Re: Potty Training
Isn't this a type of lie? we're not supposed to lie to our children..... because its not the diaper that gave her rash but its the contact of amonia in pee to the skin for a long time that creates nappy rash.
oh thank you for pointing that out. we all know that we aren't suppose to lie to not just children BUT to anyone. HOWEVER, for me IF my lie will benefit someone, will not cause harm to any other individual, and there is no other way around... i will definitely tell a lie.
As for this particular situation, diaper rash can be caused by any(or combination) of the many reasons... from the friction of diaper on baby's soft skin, or heat and moisture in the environment, or prolong contact with the wetness, urine, or poopies... to the reaction to any antibiotic your child is taking.
So instead of telling her in scientific terms that since your skin was in prolong contact with bile, urea, salts in your urine or the high pH proteases and lipases in your feces (both of which were not the case btw:)), i simply went with the fact that the diaper she was wearing was the reason of the rash. Now telling her that she was not wanted by the diaper I somehow played with her sub-conscious where every child appreciates/likes the ones (people or things) for whom they are "wanted-ones", so telling her that diaper didn't want her brought dislike of wearing diapers in her.
Aur waisay bhi... she MashAllah has her whole life to learn what causes diaper rash or why was it important for mommy to play a trick with her and to had her come out of diapers and say bye-bye to them.