my colleagues at work were just discussing at lunch that that these days in many localities you can get porn, like real porn, on cable TV in Pakistan at night…after 3am apparently…
some guys were of the view that there should be free access…no point in stopping it from being shown…kids r not up at night anyway…and if adults wana watch it its their call…
but this one guy pointed out that u cant even get porn in america..? yeah?
all the girls were like this is just wrong…
how come guys dont think such things r wrong
waise seriously…what’s all this gona do to our society?
p.s. dont know if this belongs to culture or this forum…mods ur call
i dont think its happening in islamabad as writ of government is limited to just capital ....but yes thats possible for areas like may be karachi, lahore , faisalabad where there are not much stringent measures taken to have check nd balance on the activities of cable operators...
just like in India… first we copy their dressing and now this… jo trend india main aattaa hia wo ahista ahista Pakistan main bhi aaraha hia…
and definately it is wrong… because its parents who sleep at night, and if their kid knows that this kinda thing is commin on TV then koi pagal hi hoga jo raat ko soyee ga :S
pata nahi ab aur kitni behayaii pehlay hi hamaray mulk main… aaj kuch areas main aay ga.. on ki popularity barhegi to aur jagah bhi aaye ga…
I have come accross some programs on HBO that are very graphic and have adult content/language...like a program about homosexuals or about prostitutes, they show everything and I mean "everything" ... these programs can easily pass as porn but I guess they also discuss some important topics about problems in American society..
Irem, as far as i know, different areas have their own cable/network providers,, and they somtimes dont even have license to run them.
So if one of them show porn movies, that means the whole of karachi cant see it, but only those people who are subscribed in that area..
(not sure)
:p
ps. ok just read ur post properly, u mentioned 'localities'
:p oops.
*Originally posted by CurruptAngel: *
I have come accross some programs on HBO that are very graphic and have adult content/language...like a program about homosexuals or about prostitutes, they show everything and I mean "everything" ... these programs can easily pass as porn but I guess they also discuss some important topics about problems in American society..
HBO is a premium channel. You pay extra for it, and you should darn well know what you will get. Almost all these movie channels (HBO, Cinemax, Showtime etc) are allowed to air soft-porn after 10 pm. However, no network channels (free to air) will show porn at any time. I am assuming whats happening in Pakistan is either they are airing some of these movie channels, or the clever cable operator decided to 'get' more customers by inviting them to check out free porn after midnight.
why is everyone so set on destroying karachi, that place better not become a free port, or I’ll really hurt mushi!
and for all those who think that if america can do it than so can pakistan, tsk tsk. america isnt’ called a muslim country kiddos. wake up…no wonder muslims r in such terrible times, we really brought it upon ourselves.
what are you babbling about? Ther eis no porn on the airwaves in India. Keep this jahil porn dirty industry of yours in Pakistan..vahin sey ahista ahista humara dharam bhrasht hota hai.
*Originally posted by MehnazQ: *
It isn't just in Karachi I'm the Best .. it's shown all over Pakistan. Nor is Musharraf holding a gun to peoples' heads forcing them to watch porn.
Khair, is this really surprising after the internet cafe scandal?
i know its not only karachi, but karachi used to be the city of lights and now its just the city of ****. and it was purposely done by certain people(not trying to get in a political discussion here). kher, its teh worst in karachi. and mushi might not be holding a gun to peoples head to watch it, but hes not doing much to prevent it. its more important for internal gandagi to go away than it is for him to plant tres around pak. and plz dont remind of the internet scandal,....too late...i'm gonna go puke now.
i dont know wen this trend started, i used to watch pakistani channels late till after 1:00 am (i.e 3 am PST) and i never came across any program like that
I say bring it on. Porn is very necessary and an integral part of any society. You can't stop porn. There is just no way. There are so many mediums through which one can get their hands on porn these days, internet being the biggest one. And ever asked yourself how ppl were able to get their hands on porn before cable tv?
The only way to beat porn is to have so much of it that you get fed up. Then no matter which video of Jenna Jamson is being played you'll be like, "o whatever, man. what else is bein played on tv today" and you'll flip to something else. That's how you beat porn.
What are we all worried about? Let the "enlightened moderation" come and see what happens next. Anyway porn it is not a widespread issue in Pakistan (atleast for now). It is a local cable operator who wants to be in hell after he dies. So who follows him, let them follow. Everyone knows that we all will be accountable and we don't have to live in this world forever.
Our leaders are so anxious to please the West by presenting ideas like "moderate" society and all the crap, but never speak against the real issues of Pakistan such as the panchaet evil verdicts, the security issues (bomb blasts in my beloved Karachi), the cyber cafes spreading obscenity instead of knowledge etc...