Police shoot Muslim protesters in India's Gujarat state

Once again Muslims are being targeted by Gujarat state authorities.

http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/world/south_asia/4961924.stm

Re: Police shoot Muslim protesters in India's Gujarat state

SILLY, grow up,,, its a typical law and order situation.
As per law religious places can be removed for infrastructure. Many a temples have been removed for road projects. Now if a group decides to turn violent, law and order agencies will act.....
It has nothing to do with communalism........ You have lost your credibility on this forum... hopefully you will keep your sanity......... SILLY

correct..nothing should stand between development. if any of them has any problem, then their religious monument should be relocated or removed.

^^

To say that it is just a law and order problem would be to miss the wood for the trees. To destroy a century old mosque and mask it as development program smacks of communalism of the worst kind. True temples, churches and mosques have been removed for road projects. To demolish a mosque in a communally sensitive state without proper notice shows that the government is upto its old tricks again...

Notice was given..

anyway all you are saying is that situation should have been handled with more tact... and if people died, than I can't agree with you more..

My objection is to SILLY and his glasses..

Waiting for him to do another cut and paste job...

When was the last time a Hindu mandir was demolished in Gujarat?

When was the last time Hindu protestors were shot dead by the police in Gujarat?

And they complain about the malaysians. Typical hindu hypocracy.

These people were killed by muslims to defame the Indian/Gujrat govt.

Thats a brazen lie and there is no proof of that what so ever. Even hinting towards that, with no basis, is essentially tantamount to idiocy. Muslims around the world are being butchered and served to a merciless death and here you are obfuscating an obvious human rights issue for your own charlatan politcal ends. Its funny that although muslims are murdered, raped and oppressed daily in india the non-muslim vanguards of human liberty only focus on the "evil" islamic countries.

And now the mobs of VHP are attacking muslim colonies and burning the property.

One young man has been burnt alive in his car by the mob.

Just heard on Starnews and NDTV.

Re: Police shoot Muslim protesters in India’s Gujarat state

**Modi tried to raze Gujarat mini-Babri **

The Baroda Municipal Corporation did not heed a compromise formula offered by the caretakers of the dargah of Sufi saint Syed Rashiuddin Chisti and simply went ahead with the demolition of the structure because the local BJP leaders were keen to see this “mini-Babri Masjid” completely destroyed. Mr Gani Qureshi, the BJP’s only prominent Muslim face in Baroda who also heads its minority cell, admitted in an exclusive interview to this newspaper that “the demolition of this dargah is a very well planned conspiracy.** The municipal corporation authorities had promised us that it would not be demolished. We were working upon a compromise formula, but they backed out and simply razed it.” **Though the Baroda Municipal Corporation maintains that the dargah, which Muslims believe is of the Sufi saint Syed Rashiuddin Chisti, was razed just because it was an encroachment, Mr Qureshi said “this is untrue”. Baroda mayor Sunil Solanki claimed this dargah was "nothing special. It was just an encroachment, like many others. We have also razed 18 Hindu religious structures. There were protests even then. However, when the dargah was razed, the protest turned violent."However, while the civic authority says the dargah was an encroachment, evidence proves that it was registered in 1912 in the first city survey carried out by Sayajirao Maharaj in Baroda. “Though this dargah is on record only since 1912, it was at least 385 years old. There was no trust involved. It was a public thing. Of late, the Karim Mansuri Samaj used to give funds. This was not just a Muslim thing. The daily diya and daily expenditure were borne by Hindus. The Ranchhodbhai Masala family has been pouring in funds for at least 75 years, generation after generation. I don’t understand how the municipal corporation calls it a plain encroachment,” Mr Qureshi said.

