Potty training

So my choti is potty trained now at 2 yrs and 8 months of age. She is all set. It took me about 3 weeks of consistent effort, first by keeping her without a diaper and taking her to the bathroom every 15 mins, then after a few days, a longer interval and she got the hang of it. Now even when she wears pull ups going out, she likes to go to a bathroom.

Share your stories people and give all the new parents some hope and tips.

Re: Potty training

We are currently in the state of Martial-law at home as my 3 years old's training is underway. She is at the stage that she has stopped doing it in pull ups now most probably next week, we will have her not wear pull up at home. This weekend, i have to roll all the "Irani Qaleens" of the apt :)

Although our little one is more quick in learning things, our elder one (who is almost 7 now) got trained in record 4 days of course that took a lot from mother including a chitrool in my absence:(

^ lol @chitrool.

As my sisters son started to do potty anywhere all of a sudden and before he never did potty anywhere since he was too young. So Once when she come to visit and he started to do same she asked him to go to the toilet although he was 2 years old so I asked her to leave him with me and I'll train him.

She said how you would do that I said leave it to me.

What I did keep asking him after sometimes do you want to go to toilet he didn't answer once I hold him from his waist took to the toilet and ask to sit we was standing and not sitting so what I did I put my hands on his shoulders and start pressuring to sit then he sat and said You can't get up until you do something. LOL

Toilet jaany say pehlay kaha chappal pehno us nain naheen pehna main nain uski tangain uthain aur chappal dal di.

In 2 days he become insan. lol

Pitai kiaay baghair wo mujh say bohat darta hai.

Aap ko dekh key bechaarey ki potty khud hi nikal gayi hoye gi :D

They say not to pressurize kids otherwise they will hold their potties and get constipated. It's best to take small steps every day. But whatever works!

LOL

Naheen itna khatarnaak naheen hoon main. I'm so polite na. Wo to GS pay zara badmashi dikhata hoon. lol

Wo zaroori tha uskay liaay us waqt. lol

LOL - this reminds me of my little ones -

By the time they were both 18 months - they both wanted to be like the grown ups

Their feet so tiny tiny - but they would hold on to the sides of the toilet and enjoy their time!

Niksik - taking kids to the bathroom every 15 minutes - might be a good reminder that they are now "grown" ups and will not be wearing diapers. It's good for the child's confidence... however, try to take them after 3 hours - once they had already gone...

Every 15 minutes might be an exaggeration - but it's intimidating to the little one =)

That's what I did NJ and it worked fine. I took her the first 2 days after every 15 mins (excluding nights) and then I increased the gap to about 45 mins, then an hour and finally she started telling me herself. She was actually accident free the first week itself. She was older than you kids so she was OK with it I guess. She's all trained now.

:k: :slight_smile:

HAHAHAHAHHAHA @ Decent 6Chora, What's a chitrool?

So what's the verdict - pullups or no pullups?

I like Pullups for going out...although now my daughter has to use a bathroom and I should just let her be with regular underwear but for some reason, I feel safe with pull ups incase, just in case...for a few more days.

^good idea...

I also think pull ups can be good for night time "accidents"... although I have never purchased it for my own kids... I usually wake them up in the middle of the night for bathroom.

i have 2 years old kaka ,ireally need tips for potty training, and also what type toilet seat i shuld use for little one, this is my first kaka so plz tell me what should i do

I didn't use a kids seat for my younger daughter as it was easier to clean her without it. She was very comfy with the regular toilet, just put a stool under her feet.

The trick is not to rush them or put them under pressure.

what the heck is kaka?

Niksik: I never used any kiddie potty training stuff either. My kids were just comfortable "hanging" on - LOL

kaka means baby

different languages have different meaning for kaka.

For some - kaka means "uncle" - dad's brother.
For others - kaka means exactly the stuff that's found in the diaper - eww
For you - it means a babbyyyy!

best thing

during the initial days of training my 3 years old sometimes used to pee in her pull ups and when I (or her mom) do hard talk

"hey why did you do it again in diaper?"

she used to say

"oo oo baba, u r wrong. its pullup not a diaper. I am a big girl, I dont wear diaper"

haha! She's was right too! :D