PPP Sindh's racist leader Zulfiqar Mirza's remarks mocking ALL Urdu speaking people

Re: PPP Sindh's racist leader Zulfiqar Mirza's remarks mocking ALL Urdu speaking peop

I apologize for my earlier post which was written in ignorance.. nobody has the right to undermine/mock any Pakistani citizen irrespective of ethnicity/color/breed/religion/whatsoever grounds.

If the state looks after some fellow Pakistanis at the time of need, it's nobody's personal favor to any one. Nobody has the right to call a community "bhookay nangay".. Our Urdu speaking community has big contribution to the development of our country.. they are no lesser citizens.. If they feel angry on such remarks I believe they are fully justified.. and the rest of Pakistanis I am sure are with them against any racist attitude.. On this forum I assure our urdu speaking brothers and sisters that everyone will be standing with them if ever someone tries to mock/degrade/insult them... and we feel equally angry at these hate remarks against them..

Re: PPP Sindh's racist leader Zulfiqar Mirza's remarks mocking ALL Urdu speaking peop

Yaar Khoji, hum Urdu speaker ek mahaan quom. If a street dog barks, then let him bark. The problem is 15 people have died, and more may die. Its time to move on. I can write a six volume encyclopedia on the contribution of Uttar Pardesi Musalmans contribution to this country. But, unlike Mirza, we are a people who have always been tolerant of others. So we should now learn tolerate people like Mirza. It would show our clear cultural superiority over the likes of Mirza and Shahi Syed.

Re: PPP Sindh’s racist leader Zulfiqar Mirza’s remarks mocking ALL Urdu speaking peop

Sain,

The point is after severe communal violence in places like Aligarh, Meerut and Delhi, did you expect us to come with gold and silver. The Indian borders would loot anything of value.

Why don’t your protest against your caste ridden feudal and backward political culture that has created the PPP, instead of attacking the most productive element of the Sindhi population.

No Chaudry Sahib, its our homeland, not jageer. You are confusing us with Sindhis and Seraikis, who have jageers. We are tolerant democratic people who have welcomed everyone to our city.

Common ppl always show their tolerant behavior unlike political parties who put everything on stake just for the sake of power.

We should respect each others cultures to prove that we also belong to good cultural roots. No culture is superior than other. I don't want to go in details, but saying something against culture of one group does nothing except creating hatred.

Re: PPP Sindh’s racist leader Zulfiqar Mirza’s remarks mocking ALL Urdu speaking peop

Good article in Dawn about why all this happening.http://www.dawn.com/2011/07/15/darkness-engulfs-the-city-of-lights.html

THE politicians can’t figure out Karachi, the generals can’t figure out relations with the US — sometimes it really does feel like if this place is ever to be saved, it will be despite us, not because of us.
The City of Lights by the sea has gone dark but for the flames of violence dancing across the city. Zulfiqar Mirza’s astonishing, ugly outburst has been denounced as madness. But was it?
Some think it was more diabolical than mad. Here’s why.
The election cycle is about to kick off soon and for months now the various parties have been jockeying for position, preparing
for an uncertain electoral contest.
Karachi is a prize, of course, and the MQM, ANP and PPP have been tussling over it ever since the 2008 elections. But lucrative as Karachi may be, it isn’t the main goal of the PPP, interior Sindh is. By throwing down the gauntlet to the MQM in Karachi, Zulfi Mirza was hoping to pick up the Sindh card with voters in interior Sindh.
Confused? Mirza isn’t; he thinks he has a plan.
Going into the next election the PPP will have to work with two handicaps. One, its record in office hasn’t exactly been stellar,
to put it mildly, and historically the jiyala has stayed at home when he’s been disgruntled and unhappy.
Two, to gain power in Islamabad, the PPP cut a deal with the MQM, a betrayal in the minds of the Sindhi voter who is a nationalist and views the MQM with acute suspicion.
How do you overcome those two handicaps?
Zulfi Mirza wouldn’t know about governance if it came and smacked him in the head. But he does know about fear and the psychological levers that can be used to manipulate an electorate. The three years in bed with the MQM can’t be erased in the mind of the Sindhi voter, but they can be atoned for — at least that’s what Mirza’s plan is.
Sindh will be divided over my dead body — when Mirza said that he was at once stoking the fears and suspicions of Sindhi nationalists and trying to position the PPP as the true defender of the Sindhi nation, as opposed to the other Sindhi nationalists
who the PPP will have to fight in the next election.
But it doesn’t stop at rhetoric.
Zulfi Mirza has led the PPP’s Sindh chapter into an alliance with the thuggish ANP forces of Karachi to push back against and break the stranglehold of the MQM over Karachi, particularly through re-demarcation.
It’s a bizarre sight for long-term observers of Karachi/Sindh politics and a grim indicator of just how cutthroat politics has become: Sindhi nationalists have historically been critical of the influx of settlers from the country but now the PPP is courting those very Sindhi nationalists by making common cause with the Pakhtun settler against the Urdu-speaking one.
If that wasn’t enough fire for Mirza to play with, his overtures to Afaq Ahmad are even more incendiary. Afaq Ahmad is loathed by the MQM and with Mirza calling him the true leader of the Mohajir community, the MQM’s worst fears are being realised: that the MQM-Haqiqi is being revived to try and smash the MQM as it once was in the mid-1990s.
It’s about as ugly as politics can get. Mirza’s ANP and Haqiqi gambits to try and wrest Karachi away from the MQM are rooted in the PPP’s desperation to prove its Sindhi nationalist credentials to the Sindhi voter.
Of course, there’s the small matter of Karachi sliding towards chaos and anarchy and its population cowering in fear. But of such stuff are elections and politics made, at least in Zulfi Mirza’s world.
The irony is the PPP and ANP, had they been led in Sindh by less cynical and ruthless figures, had genuine reason to complain about the MQM’s dominance of Karachi.
The great untold story of the Musharraf era is what happened in Karachi on his watch.
From Musharraf’s perspective, what strengthened the MQM strengthened him because of his fear of the Sindh/PPP card. So the party was given free rein of the city, going from fierce, scrappy competitor to overlord — an ominous shift in the balance of power in a volatile city like Karachi where an uneasy truce had held between the big two populations, the Mohajirs and the Pakhtuns, for many years.
The Pakhtuns got a particularly rough deal in the 2000s. Threatened by the influx of Pakhtuns migrants to the city during the decade and concerned that the traditionally divided Pakhtuns of Karachi would gravitate towards the brash, upstart Shahi Syed — the provincial ANP leader who aspires to carving out his own little fiefdoms in the city — the MQM tried hard to squeeze the settlers from the north.
The Pakhtuns and Mohajirs aren’t direct competitors in Karachi, though. One is middle-class and educated; the other is largely poor, unskilled labour. That was partially what allowed the rickety truce between the two communities to hold for many years.
But if the MQM has been unfair to Pakhtuns, from amidst the Pakhtuns in the city have risen elements that want a share of all the rackets Karachi has to offer — land, transport, drugs, smuggling, etc — and are fighting for it under the guise of party and ethnic politics. And now you have people like Mirza trying to put the MQM to the sword and re-demarcate Karachi in a way that appeals to the Sindhi vote bank.
Karachi should brace itself for more upheaval in the weeks and months ahead. n

