Re: PM Gilani inaugurates Pakistan's first business train...a private enterprise!
and Pakistan Railways with thousands of employees and hundreds of 8-kanal-house-resident-officers cannot run trains?
Re: PM Gilani inaugurates Pakistan's first business train...a private enterprise!
and Pakistan Railways with thousands of employees and hundreds of 8-kanal-house-resident-officers cannot run trains?
I dont know if someone really thought through the business justification of such venture. If I am a business person, why would I waste 15 hours to travel some 900 KM. I would take a flight.
Middle income families would use this train. It is called 'business train' to justify private sector (read Zardari's friends) directly competing with Pakistan Railways.
Remember, railways operations have over the past few months been super destroyed just to allow private ventures to use state assets for making money. They should privatise the whole thing if government cannot run it.
^ but if the govt privatizes railways then how will the first importer and distributor of pornographic materials, the infamous Bilour Sahib, famous for showing porn movies in his cinemas will continue to suck railways' blood?
I guess if someone complains about bilour's corruption some ANP lover will start the whole debate that we should let Bilour suck Railway dry otherwise it would be considered that Punjab is oppressing minor provinces.
5000 is not a small amount for a one way trip (consider a small family of 4) the return trip will cost Rs 40000.
when I worked for federal government, the fare from Karachi to Lahore and vice versa for airconditioned sleeper was Rs.425.00 one way, and fare of Shalimar was Rs 216 (Ac sitter). New generation can imagine how things have gone down the drain in Pakistan with in period of four decades. Definitely after departure of Bhutto, something basically went absolutely wrong. Who is responsible for this mess, your guess is as good as mine.
This hotch potch privitizing railway will hardly work. It was tried in past also without any tengible results. Railways has alway been a government organization, it should remain with the government with certain organizational changes. First one is abolish head quarter at Lahore and closing of Mayogarden.
^ but if the govt privatizes railways then how will the first importer and distributor of pornographic materials, the infamous Bilour Sahib, famous for showing porn movies in his cinemas will continue to suck railways' blood?
I guess if someone complains about bilour's corruption some ANP lover will start the whole debate that we should let Bilour suck Railway dry otherwise it would be considered that Punjab is oppressing minor provinces.
Old habbits die hard. For once can you stop spreading racism in every thread if you don't have anything to say intelligent?
It's launched by private sector nothing to do with the government though.
Do you think it has been started without the approval of federal government????:)
Re: PM Gilani inaugurates Pakistan’s first business train…a private enterprise!
here is an update on this newly introduced Business Express…some of the on-board passenger facilities disappeared only on the SECOND day of it’s operations.
^^ yeh lo ji. gaddi gadbada gayee itni jaldi.
may be this time private partner is dragging its feet. from what i read the missing things were their responsibility.
**yeah, but i was comparing to the airfare. i think the lowest fare on PIA is Rs 17,555 per person. the trip on Pakistan Railway in AC class costs over 4000 Rupee and besides the the service is not dependable, not reliable and not worth the cost. agree?
Rs 5000 for a businessman isn't a lot of money :) **
PIA has a night coach costing Rs 5/6Ks. Similarly Airblue and Shaheen have low fare flights as well
Do you think it has been started without the approval of federal government????:)
I agree its not possible without the nod from the federal government, but they should improve Pakistan Railways too (as that's the vehicle for the ordinary people). Not many people can use this train, as its quite expensive!
I have a better idea to make this train feasible.
out of 5000 rs they charge for fare, 1500 goes for the food services which is free and outsourced to a star hotel.
stop serving free food, the price comes down to 3500 Rs. have a pantry car in the train or let people order food from the menu and pay for it.
3500 is not a bad fare for this journey. that will make the train meaningful.
I have a better idea to make this train feasible. out of 5000 rs they charge for fare, 1500 goes for the food services which is free and outsourced to a star hotel. stop serving free food, the price comes down to 3500 Rs. have a pantry car in the train or let people order food from the menu and pay for it. 3500 is not a bad fare for this journey. that will make the train meaningful.
They do have a economy ticket (same services without food) for 3500 :)
Service will still be really feasible for families travelling. For average family of 5 people, air fare (night coach which is cheapest) is around 90,000. while on this train it will be around 45,000. People will like to save that 45,000.00 when doing a family travel where time is not primary factor.
Return trip cost is almost half of air travel (and even more if you buy economy i.e without food)
If you are giving credit to federal govt for this then what about medicine killing people? you blamed that on provincial govt?
They do have a economy ticket (same services without food) for 3500 :)
Service will still be really feasible for families travelling. For average family of 5 people, air fare (night coach which is cheapest) is around 90,000. while on this train it will be around 45,000. People will like to save that 45,000.00 when doing a family travel where time is not primary factor.
Return trip cost is almost half of air travel (and even more if you buy economy i.e without food)
i didnt know they had an economy class in the same train. all news media said that it has a flat fare of 5000 and 9000 for round trip.
but you will have to keep in mind that airlines will compete with railways fare. in India airlines are charging a little bit more than railway's express trains on profitable routes. people rather take air route than train on certain routes as the difference is very low.
this train should not try to compete with airlines , instead call itself a luxury train and do business in that category.
my two bits :)
I agree its not possible without the nod from the federal government, but they should improve Pakistan Railways too (as that's the vehicle for the ordinary people). Not many people can use this train, as its quite expensive!
I agree. But this hotch potch system failed the next day. Now who you are going to blame? PR or the private partner?
PM Gilani inaugurates Pakistan's first business train...a private enterprise!
I have a better idea to make this train feasible. out of 5000 rs they charge for fare, 1500 goes for the food services which is free and outsourced to a star hotel. stop serving free food, the price comes down to 3500 Rs. have a pantry car in the train or let people order food from the menu and pay for it. 3500 is not a bad fare for this journey. that will make the train meaningful.
I agree. The price of one way should not be more than Rs. 2500 and both ways it should be Rs. 4000. That is how Railway attract air passengers and every train will run with full capacity.
Officers and emplyoees should be sent to India for training and they should learn that how Indian Railways being still a government organization is runnig in profit. Serrously.
Re: PM Gilani inaugurates Pakistan’s first business train…a private enterprise!
[note]The thread was going a little wayward! Sorted that out.[/note]
I agree. The price of one way should not be more than Rs. 2500 and both ways it should be Rs. 4000. That is how Railway attract air passengers and every train will run with full capacity.
Officers and emplyoees should be sent to India for training and they should learn that how Indian Railways being still a government organization is runnig in profit. Serrously.
Atleast it should be made obligatory for railway staff to travel through train, it will improve quality when biloor and other people at highups will travel.
....Officers and emplyoees should be sent to India for training and they should learn that how Indian Railways being still a government organization is runnig in profit. Serrously.
Niyeat hi nahi hai. If they WANT to, Pakistan Railways can still do great. But like our government, the (mostly political appointed) officers are more interested in receiving kickbacks on contracts or leeching whatever is left of the organization.
If you don't privatize, then it is government's responsibility to ensure efficient running of Railways. But then, the agencies, ISI and Chief Justice won't let them do anything and force them into idiotic ventures like this.