PM Nawaz Sharif: Musharraf to be tried under Article 6 for treason

The rule of law must prevail.

Musharraf to be tried under Article 6 for treason: PM Nawaz Sharif - DAWN.COM

ISLAMABAD: Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif dropped the strongest hint on Monday to file a written request before the Supreme Court to try former military ruler General (retd) Pervez Musharraf for treason under Article 6 of the Constitution.

It is pertinent to mention that if convicted, Musharraf can face a possible death penalty or life imprisonment.

Addressing the National Assembly (NA), Nawaz Sharif said that the former president had committed treason by abrogating the Constitution and he should be tried under the law.

Moreover, the premier said Musharraf would be tried for imposing a state of emergency in the country in 2007 while also suspending the Constitution.

The government will submit its written stance in the Musharraf treason case currently heard in the Supreme Court through Attorney General Munir A. Malik.

Earlier, the apex court had asked the government to clarify its position on the petitions urging the court to try the former general under Article 6 of the Constitution.

Re: PM Nawaz Sharif: Musharraf to be tried under Article 6 for treason

This is something. PMLN government again proves they are better then rest of the lot.

there will be a case, there will be hearing, there will be lots of news then either the amazing lawyers and judges will discover some "technical difficulty" in constitution/law or there will be another NRO. that decision/ abandonment will come at a time when public will be celebrating something else or mourning something else

for now, feel good and congratulate NS

Here we go...
Keep the people occupied in this kind of bandar tamasha and not address any real issues. This is how the next 5 years of this government will be.

Who's gonna hear the case? The judges who validated the PCO?
Musharraf's lawyers can easily shred the case to bits if they broaden the scope of the case. Depends on how fair the hearings will be.

What about treason case on Nawaz Shareef using article 6?

According to article 6, anyone who abetted a dictator is guilty of treason as the dictator himself, and Nawaz joined Zia-ul-Haq cabinet, hence article 6 applies on Nawaz Shareef too.

Anyhow, what is happening is good for Pakistan, as the way thug politicians run the country, martial law would have to come, if not today then tomorrow, and next General in power would make sure to hang any politician he would depose (as what Zia did).

Who knows, we might see martial law against Nawaz Shareef again in very near future and then we would see his body hanging with rope just like we saw body of Bhutto hanging with rope.

No they are not. You judge leaders and governments on economic policies and governance not on rhetoric

At the moment it is all talk. Everyone knows that the military is the real power in Pakistan

The best the PML-N can hope to achieve is humiliate Musharraf by dragging him through courts etc. Personally I w'd be very surprised if he is given life sentence let alone death penalty

And bhai aap decide karo whose side are you on ... You just swing in the direction of wind

At one point you were a big supporter of Mushy and PML-Q, even MQM
Then Zardari bhi aap ko acha lagney laga
Phir for some 'weird' reason you decided to vote for PTI in this election
Now PML-N is your good books!

if i'm not wrong, you were also a big fan of Mushy, no? and "current" PTI which you support is not at all a fan of mushy, and Shafqat Mehmood said he will support noooon in this.

so lets stop calling others thali k baigan and look at ourselves first. and this "Tali K baigan" is supposed to be an insult, which you being a moderator yourself, throwing at another forum member, care about that?

I support PTI but yes I have always maintained that Musharraf (1999-2003) was better than anyone over the last 2 decades

and decisions taken in that period of 1999-2003 have later made it worst than last 2 decades, in terms of lost of innocent lives, complete disgrace of countries sovereignty and sooooo much.

even IK had to offer public apology for supporting him during that period of 1999-2003 which you claim was better than last 2 decades.

I don't agree with all of IK's views esp. his stance on Taliban

After 9/11 the Americans were really angry and any leader in Musharraf's position would have had to do the same incl. IK. Ofcourse he made mistakes afterwards like missing persons saga and attack on judiciary. The credit for Pakistan's present free and vibrant media goes to Musharraf

yes yes, americans were very angry...... lolz,
fear GOD not america
ok lets get back to the topic

This is a lie! Absolute lie.

On paper, I actually support this decision. Some sort of precedent has to be set against an army dictator so next time a COAS thinks twice about breaking the Constitution and ruling the country like a Pharaoh of a God forgotten land. If somehow, they can manage to hold a fair and meaningful public hearing on this case, I think it'd be a truly historic moment for the country and symbol of her emancipation from the fear of army rule.

Strong democracy is the ultimate need and the true ultimate future of this country.

But that's just be being quite optimistic. This case could turn out be a major embarrassment for all we know.

This is what I fear too. It will turn out to be a mere point scoring exercise. NS is one again showing how clever he is. He is NOT interested in getting him punished. He is interested in getting his vote bank satisifed. Well played NS.

jab iss tarh ki harkatein karein gey 'kuch' musalman tau aglon ko ghussa ayega hi

My brother was in the US at the time and these were feelings there as per him. Was it not a US senator who once said the US would have bombed Pakistan if Musharraf had declined to cooperate?

I think he will be exiled :hmmm:, iss se zayada khuch nhi kr saktay

Wah rhay sher. None has balls to say something like that against ex-military head and dictator. Mush should be tried under article 6 and punished to stop future adventurers. Jeo NS, dil khush kar ditta aay.