another theory.
ifti does not get to be SC, he gets presidency.
kyun, chalay ga?
another theory.
kyun, chalay ga?
another theory.
kyun, chalay ga?
I guess first they have to find a reason why Zardari should not be the President and everyone else can??
i personally think Zadari should be the president so we can see the end of PPP or the Bhuttoo dynasty..
And how come that would be?? Care to explain? Sharif dynasty hasn't gone down the drains yet, despite having two biggest thugs amongst many in the family and party.
Re: PPP proposes zardari as president.
Zardari leads Pakistan president race
By Farhan Bokhari in Islamabad
Published: August 20 2008 20:06 | Last updated: August 20 2008 20:06
Asif Ali Zardari, widower of Benazir Bhutto, the assassinated former prime minister, and co-chairman of her Pakistan People’s party (PPP), is emerging as the frontrunner to become the country’s next president after receiving the support of a key opposition party.
Wajid Shamsul Hasan, Pakistan’s high commissioner to the UK, told the Financial Times on Wednesday that the Muttahida Qaumi Movement, Pakistan’s second-largest opposition party, had decided to back Mr Zardari. “They feel that Mr Zardari will be the best candidate for the country. He will keep the federation together and promote harmony as well as national unity,” said Mr Hasan.
Based in Karachi, the MQM’s support potentially gives Mr Zardari added clout with large business and financial houses based in the commercial capital.
“The way Mr Zardari handled the issue of [president Pervez Musharraf’s] resignation is really admirable,” said Altaf Hussain, the London-based leader of the MQM in a statement on Wednesday.
The position of the president became vacant on Monday when Mr Musharraf resigned to avoid facing likely proceedings in parliament to impeach him.
His departure ended the nine-year rule of a largely pro-western ruler and a key figure in Washington’s war on terror. Mr Musharraf’s close association with the US was partly responsible for his widespread unpopularity and ultimate downfall.
A senior western diplomat in Islamabad said on Wednesday night that, given the PPP’s credentials as a liberal political party, Mr Zardari’s presidency would appeal to the US and its European partners. The western nations would feel some discomfort if the position went to Nawaz Sharif, leader of the Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz – the second main party in the ruling coalition – who is known to have had links with Islamist politicians.
“Right now, the US is keen to allow a more populist figure to come to take charge. Zardari may have been tainted with corruption allegations in the past, but the PPP also has an image – an image of tolerance and liberal values,” said one.
Three other politicians mentioned as likely candidates this week include Fahmida Mirza, speaker of the lower house of parliament, Faryal Talpur, a PPP politician and Mr Zardari’s sister, and Aftab Shaban Mairani, a former PPP defence minister. But party leaders said Mr Zardari’s decision to run would probably mean that none of them would stand against him.
The presidential election has to take place within 30 days from the day Mr Musharraf stepped down.
Meanwhile, western diplomats in Islamabad said last night they expected Mr Musharraf to leave Pakistan within days, possibly for Saudi Arabia to perform a pilgrimage to Mecca before going to the UK where he is expected to settle.
FT.com / Asia-Pacific / Pakistan - Zardari leads Pakistan president race
Could it be final nail in PPP's coffin?
i know u want to say 'lo gayee bhains paani mein' but I dont think that is the case, for all intents and purposes PPP is the only national party, even if it was hurt it will stillo be strong enough to be either the choice partner for a coalition govt or a formidable opposition. the rumours of PPP's demise are greatly exxgerated. If the party can survive the dynastic handover to bilawajah zardari aka bilawajah bhutto-hyphen-zardari, it can survive expected shenenigens from das-feesad-fasad
so it is happening now.
From Jinnah to Zardari, we have come a long way ... not sure abt the direction though.
Yes gone from high to low.
well all be democratic, respect the Pakistan people and make him head of state, dont be ashamed of his past.
welcome to democracy! Pakistani people atlast earned it!
a polititian is better than a dictator
^If A Politician Become A Dictator Then ???![]()
^ is not a Wadera a dictator then?
Yes he is.
so we are replacing one "dictator" with the other kind of tator!!!!!
If Musharaf was a dictator the AZ is the biggest terrorist in Asia
subhan Allah kis terha log judge kertay haen aik dusray ko!!!!
Musharaf was 1 million% better than this jahil, traitor and serial killer AZ!!!!!!
And nawaz sharif and shebaz sharif bhi kam nahi hain. Jaisa ke main pehle kaha. Ke yeh sirf naam ke sharif hain waise bilkul apne naam ke opposite hain.
politician, atleast u can get rid of them after 2 years in power
come thru a demopcratic way, u can vote against em. u can criticize em
dictator, comes overnite
cant get rid of for decade and after way too much suffering and struggle
politician, atleast u can get rid of them after 2 years in power come thru a demopcratic way, u can vote against em. u can criticize em
I believe that Zulfikar Ali Bhutto's victims would disagree with your claim that you can criticize politicans. He would have his opponents beaten and tortured.
Robert bhai, can you please share your thoughts on the MQM recommending AZ as the president?
^^yar wo zamana gya
now media can keep an eye on that
u can see what happened to mush when got irrational