PPP leader calls for Seraiki province

Re: PPP leader calls for Seraiki province

The present-day provincial setup of Pakistan has its origins from the British
era. The British rulers drew boundaries of provinces not based on ethnic
demographics, but the politics of that era for their interests. As has always been
the case, the ethnic demographics have also evolved since 1947. In reality, the
current provincial setup of Pakistan is artificial. The large southern region of
“Punjab” is Seraiki, its southwest is Baluchi, and northwest Hindkowi. The huge
northeast part of “NWFP” is Hindkowi, and the north is Khowari/Shina/etc.
Almost half of “Baluchistan” is Pakhtun (northern part), with pockets of Brauhis
the central region and Jats/etc. in the southeast. Almost half of “Sindh” is
Urdu-speaking (urban areas). Not to mention the countless Afghan, Central Asian,
Iranian, Bengalee, etc. refugees, and inter-ethnic migrations in various parts
of the country. Yahoo | Mail, Weather, Search, Politics, News, Finance, Sports & Videos

wah, wah kyaa kamaal kee baat hai, abb to mujhay bhee Indian buna diya hai
My ancestors lived in Chakwal since as far back as our history is remembered, where are you from again?

Understand something, and get your 3rd world mentality our of your head. Somebody who disagrees with you does not necessarily want Pakistan to be destroyed. I am a Punjabi and I will tell you that adjustments must be made to the federal system to bring balance and please people from smaller provinces. If this does not happen you damage the entire unit.

I agree with your comments syedpk, you seem to be a good and thinking Pakistani. The only problem with these sort of politicians is that they sometimes raise these issues simply to make THEIR presence felt. They usually hype up these kind of issues and take advantage of it.

Let's for example say that an unknown politcian who belongs to southern Punjab feels that Southern Punjab is being ignored and people of that side are well aware of that and concerned about it as well. Just imagine how much popularity he will get if he starts a campaign against rest of punjab and uses this issue to actually promote himelf.

That's why i hate the people like Bugti who is using the situation for his own cause more than anything, if he was sincere about prosperity of the province, he wouldn't ask them to take arms and start a war. Everyone knows Balochistan being a small province has been neglected but things are definitely improving and if funds given to Balochistan are spent properly, their living standards will inshallah improve.

I have to agree with you as well, the sheer brainlessness of some of these posters is embarassing for Pakistan

But what will be the use of such a province when even the current provinces are powerless to act without blessings of the army government. We need to correct that first.

I think creating/naming/modifying any province based on ethnicity will only open up a pandora box. Pakistan will be better off if the current provincial setup is replaced with one that is non-ethnic in nature… may be based on districts or else.

Interesting how people trash the concept of devolution of power using the financial argument..Pakistans existing system is so top heavy with babus and faujis that one wonders if peoples complaints are misplaces. In 1970 we had about 2,500 gazetted officers and about 12 generals. Now we have more than 125 generals and over 12,000 bureaucrats.

Zakk, amazing is'nt it. The need for so many bureaucrats in a country whose governance is painfully and terminally inefficient. They should line them up and shoot em all, expecially the generals.

I will call for a province for Mullah Jatts now :D I will be the chief minister and I will call it Mujawallah :D

I agree with what you wrote about bugti.He is not at all sincere with the people of balochistan his past record suggests that.when he was the governor of balochistan in the 70s there was a full scale military operation in the province.He has already taken billions of rupees from the government and lives like a king.

Thats why I gave names of the MNAs of seraiki areas and not the nationalist seraikis like taj mohammed langah etc.

yeah there are also these so-called nationalists who exploit situations for their cause and personal gains.

Well said malik saab

If we dont count the colonels who are also alloted residential plots and agricultural lands. A Major General or above will atleast be alloted a plot in cities like karachi,lahore and islamabad/pindi.A plot of 500 yards has a current market value of around 200 million and above in defence housing authority of karachi.A major general and having around Rs 500 million plus in forms of plots etc which is all legitimate not to mention their under the table deals.Same goes for bureaucrats who make millions with their corruption.

And you want to give yet another excuse to add more baboos? strange!

Governmental power rests with those who can tax and generate revenues. If we really want to move power out of capital cities, we ought to be willing to accept our locals as lords (the one who can tax us).

Our problem is that we don't want our local lords. We keep on killing our local lords, until a more powerful, more vicious replace those who we kill or destroy.

We as nation kill or destroy our politicians or force them to take $tupid stances. Our violent approach begets violence and the cycle of death continues on.

Let's suppose Feds tax us at the rate of 40%. Why our reps not working hand in glove with Feds to take 2% of those taxes down to local level? How many such bills have been tabled so far? What's the role senator or MNAs on this?

p.s. People who talk about cutting down length, breadth, or girth of either Sindh or Punjab by creating Mohajirstan, or Siraikistan are surely suffering from a disease shall we say "length envy". If we allow these $tupid demands to go through our country will soon be left with bunch of mutilated body parts in the style of once famous surgeon called "Lorina Bobbit".