I feel so sorry for this guy! But cant help laughing! hahahaha! As the say in Urdu!
dhobi kaa kutta naa ghar kaa naa ghaat kaa!
Wahan Afghanistan main is liye bacha kay kahan woh American hay. Ab yahan aya to jootiyaan parain gi!
Baychara!
I feel so sorry for this guy! But cant help laughing! hahahaha! As the say in Urdu!
Wahan Afghanistan main is liye bacha kay kahan woh American hay. Ab yahan aya to jootiyaan parain gi!
Baychara!
Well I don't find this funny at all.
“na maiN* momin vich masiitaa*N, na maiN* muusaa, na fir'aun!”
So whats the story?
This is the whole story from CNN. Aparently the poor fellow listened to the Taliban , started fighting for them and then was imprissoned in Kundouz.
SHEBERGHAN, Afghanistan (CNN) -- Friends and family members of a wounded American who fought for the Taliban and survived a recent prison uprising in Afghanistan expressed shock and confusion Monday, and his mother said he "must have been brainwashed."
The man, John Walker, was in the custody of U.S. Special Forces somewhere in Afghanistan, U.S. military officials at Central Command in Tampa, Florida, said.
Walker, 20, a native of the Washington, D.C., area, said this past weekend he joined the forces aligned with Osama bin Laden as a volunteer because his "heart became attached to them" after studying their movement.
Bill Jones, a family friend in San Rafael, California, described Walker as a "very sweet, unassuming, very spiritual young man -- rather frail, not an All-American football player or anything like that, certainly not a fighter."
"The parents are very, very upset and very confused because what they saw on CNN was frightening," Jones said. "They hadn't seen or heard from him in seven months, and they were desperate.
"They were afraid he was hurt or in the hospital. They tried to get ahold of him. They couldn't, and so to see him lying on the hospital floor with his blackened face and his eyes rolling into his skull really frightened them."
His mother, Marilyn Walker, told Newsweek magazine that her son was a "sweet, shy kid" with an interest in helping poor people and maybe going into medicine as a profession.
"If he got involved with the Taliban, he must have been brainwashed," she said.
Walker's parents are divorced, and he uses his mother's last name. He was raised in Northern California.
His father, Frank Lindh, told Newsweek his son was a student of language and religion who took to Islam naturally.
Marcie Miller, principal of Temescal High School in Larkspur, California, said Monday that a John Lindh participated in a program for highly motivated students in 1997. Miller said the student requested that his name be listed as "Suleyman Al-Lindh" on a certificate for passing the California High School Proficiency exam.
Hid in fortress basement
Walker was among those in last week's prison uprising near Mazar-e Sharif, Afghanistan, in which hundreds of Taliban prisoners and a CIA operative were killed.
Authorities ended the threat by flooding the garrison's cellar Friday night. More than 80 Taliban fighters emerged Saturday morning and surrendered to members of the Northern Alliance, according to the Red Cross. The Red Cross had suspended collecting bodies from the compound Thursday when armed Taliban began shooting at rescue workers, killing one and wounding two others.
Walker said he had been hiding in the fortress' basement for seven days and had not eaten.
He described himself as a convert to Islam and a "jihadi" -- fighter of holy wars. He added that he had lived in northwest Pakistan and joined the Taliban six months ago.
In describing how the Taliban prison revolt began, he said, "Somehow they started fighting, starting with a grenade; then one of them grabbed a Kalashnikov from one of the [Alliance Gen. Abdul Rashid] Dostum army forces, and so the fighting began. Eventually they took some heavy weapons, and they took control of a weapons storage house."
Walker said he left home at 18, studying Arabic in Yemen, and then traveled to northwest Pakistan, where he studied Islam and came into contact with Taliban supporters.
He went to the Afghan capital, Kabul, where, because he did not speak the local languages, the Taliban urged him to join the forces supported and funded by bin Laden, he said.
Walker said he followed their advice, going to a training camp in Afghanistan where bin Laden appeared several times. He said he learned to fire a Kalashnikov.
Walker said he then was sent to the Kashmir region, where he fought with Pakistanis against Indians, and returned to Afghanistan for another month of training.
He said he has been in Afghanistan for six months, speaking only Arabic.
When the U.S. bombardment began, he said he fled 100 miles on foot to Konduz, where he was one of more than 3,000 Taliban soldiers taken prisoner in the garrison.
He said he intended to surrender but was drawn into battle when one of his comrades threw a grenade. After taking a bullet in his upper-right thigh, he fled to the basement bunker, where he and dozens of other Taliban remained for seven days. During that time, gasoline was poured into the basement and ignited, and grenades were exploded.
He and the remaining survivors did not emerge until Northern Alliance forces diverted an irrigation stream into the bunker, flushing out the survivors.
Walker, a thin man of about 5 feet 10 inches, described the basement as a dungeon and said it was full of dead bodies.
Walker was among three truckloads of prisoners -- most of them wounded or dead -- who had emerged or been taken from the basement. U.S. Special Forces soldiers took Walker to a warm place and assisted in getting him medical treatment.
Whether Walker will be tried, and by whom, remains unclear.
[This message has been edited by sabah (edited December 04, 2001).]
