PPP proposes zardari as president.

:eek:

I am speechless.

Just heard it on GEO.

Re: PPP proposes zardari as president.

Pir sahib ki khawahish poori ho gayi!

Altaf Bhai will finnaly come back home if Zardari became president. :P :)

Sir Winston Churchill once said "Democracy is the worst form of government, except for all those other forms that have been tried from time".

If Zardari becomes President, I will be forced to conclude that Sir Winston was wrong.

so it is happening now.

From Jinnah to Zardari, we have come a long way ... not sure abt the direction though.

Her shakh per ullo baithta ja raha hay
Anjam a Pakistan kia ho ga

I know the correct shair but decided to modify it to make it fit for the situation.

Zardari will never opt for presidentship. If he is as cunning as expected, he would avoid the spotlight at all costs. He will most likely have a weakling on the throne, and run the whole show in the background.

Khair yeh to aik adna sa nazariya hai. dekhte hain Hazrat Zardari Rematullah Pakistan kay haq main kiya faisla karte hain.

Kuch bhi ho daku zardari ne tuo lootna chahe woh kisi bhi post per ho.

I always thought that Zardari should not be put in prison, if no charge is proven against him. He spent many years behind bars, while court could not prove anything against him. That was unfair, however, to reward him like this, is another extreme and atleast as bad, if not worst.

I think Zardari would be a good president.

ISLAMABAD: Pervez Musharraf seems to be enjoying himself. One day after he resigned as Pakistan’s]('Out of office, Mush plays tennis and unwinds with Mohd Rafi' - Times of India) president to avoid the humiliation of impeachment, he was playing tennis and relaxing with family and friends at his army-guarded residence, a close aide said.

“He was in a good mood, very relaxed,” said Tariq Azim, who was among 30 supporters who gathered at the house outside Islamabad on Wednesday. “We used to meet him there in the past, but with no official duties, he was completely different.”

He spent time listening to the songs of Mohammed Rafi and mingling with family and friends. The day started with breakfast with his family and Musharraf was relaxed because there was no hurry of going to office on time, the *News *reported.

He listened to songs by Rafi in the evening, including his favourite “Chal Urr Jaa Rey Panchhi”. He called a friend and reportedly told him: “I am here, I will not run away. I am not a panchhi (bird) who will fly away from Pakistan.”

“My resignation as president does not not reflect my defeat as I resigned in the interest of Pakistan and its people,” he was quoted as saying by *Geo News *channel. He described as “baseless” the reports that he would move to US after a pilgrimage]('Out of office, Mush plays tennis and unwinds with Mohd Rafi' - Times of India) to Mecca.

As he watched TV, with channels beaming the celebrations by the public on his departure, he smilingly commented that “all these TV- *wallahs *will be taught great lessons by Zardari and Nawaz Sharif soon”.

they voted for’em… they deserve’em :sadaf:

Can you comment on the MQM wholeheartedly recommending him for presidency?

hmmm maybe zardari will say no and offer the position to nawaz as a grand gesture, with Nawaz then becoming a figurehead president. I think of thetwo Nawaz has more of an ego and more showboating tendencies..zardari seems a bit more like darth sidious, staying in the background and letting his dark apperentice do the dirty work for him. But I could be wrong.

at the end of the day, zardari is smart...question is can he turn that evil genius into some positive outcome for the nation. I always thought he was smarter than BB (and more corrupt.) but understood the country and people better.

I don't see the military accepting Nawaz Sharief as president.

true dat

Where are the charges against Zardari now??

But if PPP won the elections then shouldn't they be the ones deciding over his name for presidency. Isn't this a part of democracy??

If none of thes cases were proved against him then why do we want to keep him out of the government??

Aren't similar cases against Nawaz Sharif and company. How come they can be accepted in this government??

He has spent many many years of his life in the jail and away from his family, if none of these cases were proved against him, who is responsible for these years of his life??

I think if we don't have authentic answers to above questions then we shouldn't have any issue with him being nominated for the presidency.

Zardari would be kind of dancing in a minefield. I think he is more despised by the army....Don't know which side would he gravitate to, Army or West, in order to get entrenched in his position as the president...If West started backing him strongly like it did in the case of Musharaf, he may meet the same or rather adverse fate...Further, stronger or popular leaders have historically caused very strong backlash in certain parts of Pakistan...We shouldn't forget Liaqat Ali Khan, Bhutto, Shiekh Mujib, Benazir, and recently Musharaf....Don't know whether to include Junejo and Ghulam Ishaq Khan in this list or not....

Makhdoom Ameen Faheem should have been a better choice...

Having said that, the situation reminds me of the last words of First Prime Minister of Pakistan, Khan Liaquat Ali Khan:

Allah Pakistan kee hifaazat karay

you are right. Also US will not like NS as president, based on his previous record of trying to be KHALIFA..

Yar, Nawaz Sharif may be a good businessman but doesn't seem to have good intellect or political acumen...The guy also seems to be radicalised and having those shadowy OBL connectionsL...He is like mesmarized with Saudi Arab or Dubai style economic/political model and Arab values...May try to emulate it if ever he came to power...

If Zardari tried to play foul, that may arouse strong reaction in certain parts of Pakistan, especially Punjab...