If your husband watches porn and you don't want to do anything about it, that's fine. If my husband watches it and i choose to do something about it, that's my decision. Please don't assume that just because some women feel disrespected when their hubby watches porn, it is solely because of their own ego and insecurity.
I wont tell my husband....you cant watch porn...if he watches it once every 2-3 yrs. however i wont be the one handing him the video. Once again you cant MAKE your husband do anything...just like he cant make you do anything.
I never said you could make anyone do anything. What I did say was that if he was doing it, i have a right to a reaction. Not everyone would be okay with their hubby watching it 2-3 times a year and those girls have a right to react however they choose. . . whether they choose to talk to him about it or leave him because of it.
Its like all the years of struggle amount to nothing, everything that women have fought for is nullified when a woman is seen as merely a piece of meat. There is no attraction in porn beyond the very physical. Its animalistic and primal. The nature of it is also degrading. Some schools of thought argue that porn is the intention and rape the action.
In both (it is argued) there is a common vein i.e. the dissociation of the person from the act.
Alice Walker has written very elequently upon this subject, (if anyone is interested, its in "You Can't Keep a Good Woman down" the stories are called "Porn" and "Coming apart" ) albiet it is more specifically about the portrayal of black women in mainstream porn i.e they are treated/portrayed as animals. What does that say about the subconsious phychee of the poeple who get off on that kind of stuff?
This quote aptly summarises why many women have an aversion to it:
"A woman reading Playboy feels a little like a Jew reading a Nazi manual. "~Gloria Steinem
I don't know if this is in the vein of the thread.
That is a really good post but sadly it will go over the heads of most people.
nature of other sins is animalistic n degrading as well ,which happen on a daily basis without thought.as i said before prostituition is one of the oldest profession and there r evil men and evil women both.besides if from the earliest point of civilization to the present day men have the same primal nature wen it comes to a womans body and lust ,then i doubt any improvements can b made in the future.ofcourse religion is always there to help fight lust.
women have fought very nobly but it is not due to men only that the efforts have been nullified but its traitors from ur own ranks.if there is a buyer then there will be a seller and vice versa.
nature of porn is also degrading to men,its not something exclusive for women. how many men wud like to be compared to dogs who leap to their feet wen they see a piece of meat?
Alice Walker has written very elequently upon this subject, (if anyone is interested, its in "You Can't Keep a Good Woman down" the stories are called "Porn" and "Coming apart" ) albiet it is more specifically about the portrayal of black women in mainstream porn i.e they are treated/portrayed as animals. What does that say about the subconsious phychee of the poeple who get off on that kind of stuff?
thats perverse but we r not talking abt eloquent literature on black women in porn industry but porn in general,including black, oriental, caucasian, fetishes ,kiddie porn etc.making each n every single issue abt the struggle of women against the opression of men is just not justified.
This quote aptly summarises why many women have an aversion to it:
"A woman reading Playboy feels a little like a Jew reading a Nazi manual. "~Gloria Steinem
m sure it does but m also sure it doesnt for those women who,as someone ,i think dope,pointed out make one third of the traffic visiting porn sites.
Porn Prior to marrige is something different... but a married guy watching porn is definitely disrespecting his wife. If he want more sex than he should discuss it with her im sure she'll lend a helping hand... not just more sex but she can help you refrain from such activities.
women have fought very nobly but it is not due to men only that the efforts have been nullified but its traitors from ur own ranks.if there is a buyer then there will be a seller and vice versa.
nature of porn is also degrading to men,its not something exclusive for women. how many men wud like to be compared to dogs who leap to their feet wen they see a piece of meat?
thats perverse but we r not talking abt eloquent literature on black women in porn industry but porn in general,including black, oriental, caucasian, fetishes ,kiddie porn etc.making each n every single issue abt the struggle of women against the opression of men is just not justified.
m sure it does but m also sure it doesnt for those women who,as someone ,i think dope,pointed out make one third of the traffic visiting porn sites.
How can you tell that a third of them are women kaka? Its a genuine question. Was it a survey carried out by a specific website? If so then I would like to know the nature of the websites content - I think the way most of the stuff is marketed, it is mostly for men therefore to suggest that as large as 1/3 of the "clients" were women, is surprising. I'm not denying that it may indeed be the case, however we all know that statistics are fickle creatures. We can more oft than not persuade them to our whim.
Religion in this case is a moot point, the thread (admittedly I haven't read the first couple of pages) asks of the general DESI attitude towards such an activity. Desi's include Jews, Christians, Hindus and Muslims alike. The common thread therein is that of culture - the governing factor then is of social norms and what is/is not acceptable. It is not ridiculous to suggest that sex as a whole remains somewhat of a taboo in "our" cultures. In a weird kind of way. We cannot talk of sex, yet most people are more than happy with with watching some of bollywoods soft porn offerings. If you do want to compare sin however, you are more than fully aware that you have degrees of sin. Me not praying namaaz for a day is a sin - but then blasphemy is a larger sin. Me being a hypocrite is a sin but then murder is a larger sin.