He sounds like a great man . Ali; you should be ashamed of your comments
Originally posted by secret_obsession:
He sounds like a great man . Ali; you should be ashamed of your comments
You are not talkin about me, are you?
“na maiN* momin vich masiitaa*N, na maiN* muusaa, na fir'aun!”
Originally posted by Ali_R:
** You are not talkin about me, are you?
even i know which ali he is talking about lol!
Originally posted by AliBeta:
**I feel so sorry for this guy! But cant help laughing! hahahaha! As the say in Urdu!
Baychara!
let me hear wot this persona has to do with u?
why so much hatred?
wot u got against him?
i think u dont have answers at all, so for that purpose u really need to get a life!
[This message has been edited by Rehaan (edited December 03, 2001).]
Really a sad story
The Gr8st thing in life is, To love n be loved ...
ali yaar aap kee baat par afsoos hoa.. agar aap khud naik kaam nahien karr saktay hoo to dosroon kaa mazaak urranay kaa aap ko koe haq nahien hai... yeh decide karna keh kon kaamyaab hai aur kon naakaam yeh Allah kaa kam hai naa keh aap kaa...
mairay dill mairay mussafir
Originally posted by Akif_zeb:
**ali yaar aap kee baat par afsoos hoa.. agar aap khud naik kaam nahien karr saktay hoo to dosroon kaa mazaak urranay kaa aap ko koe haq nahien hai... yeh decide karna keh kon kaamyaab hai aur kon naakaam yeh Allah kaa kam hai naa keh aap kaa...
agreed!
all we can do is pray for each others forgivness we happened to be human beings and surely we all are off track!
we need to put oursleves back into islamic life and follow wot were told to instead of spreading hatred among others whereas u stand for nothing with ur baseless points!
Can't believe you guys are supporting these people. These people do not represent Islam. Along with hijacking the planes they have hijacked the beautiful religeon of Islam. All the preach is hatred. And that is not what my Islam constitutes!
watever ur islam represents Ali... u shud b ashamed of ur comments...
u have no right to judge any1.. maybe hes a better muslim than u n me.
Alibeta, u say that your Islam doesn't constitute hatred...i hope u do know that Islam doesn't constitute hatred of ANY kind. Allah (saw) tells us to pray even for our enemies.
i do not support the taliban like most Muslims. Be we have to be careful about judging someone we dont even know.
This guy is only 20, many people that age are very impressionable. How do we know that he wasn't brainwashed? affected by the people he spent time with in pakistan? We all know what kind of hatred is taught in that part of the world. How do any of us know for sure that we'd act any different if we had spent months among people who preach hatred and pervert the teachings of Islam. This guy obviously started out as a sincere Muslim..and im sure he still is.
"Nothing Important Happened Today"
Sure he does!
Where did I say he doesn't? But wasn't it dumb and wrong of him going into Osama's training camps and get training there?
I think he has learnt his lesson!
Alibeta! I cant believe what you wrote bout this guy! I feel sorry for all of them not just him.To actually hear him speak english was just amazing for me! All we've seen so far are frail young men,not saying a word.
I think we all have to take a pause and look at the wider pic, some say that ppl like him are responsible for 9/11 attacks, with no prove! Its not a crime for someone to leave their country origin to seek knowledge elsewhere, and besides even if he and others were guilty by association WHAT THE HELL HAPPEN TO THE GENEVA CONVENTION!, when he and others gave themselves up?!
Alibeta, I was really shocked at your distgusting manner. I am sure that you're a decent guy I hope you repent who knows somethng really bad may happen to you just bcos of what you wrote.May Allaah guide us all!
You know I think everyone should have a read of the post SINCERE ADVICE: For all the Muslims, by Sentinel in the Religion forum!
I love it when us Pakistanis start ridiculing if someone express whats on one's mind! I have nothing against this guy! Hey he was fighting his own war! Good for him! I respect the man's decissions and beliefs, he is of strong faith.
He is a strong man, strong willed. I wouldnt run 100 miles with his fellow fighters!
But the fact remains a fact. When he was interviewed by the newsweek reporter, I heard him say that ** he thinks that the attacks on America on 9/11 were justified by Al Qaedah **. And that statement is just the wrong answer!
I respect the man to be open minded. Going to a far of place and learning the beautiful faith of Islam. But that in no way means to start fighting for the idiots he was with.
I mean for crying out loud he wasn't even with Taliban, he was being trained by the Al Qaedah as he didn't speak any Pushto nor Persian! Is he justified for doing that? No.
Do I feel sorry for the poor fellow? Yes.
Originally posted by AliBeta:
**I feel so sorry for this guy! But cant help laughing! hahahaha! As the say in Urdu!
no matter how you feel for this guy, Ali, but it doesnt give u any right to say such a disgracing comment about him.
even if we have any hypocrite among ourselves (muslims), we are not suppose to make fun of him 'cuz he is our brother as a muslim.
pumpkins forever!
When alibeta is in such a position some day. (I am sure he will be with those disgusting comments) We will all have a good laugh as well.
Salaam
[This message has been edited by STRONGMAN (edited December 04, 2001).]
yeaha u r right,I aint talking about you
. I am talking abt ALI BETA