Potential MIL's

Before you ladies got married did you scrutinize your potential mother in law to see if you would be a good fit?

Anyone reject any proposals because of the dude’s mom?

Re: Potential MIL's

um yeeeah

yep

definitely.

If I read above replies correctly, all three of you are a potential disaster for your kids Rishta.

what goes around sure does come around.

Ironic, we don't scrutinize people to see if we will be good fit for them but if they will be good fit for us.

I didn't have the time to since we became serious before our families even got involved, so even if his mom turned out to be a psycho-MIL I'd have no choice, it def. wouldn't be enough to end the relationship.

That being said, his mom and I have spoke several times and she is just the most genuine and sweet MIL ever. We're on very good terms and I know for a fact, she'll make an AH-mazing MIL. This is coming from a person who is kind of a cynic and always a bit of a skeptic.

Every MIL is an amazing MIL till you enter her kitchen and in the life of her son.

She actually encourages my control over her son. She's not like most desi women, that is for sure.

The word desi was off place, women by nature, be her desi or walaiti, give importance to "relationship" more than anything else, either you are very lucky or she has not yet conceived what is at stake.

My sister's rejected a few cos the MIL looked kerazay

Or may be she is nice?

Yes.But tht wasnt the only reason.There were other factors too.

Re: Potential MIL’s

:halo: By desi, I meant in their (many MILs) stance that the wife holds no importance or they themselves should always be the most important women in their sons’ lives. Why is it so hard to believe there can be nice and sweet MILs that exist?

We did check what sort of nature she has since many a times, kids inherit qualities and nature of their mothers. That’s why my in-laws too specially noticed my mother’s nature.

Apparently both the mommies are sweet hearts & it all turned out well. :aisha:

^My mother is khatarnaak. I fear for my future SILs. :chai:

haha same here-not khatarnak like the jallaat type but yea she is panchaiti..like a typical MIL..hope my future SILs bring lots of sabar with them..
On the other hand my MIL is every girls dream mashAllah..everyone has some good qualities and some bad..she has more good so the bad ones seem so unimp..
Before my wedding she even said ‘I dont want u to do anything for me just keep my son happy because his happiness is my happiness’ at that time i thought she was just being nice but she really proved it after our wedding..so the nice ones do exist..
Secondly u cant judge someone until u start living with them some ppl might look sweet but might give u a hard time after ur wedding..at the same time some may look evil but might b ok after u start living with them..its about luck, patience and ur own attitude towards other people

^very true. And my mom is more of the nice but stay-in-your-lane type. I'm sure she'll be different when my brothers actually get married. :D

hehe I was wondering what happens to the men who get rejected cause of their mothers-do they ever get married? Since no one would want a MIL who looks crazy and is giving red signals since the start

Is it a coincidence that daughters who have typical mothers are blessed with sweet MILs as a compensation:p? My mom is very sweet/loving/caring and we both love each other but she never really got along with anyone for a long time she gets annoyed easily..shes the boss and she wants people to stay in their limits and not question her authority..so we had issues when i was single..I pray that she turns out to b a good MIL inshAllah