well i take out $20 from my paycheck for daily needs like food n all ....
n gas n clothes toh on the credit card...lol
heheheeh cheegum and GtG ![]()
kia din thay innit ![]()
what did u guys buy for those 3 rupees? i used to buy one aloo ka samosa or patties and one ice lolly [1 and 2 rupees respectively…remember those orange wali ice lollies and those tricolored ones?
] or else these “slims” chips and ice lolly ![]()
waleed achee baat hae stay good ![]()
ur all so old school! getting paid daily
mazdoor qaum. I used to get paid weekly
5 rupees every thursday back in grade 3. ![]()
later i got a raise and it became 1 ruppee every day. ![]()
but that was my own spending money, like i could spend it wherever i wanted to… buy a boat, a house, car, go to the brothel etc. etc., it was totally upto me to spend the fortune whatever way i wanted but me being a shareef masooom kid, never realized the potential and the possibilities.. i was just happy with candies!
… i,d normally get a pack of bunties (sorta like m& ms), those candy eggs, a blue box with a chicken sitting there and if u slide it, the part below the chicken would slide and u can take the sweet round eggs out and eat
then there were other things like jubliee and pancho and those prince biscuit backs containing 2 biscuits… well it was all spent on sweet stuff… hence the motapa ![]()
apart from that , me n my bro would get bonuses for getting good marks, the goods and the v.goods and the excellents and the stars on our notebooks… (everything had a value)… god bless miss aneela, who had a habit of giving excellent + 2 stars on good work… made me quite rich ![]()
apart from that we,d get watever we asked for alhamdolillah… but i was a good kid and never really did any zid.
omg hahahaha kaka i remember those BUNTIES hahahaah u know they r still avlbl but ab mehngi ho gai haen tho they r still popular as ever tho ab market mein do number bunties bhee aa gai haen ![]()
and those "a blue box with a chicken sitting there and if u slide it, the part below the chicken would slide and u can take the sweet round eggs out and eat "
hhaha i remember that too!!! wonder if its avlbl now…
i never liked that tho…seemed like pure cheeni with no flavor
i was never into candies as a kid waise [yeah i know weird], i preferred chips and imli and chooRan and stuff ![]()
u guys remember jack and jill candy? that was the only candy i liked..jubilee chocolate was a totally special treat, most of the times it was beyond my budget, and polka icecream cup or choc bar was like the treat of my life ![]()
we used to get prince biscuits or munna biscuits for lunch…i still eat prince biscuits sometimes ![]()
sigh good old days ![]()
jack n jill toffees were yum! loved their flavour.
ummm those eggs, well i know they were pure cheeni, but atleast it would last longer :o
ugh, chooran and imli
ur such a girl!
chips are good though, ever tried super crisps with coke?? really nice!
sighhhz, and dont even mention polka… when i was young i didnt even know it was actually called ice cream, i used to call it polka… and choc bar used to be my favourite, and i remember i used to love shezan.
there was a time wen i was hooked to those tinkay wali kulfis from the rairhis outside the school too wen i was in 7th :o
and yeah, jubilee and skipper etc. would be out of my budget too mostly :-/
us friends would sometimes chip in money and get jubilee and other stuff together, and then split it all evenly and have a mini picnic ![]()
u guys
yaad karein aap log
- super crisps
- chooRan chuTni candy
- mayfair bubble gum
- bp bars
- bp gayay wali toffee (u guys remember this one???)
- mitchells toffee (the silver and dark brown wrapper wali)
- gogo pan masala *
- and then there were all those hilal and bp kee toffees..

