PM calls for action against seminaries backing terrorism

I suggest you start that form Punjab.

Sharif calls for action against seminaries backing terrorism - Pakistan - DAWN.COM

Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif.—AP/File
QUETTA: Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif has directed the provincial governments to implement the National Action Plan (NAP) and take stern action against terrorist organisations and proceed speedily on those death penalty cases in which mercy petitions have been rejected.

Presiding over a meeting of the Balochistan Apex Committee held here on Wednesday, he said religious seminaries and organisations involved in terrorist activities should be identified and proceeded against. No terrorist or militant organisation should be spared.

Also read: NAP objectives have to be met: PM

The meeting was attended by Army Chief General Raheel Sharif, Balochistan Governor Mohammad Khan Achakzai, Chief Minister Dr Abdul Malik Baloch, Defence Minister Khawaja Mohammad Asif, ISI Director General Lt Gen Rizwan Akhtar, federal ministers Khawaja Saad Rafeeq and Jam Mohammad Kamal, Commander Southern Command Lt Gen Nasser Khan Janjua, Senior Minister and PML-N’s Balochistan President Sardar Sanaullah Zehri, Home Minister Mir Sarfarz Bugti, former prime minister Mir Zafarullah Jamali, Chief Secretary Saifullah Chattha, Home Secretary Mohammad Akbar Durrani, Balochistan Inspector General Mohammad Amlish Khan and Frontier Corps (Balochistan) IG Maj Gen Shair Afghan.

The prime minister stressed that terrorism must be dealt with sternly and militant and terrorist organisations which were not ready to hold peace talks with the government would have to face action.

“No one will be allowed to wage insurgency and commit violence under the patronage of sectarian and other organisations,” he said, adding that his government was committed to implementing NAP and eradicating terrorism and extremism.

Referring to the implementation of the action plan in Balochistan, he said the federal government and the army would fully support the provincial government in its efforts to rid the province of terrorists and extremists. Durable peace in the province is one of the objectives of the plan.

Mr Sharif asked all provincial governments to take steps for capacity building of police and other law-enforcement agencies. “The federal government has been providing funds to all the provinces, including Balochistan, for the purpose so that their police and law-enforcement agencies could play an effective role in the war against terrorism,” he said. The provincial governments would have to pay special attention to law and order and free law-enforcement forces of political interference.

He said the strength of counter-terrorism departments should be increased to enable them to effectively deal with the menace of terrorism.

“We will have to take tough decisions to achieve the objectives of the National Action Plan,” he said, adding that there should be no compromise in its implementation.

The prime minister said his government and the army were on the same page and working jointly to root out terrorism. “Civil and military leadership and all political parties had been taken on board while formulating the NAP,” he said. Elements out to destroy peace will not be allowed to continue their violent activities.

He claimed that efforts by the federal and Balochistan governments had controlled target killings and attacks on the Hazara community had been reduced. He directed the authorities to provide security and protection to communities facing sectarian violence.

The prime minister said the parliament had amended the Army Act to make the National Action Plan more effective.

Chief Minister Malik Baloch and Chief Secretary Saifullah Chattha briefed the meeting on measures being taken to implement the action plan in Balochistan.

They said that a number of steps had been taken against militant and terrorist groups under the plan. About 80,000 unverified mobile phone Sims have been blocked over the past few days.

Published in Dawn, February 19th, 2015

Re: PM calls for action against seminaries backing terrorism

I think they already have...

Some stiff operation is going on in Punjab, specially in Faisalabad & Okara region...

well regardless of my hate towards sharif brothers i can say this with confidence that a large scale operation is going in Faisalabad region. one can see QRF (quick response force) jeeps visible 24/7 @ major markets & roads.

stop and frisk kind a New York style happening with quiet a people i know, two or three black SUV suddenly stop any car and 7-to-8 people check your car with what-not gadgets and so on .. if everything is fine they said, sorry you can go. by the way they are not police guys, more like Counter Terrorism dept agents in plain clothes.

i am liking it, keep it up !

What about large scale operations to shut down madrassah's, illegal mosques and uneducated mullah's spewing hate from the masjids in punjab and elsewhere?

Frisking cars is just a bandaid solution. This is a systemic problem that requires major surgery. Why is laal masjid mullah not rotting in jail or 'disappearing'? Why is Jamia Hafsa not shutdown and the kids sent to real schools and not suicide bombing factories.

Ganja doesnt get any credit yet.

what the…:confused:

couldn't agree more.

kash kabhi NY mein rahe hote..
Stop-and-frisk in New York City - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

Frisking cars you mean like in Karachi becharey "double sawari" waley pakrey jatey hain and target killers roam around without any problem?

N$ ke peer o murshad marHoom janaab-e-Zai-ul-Haq saaHab kii rooH qabr meN taRap ke rah gaii hogii! :bummer:

Frisking Cars, keeping a close eye on jahil mullahs in madrassas is just a small approach in countering terrorism. The parents of these children who keep a blind eye to what their children are learning in madrassas (or even schools) are equally responsible. One does not just get radicalized overnight, but it takes some time. If the parents of these kids showed a bit more maturity and asked what they are being taught at madrassa/school, perhaps many of these kids can be saved from being radicalized. I know that majority of the parents of kids who attend madrassas are illiterate themselves, but Allah has given each individual enough capacity that they can differentiate between black and white. It doesnt take rocket science for a parent to find out if the kid is becoming radicalized. But then again, there is always the possibility that parent themselves are intolerant of other nations/religions, and dont care if their child adopts the same ideologies.
We as a nation really need to focus on Education and Employment. When one is illiterate and has no job (not even a prospect of a decent job), they quickly fall prey to radicalization.

we don’t have target killing kind a problems in Faisalabad. p.s car mein double sawari ka kya chakkar hai? :confused:

Year I meant to say that whenever something happens police start all kinds of road blocks and does nothing but bug masoom people trying to reach home specially double sawari motorcycle sawars and terrorists, well they keep on continuing their work. To finish them effectively we need two thing

1. Intelligence
  2. Will to fight and eliminate them at all human and political costs

too bad we are lacking both.

^ Thank God, Karachi people are living in hell.

we don't have aggressive policing of Karachi style here in FSD yet. Road blocks none i see in my little time frame apart from when a bomb blast at local ISI office few years ago and last month hanging of TTP dogs.

I like the new QRF force they are strategically travelling in like every few blocks for best response in the unfortunate event.

Yar import some badass bhai log from khi just for a change .. :wink:

جب پاکستان کو بھٹو کی بیماری لگی تو پاکستان کی قوتِ مدافیت کمزور ہو گئی اور اس کمزوری کا فائدہ اٹھا کر شریف وائرس پھلتا پھولتا رہا اور آج بھٹو کے برابر کا گناہ بن کر خون پی رہا ہے.

جیالے لاکھ صفحے کالے کریں بھٹو کی شان میں مگر بھٹو ضیاء اور شریفوں میں صرف نام کا فرق ہے.

can we start with LAL-masjid then? There is a FIR registered against Mulzim Abdul Aziz,what is stopping them from taking action? FACT is They just don't have the guts to take action against likes of Abdul Aziz who openly patronises Taliban and threatens the state and it's citizens.
When they can't take on likes of Abdul Aziz... I have no faith in this spineless and impotent govt... Juke masoom logon ki dead bodies pe siyasat kerte hen or unke qaatilun k saath secret deals sign kerte hen...!!