As killing thousands who disagree with them, you actually claim MQM is tolerant of other people??? :rotfl: :rotfl:

Your city?? :rotfl: Good joke!

There are millions in Karachi who know your line is bakwas.

When did I say the MQM, I said Urdu speakers. Where is your evidence that we as an ethnic group are involved in killing. Thats always been my point about those who dislike the MQM, actually disalike Muhajirs. They cannot differentiate between the two. I fear that we are about to see organized extermination of the Urdu speaking community. Farrukh Saleem made it clear in yesterday’s Capittal Talk that Muhajirs have to accept the demographic reality or else. Well what I will say to Mr Saleem and Co, better watch your words or you might end up with a civil war.

Actually milloins of Pashtuns, Sindhis, Baluchis, Punjabis, Hindkowan and Seraiki come to Karachi for jobs. They know that Urdu speakers, note I said Urdu speakers, not a political party are tolerant. Chaudry Sahib, its time to apologise to this community for sixty years persecution and intolerance.

When you post in support of the MQM, everyone knows you are a MQM supporter.

As for 'extermination of Muhajirs', stop talking bakwas, your 'I am a victim' mentality fools no one.

Are you accepting MQM is not tolerant? They can also claim that Karachi people were tolerant towards Urdu speaking people coming in, settling there, creating a terrorist organization and now that organization is claiming the city as their 'jageer', giving ultimatums to people to leave the city!

A person gives a statement against a 'political' leader, and butchers start killing.
A 'leader' asks them to stop... killings stop.
I wonder who is oppressor and who is oppressed. How many people would you kill to make a political point?

So you persit with your argument that Urdu speakers as an ethno national grouping are responsible for the killing.

Its because of people like you why I support the MQM.

Kaka,

So you agree with him that Urdu speakers are Nange and Bhuke. Don't hide behind politics, if you have a prejudice, spit it out. I respect someone who is direct and honest. Lets not talk about politics, this was an attack on an ethnic community.

[note]Keep your tempers low.. and avoid any ethnic profiling.. otherwise I'll be forced to close this thread..!!![/note]

Will you please avoid personal attacks? Who says so? But the person whom I have responded earlier thought or implied so. My backward political culture is much superior to your mqm killing culture. Your so called educated middul class with so called superiror culture destroyed the the very fabric of most advanced and peaceful city even before partition. I am born, raised, educated, competed with your talented middul class people and excelled in Karachi. Please don't give me any sermon like above.

I don't agree with him. Those were degrading remarks. But I won't go on a killing spree if someone said that my forefathers were bhookay nangay when they came to Pakistan. And killing innocent people would be even worse. There's no difference between Taliban (who kill innocent people cuz of their resentment) and these people (who kill innocent people cuz of their resentment).

What a sick mentality.

These people left their money and belongings in India to move to land THEY fought for along side of course people of Areas included in Pakistan. These people were robbed, raped and killed on their way to land they fought for unlike people who were in Muslim majority area they were migrating too. These people fought along side people of areas included in Pakistan knowingly that their area will not be included in Pakistan.

least you can do is show some respect instead of supporting badmash Mirza’s statement. Criticizm on MQM, Altaf Hussain and their criminal way to deal things is understandable but…

@khan

May be u dont know u are engaging yourself realy Nasal Parast peoples the few above and few others they aint give u a damn postive discussion so better ignored them and save your time:D:

Sain,

This is rich coming from you, after you posted those pictures of desperate refugees, escaping with there life. You seem to be the only poster who has not condemned Mirza.

Karachi was a Sindhi Hindu city, a hard working community that I respect. If it was paradise, it was bercause of the Sindhi Hindus, Parsis, Jews and Armenians who made it so. What has destroyed Karachi is six decades of federal negligence, and not the Urdu speakers. And I have noty attacked Sindhis, so please refrain from attacking my nation.