mom makes it with besan, some herbs like kamar kas etc and lots of badam, pista, chaar maghaz and ghee :D My MIL makes it with sooji but i have never tasted it that way. The besan one wasnt so bad.

Muniya, you should tell your friend to eat atleast what she used to eat before the pregnancy. I am sure she doesnt realise how it cannot be good for the baby.

^ mine made it with badam, pistay, sooji halva, raisins and coconut… :hinna:

sorry if this is harsh, but tell your friend to stop being such a moron and playing with her baby's health... is she so vain that she can't/won't understand how her diet will affect the baby?? is common sense not enough to make her start eating better and looking after herself and the baby she's been blessed with?
i have never heard of someone being so hopeless... and frankly, if her baby is born underweight or underdeveloped, of which there is a good chance given that she is so anemic, not only will it be her fault, but theres a lot more fatigue and stress awaiting her- she'll lose weight at that time alright, just not the way she wants to.
i just went to a baby funeral last weekend and it was the saddest thing i've ever been to... its heartbreaking to think that the couple who really loved their baby and wanted him so very much, lost him to some rare genetic mutation, but this girl who has every possibility of having a healthy, happy baby is throwing it away so casually because she's afraid of being fat.
has she never heard of a gym?? can she not go on a healthy diet after the baby is born??

^^ Ditto!

Wow, I’m really shocked to hear about your friend Muniya.

If she’s so worried about weight, why doesn’t she eat normally and exercise now? You are supposed to exercise, lightly, during pregnancy. What’s good for you is also good for the baby. She can go swimming, go for walks. Exercising during pregnancy will make delivery easier (apparently, so I have read), and will also help her body get back into shape quicker after delivery. Also, if she breast feeds, that alone will make her lose weight.

If she doesn’t want milk, she can eat supplements or calcium substitutes like cheese … only certain hard cheeses cause the soft ones are more likely to have listeria which is really harmful for the baby.

Just cause your pregnant, it doesn’t mean that you HAVE to eat everything fatty and unhealthy. Is that what she thinks? She can eat normal, healthy foods which are good for her and her child.

What does her husband say? Is her family saying anything?

Fatigue is normal in the first trimester. From my understanding, the second trimester is when you get a burst of energy, but again she will be exhausted again during the third trimester. So that isn’t what would concern me … but her eating habits would.

Are there any foods she likes? Like salmon? Baked chicken? She can eat healthy stuff like that which is good for her and the baby. Salad alone is not good … and even then, she HAS TO make it herself, cause you don’t know if when you eat out, the salads are even washed properly and can have so much bacteria in them still which WILL hurt the baby.

She can even eat sauteed veggies and potatoes. Both of which are good for her and her baby. She can have a bowl of mixed fruit with her breakfast. Papaya is supposed to ease nausea …

and to the other girls … Panjeri is DELICIOUS!!! :yummy:

good points...

Muniya
Was it a planned pregnancy?

I think loosing weight after the miscarriage is the worst. I’m struggling with myself too.

I think the body doesnt go full circle and then the depression. Its really hard!!

I do want to kick her sometimes.
She is really being stupid - Allah mian ussai akaal dey ameen. And mujai hastha kheltha nephew from her.

** Hareem** yeh I think it was planned. Like I said there is a huge complex about wieght. I think she thinks that her marriage is contingent on her appearence to a very dramatic point

hey muniya,

i'm so glad that you're looking out for your friend and trying to drill some sense into her :)

in one of your posts you mentioned that she believes her marriage is contingent upon her good figure. aside from the nausea of pregnancy, this may very well be the reason why she's not eating properly. i can totally understand that she's worried about gaining weight. we're women...it's sort of in our dna.

i'd suggest that someone sit her husband down, and explain to him, how sensitive her diet issue is. he needs to REASSURE her that she can gain the extra 20 lbs of pregnancy and he'll still love her, body and all. having a little fat makes many women feel vulnerable, and they'll go to any extremes for some self-esteem. in the case of being pregnant, its harmful for the baby and the mom.

her husband needs to see the food pyramid, discuss with his wife what foods they both like, and go from there. as a friend you've obviously tried your best, but coming from a spouse...it'll hopefully get through to her soon.

Drinking milk is important for her, because it will help in milk production for her baby during breastfeeding, i used to drink atleast five cups of milk then i got able to feed my baby for whole day, i feel relax when baby sucks milk and milk is enough there in my breasts.
2. during pregency always wear loose bra and dresses.

WOW, i cant believe that she is playing with her as well as her baby's health. She needs to be strong andhealthy for delivery too. I do pray that Allah bless her with healthy baby and all go smooth for her, i dont want to scare u or her , but delivery itself is very ricky anything can happen. As with my 2nd delivery i lost so much blood and i had postpartum hamrage (i think spelling r wrong).If i would have been that anemic before then i dont think i would have survive.
I think this is her first baby , do tell her that for the first pregnancy u loose weight pretty quickly. Like for mine first i was able to fit in my prepragnancy clothes after 3 1/2 months of delivery and i gained more weight than u suppose to gain in pregnancy.
many people suggested here like baked chicken, grilled chicken, etc, these r good choices , she go for skim milk if not full fat milk. Pregnancy does not ask for to eat high fat or high carb foods but eat sensible.
I hope she gets to understand how impotant it is to eat balanced diet for her baby's health and for her offcourse.
Good Luck

If one of the reasons for not eating is nausea, she can get prescription med from her doctor. It's supposed to be the safest to take during pregnancy, and as a bonus, it helps you sleep better. I sort of see where your friend is coming from. And although I have and do worry about the same thing, I haven't 'not' eaten because of it. I wasn't able to eat much during my first trimester, but that was basically due to nausea. I still haven't put on much weight (in my 5th month), but according to my doctor, I'm doing fine.

What I've seen around me is that most ladies end up putting on most of their pregnancy weight in their last month or so, and I doubt there's any way around it. I'm sure your friend knows all this comes with pregnancy, so instead of worrying, just accept it. Both she and the baby need her to be healthy. It doesn't mean she has to have fatty foods. Eat the right kind of food, fruit, veges, etc., and instead of having a big meal, have smaller meals, which is supposed to help nausea too.

is panjeeri really beneficial????? i mean does it really help after the baby???? wat if somebody hates nuts and other stuff...can they grind it???

Any update on her?

Who sara? My friend?

Yeah.