http://www.agi.it/english/news.pl?doc=200609121857-1232-RT1-CRO-0-NF51&page=0&id=agionline-eng.arab
Re: POPE: FUNDAMENTALIST ISLAM CONTRADICTS MUHAMMAD
^Ur suppose to give your comments and opinions when you post articles.
Ok, Ab Jya Pope ke against bhi Fatwa Jari hoga :D
Pope Musalman hai kya. Tab jari karenge. Yaha par to sirf yeh baat kar raha hain.
Mushrikana Makkah to Huzur Sala Alayhiwa sallam ko, kitni baar jaan se maar ne ki koshish ke thi.
Ye kuch bhi nahi hain.
Well i feel its fear, that Islam is the religion of truth. But comments by a'la Pope, its funny.
Wasnt a fatwa issued against the Danish cartoonist ? I dont think he was a Muslim either :)
Was just joking. Let me first put across the meaning of Fatwa, unlike what media portrays FATWA that it is murdering or killing that person.
FATWA is judgements based on Quran and Prophetic tradition, sometimes it is also an opinion given by concensus.
Like if you go for any Islamic websites and pose any question and the answer provided based on your question is also termed as FATWA.
Anyways just clarified with my friend, i havent come across any FATWA or judgement against Danish Cartoonist, provide me wit the link.
I personally feel since it was a serious issue, Scholars of the highest order, should have passed a FATWA.
Well i feel its fear, that Islam is the religion of truth. But comments by a'la Pope, its funny.
Why is the comments by the pope considered to be funny. Are you contradicting the pope by saying that fundamentalists are the real muslims. If this is what you think, then the comments by the pope should have sounded really funny.
Thanks
This is one more manipulated blasphemy. The Pope was giving a lecture on the nature of Faith and Reason. He widely used examples from Greek, Christian and Muslim thought. The “blasphemy” is part of a quote, not his own words, and constitutes a couple of sentences of a 7 page essay. Specifically he is commenting on the rationality of spreading faith by the sword. (Of course in the past month we have had two high profile forced conversions.) Rather than fall into the frenzy of media misinterpretation, perhaps we should read the Pope’s actual words in precise context. Let’s hope that he does not cave in to media pressure to change his words.
Uncle Ohioguy,
The good thing is that the Pakistani Parliament has passed a resolution to condemn this statement from pope and clearly declared it Anti-Muslims and igniting the hatred among the two faiths. I am proud of it as my country has openly condemned this.
Not sure if this one’s been posted before, as I couldn’t find it in the thread:
Source: http://www.cbc.ca/story/world/national/2006/09/15/pope-islam.html
I’m not sure how much of it is taken out of context or in context, the quotation that he shared is certainly disturbing.
I just hope Muslims don’t go haywire with the usual of burning flags, effigies, and buildings. I’m sure there are better ways of getting the message across.
** Ohioguy**, what are the two high profile forced conversions? I believe I missed it.
I read where Tasnim Aslam said that by describing Islam as intolerant, it encourages violence. He's probably right about the violence but wrong on who it encourages. It will won't be against Muslims by rather by Muslims in their state of indignation which will only perpetuate what the Pope quoted.
Just curious - isnt Tasnim Aslam a woman ?
partially right...well you debase an entire group as being intolerant of you or against you and the masses would increasingly be in favour of or at minimum indifferent if you go treat them with a different set of standards.
Show them as less than equal, different, etc etc.. thats kinda the whole deal with the slavery thing too right..it was acceptable not too long ago because of such sentiments.
** Ohioguy**, what are the two high profile forced conversions? I believe I missed it.
The two kidnapped Fox reporters in Gaza were forced to appear in a video saying that they had converted to Islam. Jill Carroll also reported pressure by her captors in Iraq to convert, and "Shazzam the American" in his latest Al-Qaedda video threatens consequences if Americans do not convert. Take your pick.
Please read the whole of the Pope's remarks. The Popes lecture is really quite scholarly. His conclusion is that violence does not serve God. He uses this quote from the Byzantine emperor as the beginning of a line of reasoning that determines that the shedding of blood is never in the best interest of God, and that the beginnings of the Old Testiment, New Testiment and the Quran all begin this way. His conclusion is that the concept of jihad was only added to the Quran later in the development of Islam.
Please read the entire lecture before we go burn KFCs.
and then he does a disservice by not explaning the concept of Jihad and leaving listeners with partial and incorrect. So scholarly but myopic and tainted.
Did he elaborate when the concept of crusades was added to christianity. quoting byzantine emperors is fine, why nto quote byzantines that suffered at the hands of marauding crusader thugs?
KFCs should be burnt not because of what the pope said but because of the crap food they sell :)
yah the rabid right wingers contradict the message of islam, they twist it, so lets not attack the concept of jihad, but how the concept of jihad has been twsited to suit one's needs.
Ohioguy, thank you for the clarification. The acts of kidnappers cannot equated to what the pope made reference to.
Pope is clearly a figure who is highly revered and looked up to, whereas the kidnappers were random individuals. I agree the forceful conversions were inappropriate. Lets see if there's a clarification from the pope over this matter.
It looks like the context of the pope's message was a good one, but hopefully he realized in advance that any mention of Mohammed in a negative light risks setting off a frenzy in the muslim world.
It will be interesting to see if any Islamic fundamentalists have the cajones to issue a fatwa. I highly doubt it.
^U want that to happen?