Re: Potty Training
^thank you:)
Every kid is different, so every parent will tell you a different story. Experts say that the best time to potty train your child is when they are around 3 year-old. I can see the logic behind it: more rectal muscles control, more understanding of consequences or rewards, more verbal expression etc.
As to what worked for us with our first one is a unique one. She would go on potty but she was reluctant to reward the potty with any pee or poo... she was turning three when she somehow got a minor diaper rash. Since she was quite verbal she was making a big fuss about it. I told her "you got this diaper rash because diaper doesn't want to be on you anymore, thats why it bit you" :D from that day on she hated the diapers/pull ups and whenever me or hub joked with her about putting diapers back on her she would say "no diaper doesn't want me anymore and it will bite me if you will put it on me.. and then i will cry... you want me to cry????" So you see all verbal and consequence concepts kicked in to play their roles and she mastered it in just two days.
However, since every kid is different, some can be potty trained around two depending on how much you are pushing your child to achieve this milestone. One should also keep this thing in mind that achieving the going-on-the-potty milestone is just like mastering the milestones of walking or talking... they will eventually do it when they will be ready.... but the more stress you will give to the issue, the more frustration you and your kid will experience which will only delay the process.
You guys can try many ways to potty train him and can see whatever works best for you, but don't push him.. he will master it one day, 'cuz after all no kid starts his/her kindergarten in the diapers anyway.
As to what worked for us with our first one is a unique one. She would go on potty but she was reluctant to reward the potty with any pee or poo... she was turning three when she somehow got a minor diaper rash. Since she was quite verbal she was making a big fuss about it. I told her "you got this diaper rash because diaper doesn't want to be on you anymore, thats why it bit you" :D from that day on she hated the diapers/pull ups and whenever me or hub joked with her about putting diapers back on her she would say "no diaper doesn't want me anymore and it will bite me if you will put it on me.. and then i will cry... you want me to cry????" So you see all verbal and consequence concepts kicked in to play their roles and she mastered it in just two days. .
Isn't this a type of lie? we're not supposed to lie to our children..... because its not the diaper that gave her rash but its the contact of amonia in pee to the skin for a long time that creates nappy rash.
oh thank you for pointing that out. we all know that we aren't suppose to lie to not just children BUT to anyone. HOWEVER, for me IF my lie will benefit someone, will not cause harm to any other individual, and there is no other way around... i will definitely tell a lie.
As for this particular situation, diaper rash can be caused by any(or combination) of the many reasons... from the friction of diaper on baby's soft skin, or heat and moisture in the environment, or prolong contact with the wetness, urine, or poopies... to the reaction to any antibiotic your child is taking.
So instead of telling her in scientific terms that since your skin was in prolong contact with bile, urea, salts in your urine or the high pH proteases and lipases in your feces (both of which were not the case btw:)), i simply went with the fact that the diaper she was wearing was the reason of the rash. Now telling her that she was not wanted by the diaper I somehow played with her sub-conscious where every child appreciates/likes the ones (people or things) for whom they are "wanted-ones", so telling her that diaper didn't want her brought dislike of wearing diapers in her.
Aur waisay bhi... she MashAllah has her whole life to learn what causes diaper rash or why was it important for mommy to play a trick with her and to had her come out of diapers and say bye-bye to them.
oh thank you for pointing that out. we all know that we aren't suppose to lie to not just children BUT to anyone. HOWEVER, for me IF my lie will benefit someone, will not cause harm to any other individual, and there is no other way around... i will definitely tell a lie.
As for this particular situation, diaper rash can be caused by any(or combination) of the many reasons... from the friction of diaper on baby's soft skin, or heat and moisture in the environment, or prolong contact with the wetness, urine, or poopies... to the reaction to any antibiotic your child is taking.