So far as your (valid) points are concerned. I disagree that men are portrayed as animals, unless you are aware of a whole new genre that little innocent me knows nothing of. Seriously, I am talking from an ignorant pov and many of my preconceived notions may indeed be entirely wrong. There is also a distinction that needs to be made between being portrayed as an animal - and being in a submissive role. the latter is not animistic, the former is indeed perverse.
There was an interview I heard recently quoting that rape etc porn was being looked at almost exponentially frequently. You cannot even mean to say that the women that are involved therein did so "willingly" and so on? The very fact that some of this stuff is available opens a market for them - for which they constantly need new material - and there are only a fixed number of war victim pictures that they can get their hands on. I am not talking of porn from a religious perspective - but rather a moral one.
The issue of whether we are talking of a particular subculture or not is again moot, as without the whole the sub would not exist. Lets forget women in this for a moment, even the rape victims, let us assume that they want to be there..what of - the molestation of children for the sick pleasure of some men? That too is a form of porn. Would we as Desi's differentiate between the different forms? Would a wife say - its OK if you look at Caucasian women and orientals (and get off on those) as long as you leave the blacks and the children? Extremes do have to be evaluated when discussing the whole, although perhaps it does not apply to more than a tiny minority.
The literature is important as it explains in better words than I why some may hold issue with it. I don't make my point as well as Alive walker and my arguments possibly just stands to convince you of my arrogance and ignorance - however she will explain it better than I. That is why I mentioned the literature.
You guys forgot we are talking about reactions and not the reasons behind it.
ego or no ego, she has all the right in the world to demand split if she wants. We all have our own ethics and boundries and surly most women would feel disrespected when cheated.
I wonder what u ppl think abt women who watch porn with their hubbies
Seriously, why is it any of ure business who does what in their own home? Worry abt your own husband (or wife), n keep ur nose outta everyone elses business
you are soooooooooooooooo sexist!!! no i don’t backbite: i tell right in the face i think you are sexist!
confine husbands?? instead we (me and my hubby) will live in a place where people have high respect and don’t walk around half naked:D
i agree with your reaction: it is exactly what i would do, tell him it is a sin, and inshallah i hope he is moral enough not to do it again.
no one is perfect, and it has nothing to do with being men or women once again you’re proving you’re highly sexist!!!
“just as gals wearing burqa are more insecure than those wearing miniskirts:D”???…give me a break! :o
being moral or religious is totally different from being insecure!
i was wearing miniskirts when obese:Dbut then became more religious and though i loose weight and became far more sexy…all my too revealing clothes went to garbage:clown:…
so i am not ok with porn because it is immoral and unislamic!..now if you’re pleased to think i’m unsecure…i can’t make you think otherwise
already done…but…but:( i have to discuss about it with my woh:confused:…thanks for reminding captain lota…tv:mad:!!!
i’m so thankfull that gupshup replaced my tv:blush:…no half naked women here:)
paris, it was meant for our feminazi posters who show up in every thread beating their chests like shiites when porn for most men is just a phase. i got over it at 16 so did a lot of others.
dope, jenny mcarthy does totay... ??? all this time i thought she was a just sweet lil girl... who is a bit naughty.
well it’s understandable, cause most teens are very curious at this age…but the topic was about a woman surprising husband watching porn…that’s a little disturbing cause if married i suppoes he has no reason to be curious about sexuality:D…or it means there is a problem in his bedroom:confused:
Where did I blame the wife? Why are you putting words in my mouth? As for the respect, you have answered it yourself in the last paragraph of your post..read on.
Yes to all these questions.
I don't plan to marry a slave or own someone's fantaises no matter how sick they may be. The idea of divorce over porn sounds immature.
Read the bolded part again, you will get the message I'm trying to convey. It's simple psychology. If you are a decent wife, you will earn respect. The earning part is not that difficult as it may sound.
Fayz mian choro yaar. Kis say behes kar rahay ho. She just wants to argue for the sake of arguing. Your first post was enough to make things clear. If someone didnt understand your point from there, then they wont understand it at all. Kyun apna waqt barbaad kar rahay ho. :D
If my husband watches porn i'll first explain to him why he shouldn't be watching it and if he still does then i'll just stop sleeping in his bedroom. As simple as that.
assuptions [This quote aptly summarises why many women] are fickler than stats. but i will just rephrase many women visit websites.
Newsweek reported that 30 to 40 percent of the buyers are women for playstation which is mostly marketed for men and the new era of violent,gory games is gonna be targeted at women with women heroes.
i honestly did not know that.
then i guess i am out,i cannot separate my religion from myself.it taints my thinking.
u have a very interesting and ‘parha likha’ point of view,a thousand times better than those who go into that feminist rage and start making abhorring assumptions.
plz expound on it.
source? watch nicholas cage’s 8 mm. and if u research on the net or better still watch the movies for educational purposes u will find its simulated rape.as for perverseness we see society being raped day in day out but most do nothing. me including.currently i make war of the words on gs.
this way it becomes a discussion of morals in the human society.i am out again. and hiccup u know very well i did not mean wat u wrote in italics.extremes have to be set aside bcoz extremism is on a basis of a totally different thought and in many cases pathology and deviance from the norms.
humility and being modest are different things. all in all i was once told by someone on gs that in terms of arrogance i matched u.anyways good debate.