aur haan remember what a big thing it was when WALLS icecream came to pakistan?
it was the coolest thing to be seen eating the cornetto and feast ice creams
kaka jack and jill orange aur pink color wali aati theen they were yummmm, i dono ab aati haen ya nai
and those pure cheeni balls..uff i was like poora aik rupya kon waste karay ga un pe is se acha chaar anay wali koi toofee le loon.. ![]()
chooRan and imli hahaha..we used to get [can u believe it] 8 packets of chooRan for 1 rupee and 4 packets of imli for 1 rupee haha, ya i was hooked onto chooRan like crazy haha..i girlified my younger bro and hooked him onto imli as well haha
super crisps with coke?? super crisps alone were beyond my budget coke toh doore kee baat hae
lekin haan have tried…also frooto with super crisps…
hahah @ ur story abt polka
i used to eat polka only on eid with my eidi or agar mehmaan ayay hon aur ammi abbu mangayein polka king kulfa ka litre pack..
tinkay wali kulfis? i used to die for them, my absolute favorit. kulfi walay kee ghanti kee awaz aati thee and i would ask my nani for aath aana or 1 rupee and rush out to get the kulfis..
and usually ask for extra “khopra” [shredded coconut] on the kulfis..
not to mention gola ganda, challi, bhuna hua chana
ye sab gand bala mein abhee bhee khaati hoon ![]()
my brother and i and our firends from our building sometimes used to also pool in our money and do a “party” or sometimes gurYa kee shadi hoti thee us pe we used to be able to eat more mehngay snacks ![]()
haha those were such good dayz innit ![]()
When I got pocket money once in a while, I considered myself lucky.
My earliest memories are of 'cuwanies' 0.25 rupees or 0.50, if we were lucky. It would be spent on those candies.
Later, it was one dollar a week (we lived in US), but here we helped ammi and abbu, so it was award for that some work, would be spent on candies again.
With 15 I had my first job, so from there on, no taking money from parents.
mayfair, BP and union bubble gums were so yuck wen u think about it now, but used to get em back then.. aik ropay ki chaar ![]()
later on wen when i turned into a handsome young man, my fav chewing gums used to be fusen and spout. :k:
mitchells toffees were nice… i still remember the freshly made warm toffees they gave us wen we visited the mitchells plant at renala khurd on a school trip… awesome!
anyone remember, there used to be a chocolate called paxies or soemthing like that… little rectagular blocks… silver wrapper wrapped in a red and blue paper wrapping.s
stop derailing threads irem khala. ![]()
fusen and spout hahahaha zaada show off kerne kee zaroorat nai hae
i could only afford them in A levels when my parents reHm kha k increased my allowance ![]()
paxies??? hmmmm nai yaad ![]()
but haxy’s hoti theen the vicks flavored ones white aur blue wrapper mein abhee bhee milti haen ![]()
KAKA im not the one derailing acha u R ![]()
khair waise bhee its my dinner time and im going to have some chicken broast HALAL wala
jalo ab :rotato:
KH ![]()
^ waisay this thread was about pocket money i think ,not abt the luxury lifestyles u guys enjoyed with the rokra.
mitchells toffees , imli and choraaN ,jack and jill and those 1 rupe walay prince biscuites , tinkay wali qulafi and polka:D Irem and kaka satyaNass aap dono kaa , kya yaad dilaa diya hay :o
we used to get 1-2 rupes for candis everyday :-) those were the days .
kia matlab hay tumhara? point maar rahi ho? ![]()
ab main itna bhi burra nahin
buss kabhi kabhi kfc aur bbq chicken pizza kha laita hoon jhatkay wala, bismillah parrh kay ![]()
ghulail gupshup hamara apna board hae aur yahan ki har thread bhee hamari apni hae
jo marzi karein ![]()
mehroo aapi hahaah kitnay achay din thay na ![]()
kaka haww sharam karein ji
when i first went to amreeka i dint realise it was that big of a deal coz it was after all chicken so i ate jhatka in the first semester coz almost all Muslims used to on campus
but i came back to pak in dec hols and told everyone n everyone was like irem that stuff is haraam how can u eat it tum amreeka ja k Islam ko bhool gai etc etc and i felt so bad i never touched it after that ![]()
KH all ![]()
I remember Paxies.. absolutely amazing. It was import quality chocolate (unlike jubilee and pancho and skipper etc) and it was pretty cheap too. One block cost one rupee so it was pretty bearable (even though one block was smaller than a mitchells bonbon).
Fusen was the best bubble ever. I never had mayfair just some sort of a personal boycott against it but when i saw Fusen it was love at first sight.
Would you guys believe there were times i used to save up for weeks in a row to be able to buy a Mars or Snickers bar which cost 30 Rs each and were only available at those defence type high class stores! :-p
:D :D :D