The dargah was considered a mini-Babri Masjid and the BJP had designs on this structure for a long time, said eminent human rights activist Prof. J.S. Bandukwala. “The encroachment angle is unpalatable. The demolition has plain political reasons. This was a move to excite Muslims. As the dargah was demolished, BJP leaders cheered the corporation staffers and shouted slogans. This is a curtain-raiser to the 2007 Assembly elections in Gujarat,” Prof. Bandukwala told this newspaper. A BJP MLA in Baroda known to be in the anti-Modi camp claimed that "though Mr Modi has been trying hard, he cannot win the elections on the development plank. This will serve him as handy. Polarisation of votes has begun in Gujarat. Mr Modi wants to repeat Godhra."Almost every eminent citizen of Baroda swears that the dargah has always been there “ever since our birth”. However, mayor Sunil Solanki claims there are no records that prove the dargah is as old as believed. “If they claim that the dargah is 385 years old, why is it not a heritage monument? Why were no representations ever made to include it in the heritage category?” Mr Gani Qureshi argued that the dargah was very much part of Baroda and its culture. Prof. Bandukwala said that ever since the 1969 riots attempts were made by Hindu fundamentalists to demolish this dargah. Mr Qureshi admits that stray attacks were made in every communal riot to damage the dargah, but the damage was always insignificant. "However. this time they took the unfortunate decision of simply razing it without heeding our sentiments. "Mr Sunil Solanki claims the Baroda Municipal Corporation made very “generous offers” to shift the dargah, but the community leaders were adamant. “We served them notice and gave them three days. The demolition is a part of our development scheme. It has no communal undertones,” Mr Solanki said. However, Mr Gani Qureshi, who said he is in a tight spot since he happens to be a Muslim and with the BJP, stressed that “a dargah is not like a Hindu structure. We bury people there. How is shifting possible?” Prof. Bandukwala agreed that the corporation always wanted to demolish this dargah and was not really open to any compromise. “The community leaders were even ready to cut down the size of the dargah by half. And, more importantly, why were no negotiations initiated in this regard,” Prof. Bandukwala said, adding, “This was a mini-Babri Masjid. And they demolished it.”

http://www.asianage.com/main.asp?layout=2&cat1=1&cat2=22&newsid=223099&RF=DefaultMain

acha...

Here we have no problems to complian if anyone is killed, whether it is a muslim or a hindu. When 22 hindus were buthchered in kashmir, no muslim complained over here(go to kashmir section). Isn't that hypocracy?.

Besides, temples have been removed for the sake of development work in my state(karnataka). I am sure it would have been done even in gujrat. But after modi came to power, i dont know. I have no idea.

when your people get killed it is "oppression", when our people get killed, it is not oppression, is it?.

Mr syedabdullah, a person who relied on mathematics to explain the practice of al-anfal and justify it, please dont talk about oppression.

Besides, assembly elections are coming closer, i guess. so the government is relying on creating sensations.

ssingh: no response to the article above? :hmmm:

Not necessarily a "hypocricy". YOU shout for your loss, we shout for our loss, this is what happens almost everywhere.... Hypocricy would be if we come out and enjoy your loss (whether we gained anything or not).

Are you being serious?

Now this is "hypocrisy", you are trying to unsuccessfully justify your position here. ssingh is just saying that why dont you see a "Silly" or syedabdullah make any posts on the recent kashmir massacre, oh wait, syedabdullah did post. He was calling them hypocrites not you and I am calling you a hypocrite because you are trying to defend these jerks, when you yourselves know they are wrong. If you disagree with this let me know.

And there is a difference in 22 people being massacred under gun point and 2 people getting killed during a protest. Will you agree with that?

No doubt, this incident (demolition of the masjid) should have never happened considering the seriousness of the consequences of this incident and if it was unavoidable, it should have been properly thought out after taking all the concerned parties into confidence. I think politics/Modi does have a part to play in this and if yes then he should be brought to justice, which I think will not happen until he is in power, but bhagwaan ke ghar der hai andher nahi.

And it's not the first time a hindu/muslim/sikh/christian worship place is being demolished in India for developmental reasons.

5 killed in sectarian riots in Gujarat](The Daily Star Web Edition Vol. 5 Num 684)

Let me ask YOU, how many articles YOU posted here which were about killing of Hindus? And if we (Muslims) joined or responded to those articles or not. Let me know what your answer is so I can complete my answer. Don’t jump to conclusions before that.

Yes there is. Did you read article in post #11?

I agree, Babri masjid was also demolished.

The hindus are the ones being hypocrites. When the malaysians destroyed a century old hindu templea couple of weeks ago for development purposes its portrayed as hindus being oppressed. However, on the reverse end, when its hindus tearing down a legally sanctioned masjid and shootinf to death two peaceful protestors who just happened to be muslim its called development. I think we can clearly see who the hypocrites are.

I did not post any article about killings of Hindus nor Muslims. **All I am saying is you do not need to defend those jerks (not you, not the whole Pakistan or all the muslims**) just because they belong to your religion or country. If you think they deserved to be defended then let me know and I'll agree to whatever you said and stop the discussion on this topic. I am discussing this with you because I think you are not like those jerks. Just a yes or no.

Did not I say I think Modi is involved in that, just like the militants were involved in the killing of those 22 people in Kashmir. So what's the point? Can you please state that.

Well, hundreds of temples were also destroyed hundreds of years ago, I never talked about that, nor do I feel that it's wise or humane to justify the demolition of one Babri Masjid with the demolition of hundreds of temples.
No one should bear the brunt of the deeds of their forefathers.

You do not enter into an honest discussion with a **closed **mind!