So I’ve been thinking right… Is it like necessary to have proper cooking skills before you get married? I mean, Alhamdulillah i can cook the basic things and stuff, but i dont think i’d be able to make the difficult dishes without ruining them first.
And make a fool out of my self in front of my MIL… It’s not like she will mind, but still.. Or is it something that you learn as time passes?
Also who was still studying when they got married, and how did you combine it with married life and taking care of the house and hubby? Does ur expectation of married life before marriage match with what it is right now?
Re: Pre-marriage and After-marriage
if its that important and your willing to learn (from your mil or elsewhere) then you will be ok
It is necessary? No. But it's good to know how to cook. My mom learned after getting married. I learned when I was a teen.
Hm, sometimes i regret not listening to my mom. Cuz now that the time is coming i’m freaking out. She taught me well, but there’s alot more i would want to learn from mom.. i think i will ask her from tomorrow on. :halo:
It is necessary? No. But it's good to know how to cook. My mom learned after getting married. I learned when I was a teen.
That's really good.. :) It's defo good know how to, it only makes ur life easier doesnt it... mujhai abhi ehsas ho raha hai.
One must learn before, so that one is not greek, after that, one can always improvise with life :)
When you make nihari or biryani in the beginning ,make bhindi gosht or kaddo key bhujia too as a fall back plan , I guarantee you they would prefer to eat your nihari or biryani no matter how bad it looks or turns out to be.:)
:@:I'll keep that in mind, thanks for the advice Mirch. That will definitely work, since i know my hubby to be isn't too keen on kaddu!
I am/was still studying when I got married. At the time of marriage, I just knew some basic dishes but my hubby is excellent in cooking so we managed. In fact I learned a lot of my cooking from him. I think its just something you learn overtime and ofcourse there are always shaan masalay :biggthumb.
Aaah.. that's cute. Mash'Allah.. :) My honay wala bhi.. he knows how to cook, so i might have to learn some cooking from him too :p
So how did you manage to combine studies and married life? Didn't you come across any problems?
i didnt eveb know how to make an egg when i got married i still duno how to make roti maps bun jate hein mujhse n m married for 4 yrs n have 2 kids lolz diff is i dun have my in laws living with me. but even then my husband dun mind alot i learned cooking from my husband n his phupi lolzz
Sometimes it's better to just learn AFTER u get married, from ur MIL, esp if the guy is very picky abt his food, at least u can cook it to his liking.
I didn't do a single thing before I was married, my mom never even let me near the stove.....so it was a learning experience :D Even when I was with my in laws i didn't do any cooking, just cut veggies and cleaned and watched. But now I can cook, sometimes ill ask my mom for a recipe and sometimes my MIL depending on the dish.. I'm also studying, i can't say its impossible, but im managing.. but right now i have a really easy schedule. It also helps that my husband is very supportive and will eat pretty much whatever i make, or even make something himself sometimes.
i didn't really know much before i got married, and a year of marriage later, still don't know much! i'm a baker, not a chef... baking is much more fun and a hobby for me, but having said that, i am starting to realize the value of knowing how to cook. basically, i miss all the mom-food and i want to learn how to make it so i can console myself in between the yearly parental visits :) the hubs is very simple in his food requests- it must have meat, it must have carbs lol
i find its really a question of finding time to cook after work and on weekends in between all the other errands/chores... i know i should move it up my priority list, but sometimes its just easier to go out and eat!
i wouldn't worry too much about it, gemini. newlywed's tend to get more leeway from inlaws and you're studying... iA there won't be crazy pressure on you to host elaborate dawats. you'll be fine! know the basics of daal, chawal, and saalan, and you'll pick up the rest along the way.
if you have a very accepting and nice mil, then you could learn from her aswell!
my mom however was expected to know how to cook and everything from her mil, so she kinda freaked. cause of that, i'd wanna learn before hand :S
it totally depends on your husband and your in laws (if u will be living with them)...
some dont care if the girl doesnt know how to cook cuz the guy may know how, or the mil doesnt mind teaching the girl.. i have quite a few friends who knew how to cook before marriage but had to relearn it ALL cuz the food tastes in their susraals were so very different.. but their mother in laws taught them their way of cooking
now if u happen to go into a family where they expect u to know and dont want to have to teach, then its best you know a lot of dishes beforehand.
i knew how to cook before marriage and after i got married, i learned some special dishes my husband loves, from my MIL... but its no problem for me, knowing how to cook cuz the food tastes in my susral and maica are exactly the same..
and its a myth that MIL's have problems with the daughter in law cocerning the cooking.. i have quite a few friends who live alone with their husbands and they didnt know how to cook premarriage... and boy do they get to hear about it from their men.
so in a nutshell, totally depends on what kinda ppl u will be with :)
p.s) on a side note, i dont know why in this age and time, ppl still dont know how to cook.. what exactly are these ppl eating?! why NOT learn how to cook??? what do u expect to do once u grow up and leave home, eat out everyday?
^ sadly that’s what i’ve been doing for the past few years. And before we get started on the health thing, even home food is not always the healthiest, esp all teh biryanis and oily salans and stuff (but boy are they good!)…but now i’m not alone i have a good influence around me now ![]()
me no use those ![]()
its there… its coming… u cant avoid it … ![]()
I am sure they are eating the same stuff that most desi husbands grew up eating, with no urgency to really grow up and leave their parents’ home after marriage. ![]()
or maybe like me, they are hoping to move in with in laws that can cook. ![]()
or they could be working hard towards building a great career so that they can hire/import a maid to cook. ![]()