Pocket Money

Did you ever get given a regular amount of ‘spending’ money as a child?

Were you expected to use the money to contribute to any expensive items you wanted or needed or was pocket money simply for smaller everyday spending?

How often did you get an increase…every year, upon request etc.

My Dad had fixed the amount when I was in Pakistan .. He used to give me 1500 rs for the gas of my car & spendings .. lolol ... not a penny more or less .
I used to eat away from my MBA fee and used to take the full amount as specified in the prospectus but originaly I was an ex student in the bachelors so I had 25% off , which I never told . And My mom also used to say that one can only get money from your dad in a wrong manner ...
My mom used to give me 1000 rs and My Grand ma also used to give me some after almost every month or so ... And hmmmm That was almost a monthly earning which came to like 10000 - 13000 rs most of the times ...
And still , at the end of the month I had to resmoke the thrown butts from the Ash tray ...

Well I get a decent allowance I can’t complain.

I get a certain amount per week, and if I want something expensive, like a new coat or an ipod, I’m expected to save up for it. I get separate money for food and my parents also pay for my school n books n stuff :blush:

With Mum, she never gave us a fixed allowance - she took us shopping when we needed clothes, and she gave us only what we needed if we had other expenses. With Abuji, he's usually busy with work so most of the time we had to manage our own expenses. He used give us cash every once in a few days or whenever we'd tell him we needed it (for going out, shopping, etc), a fixed amount which we were to place in fixed deposit at the bank, and credit cards. Two months ago I finally proposed a fixed allowance so that I could learn to pay my own bills, too. :-P (I'm growing.)

Addition: For other things, such as purses, electronics, and/or medication (things costing above $300), he still expects me to ask him for extra money.

never got paid pocket money as a kid.. as we grew up and started going to uni/college etc, mom would give us money if we asked for it/whenever we needed it.. as for buyin stuff, hell we couldnt even spend our eidi on ourselves.. the folks insisted on buyin us everything we wanted, instead of us having to save up. ..
we should have grown up spoilt and totally dumb in money handling.. but we didnt :D

Nope, never got pocket money or an allowance. My siblings did but it was their bus fare.

Whenever we needed money for anything, we would ask and usually get it. None of us ever got a steady allowance though.

That being said, I've seen people here who give their kids an allowance when they don't even really need money ... anything from $5 to $20 a week. I always thought this was just spoiling kids unnecessarily, but that's just my personal opinion.

I didn't get a regular pocket money either. Kinda felt embarrassed asking my parents for money for new clothes when they worked their asses of.

My dad used to give my siblings and I a monthly allowance every month. He'd give us a certain amount of money and would tell us to save it as much as possible and then every other month he would double the amount of what we'd save. Suppose, I saved $40 out of $50 that he gave, at the end of the month, he would give me $80. I think it was a great way of encouraging us to save money and not spend it all at once. He also used to encourage us to buy bonds which was good too. :)

Nopes never got any pocket money, but whenever I needed anything (necessary) I;d get the money for it..other special items like toys, perfume, makeup, even hair styling products, I have to wait for Christmas or my birthday.

Always wished I had pocket money and when I finally started working my mom told me to give her my salary and she'd give me pocket money from there...she even took away my ATM card.

Needless to say I took it back..told her if she ever needed anything I;d buy it for her..but no damn way was she gonna control money I;ve earned!

wow that seems kinda harsh, but hey if it works it works :k:

never got pocket money. anythign i needed was provided for. when ever i did need money ( and i still do :o ). i just ask ami or abu.

this fixed amount thing leads to a 'divide' because alot of the times kids buy rubish like ipods or tv's and so on. my parents didnt want that to happen and still dont so even if i have saved money from what i asked i cant just go out and buy something with out asking.

PS ami wont let me buy an ipod she thinks i should read ayat ul kursi while on the 1 hour train ride to uni each way. when i told her the ipod would keep me form looking at the girls she still said no!!! :(

hmm

i used to get 3 rupees for lunch at school everyday and 2 rupees for evening snacks [hahaaha those were the days :D sigh kya zamana tha feeling nostalgic ]

eidi or any other big amount of money i ever got from elders: used to give to my mom

i dont recall a time when i had to tell my parents i "needed" something, usually they figured it out before me and jus got it for me

^ khala je need and want is different :p

bachay i was a very shareef and non ziddi kid, i was not the type to say everyday "i want that" and start nagging at my parents when we went to shopping centers :p

aaj kal k zidi bachon kee tarhan nai thee mein tobbah :p

i don't remember getting pocket money before grade 5....until then ammi took care of whatever we needed

after that there was a fixed amount for every month .....nfrom it we were supposed to pay for our tuck shop , stationery, n even the monthly kids magazines etc.

i think it was a good way of teaching us handling money .....
back then we siblings were addicted to 3 magazines ....but it wasn't possible to afford with one's pocket money so we used to share our funds n took turns for favourite ones .....

btw,i'm glad ...i never had to ask for money ......n i. infact hate to ask even in dire need .....thankfully my prents n then even my hubby try to remember themselves to fill my purse again!

i am a man u anty besides i am the same as u. kids these days :rolleyes:

parents' credit card:D And then i got my own, and they'd put money in it for me monthly

My g.parents gave me pocket money when I used to live in Pakistan. I did get a few increases and I used to buy stuff of my own choice.

Never got any pocket money from parents. I've been working part-time for quite a while now and I usually don't ask parents unless I really need something that is either their responsibility or is something that I cannot afford.

*Originally posted by irem: *
hmm

i used to get 3 rupees for lunch at school everyday and 2 rupees for evening snacks [hahaaha those were the days :D sigh kya zamana tha feeling nostalgic ]

LOLOLOL me too hahahaha. Yaar kia din thay. :D

Actually i remember we tried to establish a monthly allowance system once but it failed miserably since i spent my whole month's allowance at the arcade game shop in four hours. lol

I used to get 3 rupees for lunch but never got any for evening snacks,
and when I was in 10th grade I got “promotion” to 5 rupees because at that time even my 1st grade cousins were taking Rs. 5 for lunch :smiley:

I didn’t learn about saving money, but as soon as I started working on campus and got some money, I didn;t feel like spending it since I worked hard for it :blush: but I guess I got pretty good with saving money by living alone and now even my mom tells me that I dun let her do the “fazool kharchi” :hehe:

Eidi and stuff.. we used to give it to Ammi and then she will buy something big for us that we wanted but after a while she refused to kept that money because I will keep telling her through out the yr. “meri eidi aap ke pas hai, mujhay wapis karain” (though she never did) .. I wish I had never gotten into this responsibility of saving money.. life would have been soooo easy!