So instead of telling her in scientific terms that since your skin was in prolong contact with bile, urea, salts in your urine or the high pH proteases and lipases in your feces (both of which were not the case btw:)), i simply went with the fact that the diaper she was wearing was the reason of the rash. Now telling her that she was not wanted by the diaper I somehow played with her sub-conscious where every child appreciates/likes the ones (people or things) for whom they are "wanted-ones", so telling her that diaper didn't want her brought dislike of wearing diapers in her.
Aur waisay bhi... she MashAllah has her whole life to learn what causes diaper rash or why was it important for mommy to play a trick with her and to had her come out of diapers and say bye-bye to them.
Well I just pointed out because I would never lie to my children or to others(adults)even for their ' benefit '. And diaper itself doesn't bite, its the pee or pooh.
And if we teach children the truth in a wise and simple way they do understand, you don't have to play tricks with their minds.
By telling them diapers bite or they don't like you, we are teaching them how to lie. They will eventually find out that diapers dont bite or diapers dont have the ability to like or dislike . Then the children will remember that once our parents lied to us, so can we.
How can we teach children not to lie if we ourselves are lying to them.
I'm going off-topic, but teaching children to always speak truth is much more important than teaching them to use toilet.
hareem sweetie tell me just one thing, do you think that you lie when you say you've got a "frost bite"???? Now according to you since frost can never bite you just like diaper, getting a "frost bite" would be a lie to children?????
I mean stop going round and round in circles over my terminology hun.... don't take the meaning as it is and try to get the idea behind it... a bite hurts and her tush was hurting. A three year old got the idea behind the "bite" thing... why is it too hard for you to grasp the concept???:)
About the lie... oh come'on, don't you let your kids watch cartoons or shows like Barney or BooBah etc... now if you are so much concerned about how much truth should your kids get, you shouldn't let them watch television either since almost all the kiddie shows are based upon imaginations and lie that don't exist in reality... see a dinosaur can't talk but Barney is not just talking.. he is singing, dancing, hugging and driving a school bus.... so aren't you teaching them lies through television... someday your kid can say that since dinosaur extinct ages ago how come my mommy was okay with me watching the liar Barney shows???
I am not saying that lying is good or one should practice lies with their children and i didn't lie to my girl..however, for me playing tricks is not a bad parenting idea... we all play tricks with kids either by rewarding/bribing them or by warning them for a negative consequence for their wrong acts.... it is just how you look at it.
Oh and about whether it is just the pee or poo that causes diaper rash or does diaper itself can cause a rash, just to increase your knowledge, here is an excerpt for you from familydoctor.org website:
What causes diaper rash?
Most diaper rashes are caused by skin irritation. **Irritation can be caused by diapers that rub against the skin**, **fit too tightly** **or** are left on for too long. Your baby's skin can also be irritated by the soap used to wash cloth diapers, or by some brands of disposable diapers or baby wipes.
.....so yeah diaper itself could be the sole cause of the diaper rash depending upon the material used in that diaper.
PS: to get the things even simpler for you:
"diaper doesn't want to be on you anymore"="diaper doesn't suit you anymore"
"diaper bit you"="diaper gave you the rash"
phew
sorry P@GL! for going off-track!
(woooo it's hard to type your username) :)
ooh i just think kids should be born toilet trained, world would be so much nicer, so little moping and baita bataya tou karo.
One should start potty training as old as one month.
My sister started training her son when he was a month old.
Tips: everytime you feed the baby, right after take him to the toilet of couse you’ll have to hold and sit with him, than start to talk to him how he should do his potty in the toilet and so forth, he was off his daiper before 2 yrs old even at night.
My nephew stopped making #2 in the daiper when he was around 4 months old, as everytime he want to do #2 he would scream or cry.
Its really depend on the mom to have paitent with the kids and understand them thoroughly, try it. not so hard once you set the time table for feeding napping and even going to the toilet.
aww thats so cute
thanks for sharing your experience
and its oki about the off topic thing you could ahev just spelt it like ------> pagli:) 2
Damn thats soo young:eek:
if only:bummer: