Poetry Forum: A place to ponder;A place to share thoughts; A place to be Constructive

Poetry: What is it? a few words arranged differently than normal to give readers a message with rythm. Many a times, good poetry has less words but a strong effects on it’s readers YET it is the diction that counts the most always!

What makes us feel and think that certain poetry is relatively beautiful? What is there to motivate us in a classical verses?

The answer is simple! We all interpret it according to our own knowledge and experience in life. We all relate the wordings in poetry to our very own lives. There are self-explanatory simple, nonetheless very nicely strong poetry, too; Yet there is always many of us who may understand and get a lesson from it very differently than others.

I remember one of my composition classes in my undergraduate years, when my teacher said:
Any piece of writing can be explained however you want to explain as you understand it as long as you can justify it with valid proofs and strong reasonings, no matter if the writer’s own point of view is totally opposite than yours and no matter if writer had different things in mind when it was written!

What happens every time here in this poetry section? Don’t we just witness some thing that has become more of a ritual than formality of this place making it’s nature absolutely monotonic with no creativity left?

Whenever some one posts some thing, almost 100% of the time all the replies are nothing but on the very same pattern of:

“Bahut khoob:k:, zabar10, wah wah, thanks for sharing:), nice” etc . etc.

Is not it the fact that everyone knows that every piece of poetry is always nice and zabar10?

Why can’t we do some thing more constructive and Creative?

Why not try to explain the poetry as we understand it? WHy can’t we share it’s relativity with our own lives’ experience? and later, Why not discuss the explanations in details where we may have problem understanding the very explanations or where we disagree with any specific interpretation of the shared poetry?

I don’t know but if authorities can do, they may have an oppertunity to start ‘Best Critic of the Month’ title or a thread dedicated to it…

Wont it help in getting many aspects and point of views on the same poetry which we may have undertood differently than others but by sharing isn’t it true that our understandings on things can become multi-dimensional?

How many of you agree?:slight_smile: and how many don’t:)?

i agree…:k::slight_smile:

kuch poetry ki mujhe sumujh nuhi lugti…i would like someone to explain it to me in simple words…so i can get a better understanding out of it…:k:

I agree........

I agree with ya :slight_smile:

Just check this “Posts: 19348” and I hope you may get the answer…

:hehe: :hehe: :hehe:

kuch kuch samj a k agree and also agree with Wg...tusi agar punjabi vich samja dainday tey chunga nahi se G.....g...:)

:hehe: :hehe: :hehe:

hummm

Re: Poetry Forum: A place to ponder;A place to share thoughts; A place to be Constructive

Generally you are right.....but when it comes to understanding or discussion for that matter, it would become arduous for almost everyone of us to discuss or debate on that very verse or piece of poetry. Infact, it would be difficult for many of us to translate it in terms of the background or thoughts behind which, that piece was written or being produced....We must remember that, though we live under the same sky but we have different horizions....in your floated idea or suggestion, this place might convert into just a discussion or a critique forum......Another factor that is more important and one must not let it go, is the Time Factor....What my personal idea is, many of us would not have that much sufficient time to accomplish what you have floated.

I think getting a beautiful stuff or sharing a worth reading material, be it just only a verse, a qatta or a ghazal would do the needful for other members.........

and what could be other versions of replies including WAH, Zabardast etc etc.....? This is it...it should be enough......or at times few lines will do their best......Moreover, I think, this is not a place where we do have prolonged conversation appended on replies, it is on the contrary, a platform where we must just share something or get some beautiful material leaving behind appropriate praising words or sentences..thats it.....

Your idea of "'Best Critic of the Month'" is however appreciated and fully supported.....

This is MY piece of mind....I might be right, might be wrong....please dont carry any hard feelings...........Human relations must grow with time atleast.....

thanks for your time

bhai sahib: u may search for my total number of posts in poetry forum :slight_smile: I bet i have less than what you have posted. Now dun be :topic: PLUS my 95% of posts are in Cafe`so you dun have to be worried about it.. right?:slight_smile:

Re: Re: Poetry Forum: A place to ponder;A place to share thoughts; A place to be Constructive

Originally posted by Man de Mouj: *
when it comes to understanding or discussion for that matter, it would become arduous for almost everyone of us to discuss or debate on that very verse or piece of poetry. **Infact, it would be difficult for many of us to translate it in terms of the background or thoughts behind which, that piece was written or being produced

I beleive you did not understand what i said and just said the very same thing what I said:) ... please read my message again and find your words there already mentioned by me:) and my thoughts on the matter itself:-)

*Originally posted by Man de Mouj: *
We must remember that, though we live under the same sky but we have different horizions....in your floated idea or suggestion, this place might convert into just a discussion or a critique forum......

This is a forum and i beleive sharing is one part and the second half is to make it a "FORUM" :-)

*Originally posted by Man de Mouj: *
Another factor that is more important and one must not let it go, is the Time Factor....What my personal idea is, many of us would not have that much sufficient time to accomplish what you have floated.

How did you get time to write such a beautiful reply and how do u get time to read what is being posted here and then reply to it?

Its a absolutely ridiculous notion..............Why would someone narrate what is his/her lifes experiences relating to a certain piece of poetry( i wish I am makeing my self clear). What so ever the only one thing in such long narration which made a little sense is that most of the replys are monotonus, Ji thats right...........and that should be taken care of by "to the point and appropriate" criticim, that to where ever its necessary.

*Originally posted by aadhoorighazal: *
Its a absolutely ridiculous notion..............Why would someone narrate what is his/her lifes experiences relating to a certain piece of poetry( i wish I am makeing my self clear).
u missunderstood! when i said life experience it meant how would you explain a peice of poetry? -NOT YOUR LIFE- we tend to explain as we learn things in our lives.... that's the kind of experience i was refering to....

just to clear things that are misunderstood, please look at my reply in the thread.. this is kind of contribution i am simply refering to:

http://www.gupistan.com/forums/showthread.php?s=&threadid=93968#post1374177

I think, it is a good idea....it will help in learning for a novice like me

Its a absolutely ridiculous notion..............Why would someone narrate what is his/her lifes experiences relating to a certain piece of poetry( i wish I am makeing my self clear). What so ever the only one thing in such long narration which made a little sense is that most of the replys are monotonus, Ji thats right...........and that should be taken care of by "to the point and appropriate" criticim, that to where ever its necessary.

Yeh dhowaan sa kahan say utt'ta hay :D

Its a absolutely ridiculous notion..............Why would someone narrate what is his/her lifes experiences relating to a certain piece of poetry

You are perfectly right..

Re: Re: Re: Poetry Forum: A place to ponder;A place to share thoughts; A place to be Constructive

*Originally posted by Gadha: *

I beleive you did not understand what i said and just said the very...

Jee Gadha Sahib ! gone thru your link that your replied to Simply Seema...so u want everyone to reply like you do or you did.....I am sorry.....its kind a wild idea or suggestion....I think you must leave everyone free in expressing their own piece of mind in terms of replying threads....whatsoever..........and to answer later part of your reply...I may submit that this much time one can take out to share or get beautiful stuff or may be more than that.........

Anyway, you were understood clearly.....I think it still is a FORUM, whether some one sends a reply or debate like you did in one particular case or not......it is a Forum and will REMAIN.....

Man de mouj: If you don’t feel like doing it, no one is asking YOU:slight_smile: right? it was just a suggestion and you may stick to your idea if you are ONLY capable of doing that much.. right?:slight_smile:

There are more people agreeing with me:) and if they want they can do what I suggested BUT I have my own way of expressing and I will continue to do it Insha ALLAH..

bye bye:wave::smiley:

*Originally posted by Gadha: *

My dear Gadha ! please dont carry any hard or harsh feelings...have a heart..... I, in my earlier reply, cleared that it is JUST MY OWN MIND....and it is not, I repeat, IT IS NOT that I am imposing something onto someone......OK, and by the way this is what and how a real FORUM behaves......and ONE ought to go along with its behaviour

Well, by sitting on a chair and using this electronic media with destinations miles apart, no one can gauge and judge the capabilites of other person in its true sense.......I however, do reagrds and respect for you....

Rest about your suggestion, It will be honoured by the members including me but whenever it is appropriate.........as a matter of fact....it is being practiced and in vogue right now.....members are already contributing, discussing and commenting on the threads as per their own fashion, strength and capability.......

thanks for being with me......hope you are going to perceive it as a friend....ok

bye

Man de maouj: yaaraa where did you get the idea that i am having hard feelings against you:)? Infact, Iwas happy to see a critic in my own thread and by seeing your well elaborated long replies I am sure you are capable of doing much better:wave:

As for your comments:

as a matter of fact…it is being practiced and in vogue right now…members are already contributing, discussing and commenting on the threads as per their own fashion, strength and capability<<<

I will appreciate if you can direct me to any single thread where this thing is happening.. not that i want to impose anything on anyone also BUT I was simply suggesting:)