Plz don't read these Translations

Please, don’t read:

Assalam Aleekum
Brothers and Sisters

These are the few English Translations of Koran THAT MUST NOT be read by Muslims.
I will write it down again. AVOID(don’t read, don’t consult) these Translations.

First Category
Ali, S.V Ahmed.1962
Shakir, M,M 1982

Second Category
Ali, Muhammad.1917
Sarwar, Ghulam.1920
Ali, Sher. 1955
Peer Salahuddin 1960
Nuri, Khadim Rehman 1964
Farid, Malik Gulam 1969
Khan, Zafarullah 1970

AVOID THE ABOVE TRANSLATIONS.

Also note that ENGLISH READERS will find either Yusuf Ali’s or Maududi’s commentaries a good source.

Khoobsurat Paragraph:

PicktHall writes in his foreword of 1930:
The Koran cannot be translated. The book is here rendered almost literally and every effort has been made to choose befitting language. But the result is not Glorious Koran, that inimitable symphony, the very sounds of which move men to tears and ecstasy.
It is only an attempt to present the meaning of the Koran and peradventure something of the charm in English. It can never take place of Koran in Arabic, nor It is meant to do so.

Source:
DivineIslam.com

One of the commentary mentioned by the original poster is available online. It is by Malik Ghulam Farid [Edited]

Yes, Fatah Sahab. The one that you mentioned should
be AVOIDED.

*Originally posted by rehman1: *
Yes, Fatah Sahab. The one that you mentioned should
be AVOIDED.
Indeed.

Mr. Rehman!,

The one I mentioned should be read by everybody and shouldn't be avoided by anyone. It is the best one out there.

[Edited]

if u seek translation, pickthall's is the best....
and its readily available all over the net....

and i think tafisr of ibn kathir is good enuff....
maududi's tafsir is also a very good one....

but fateahmed, the point here is to warn muslims form not reading these....
ahmadis (qadiyanis) r not the audience in the post (nor in the mind of the author of the thread)....

so, Muslims shud avoid tafsir/translation by ahmadis and other non-muslims cuz a person who doesnt follow the faith cant give justice to translate the scripture....

i'll quote pickthall "It may reasonably be claimed that no Holy Scripture can be fairly presented by one who disbelievers its inspiration and its message"

Plz don't read these Translations<<<

Why are you worried about people not reading? 70% of Pakistanis can’t even read or write their own name, do you think that it is important to remind them not to read? First go and teach them how to read, then it will make sense to ask them not to read. Doesn’t make any sense right now.

While we are at it, I would also like to remind my Pakistani brethren not to fly their helicopters so low, as the noise bothers me.

*Originally posted by Madhanee: *

Plz don't read these Translations<<<

Why are you worried about people not reading? 70% of Pakistanis can’t even read or write their own name, do you think that it is important to remind them not to read? First go and teach them how to read, then it will make sense to ask them not to read. Doesn’t make any sense right now.

While we are at it, I would also like to remind my Pakistani brethren not to fly their helicopters so low, as the noise bothers me.

Madhanee .. the intended audience I am sure was the people who are communicating via GupShup forum ... so I am sure people who can make it to GupShup should be able to read English... :)

Why do you object to Muhammad Shakir translation? Thanks.

Assalam Aleekum
Lajawab Bhi And AQ Bhi, please forward the information in this
thread to your friends here at gupshup thru PM.
Shukria.

AQ bhi Urdu tarjuma ka webaddress, please post kareee.

take care

And SHUKRIA Mughal Bhi, Bang _E_Dara Bhi and Chachoo Bhi.

*Originally posted by rehman1: *
Assalam Aleekum
Lajawab Bhi And AQ Bhi, please forward the information in this
thread to your friends here at gupshup thru PM.
Shukria.

AQ bhi Urdu tarjuma ka webaddress, please post kareee.

take care

And SHUKRIA Mughal Bhi, Bang _E_Dara Bhi and Chachoo Bhi.

munni ji ki baat ka jawab dee na aap

Shaakir is widely quoted. Please provide some basis for your original post. Thanks.

Assalam Aleekum
Shakir Sahab has included some doctrines in the subject index of koran
which must not be read with reference to Ayats.
So its best to avoid quoting his translation.
DivineIslam.com
take care

Why are you asking people not to read?. You should present your point of view on these translations and leave the people to conclude.

Fungo, he is asking people not to read who can’t read to begin with. He is ‘emphasizing’ the point so it is understood clearly beyond any benefit of doubt. I have always wondered why Allah sent Quran only in Arabic, and why not, for example, in Sanskrit?

After reading the list of authors the list seems very secterainly divided.

Anyway, Maulana Sher Ali’s translation was the first to be made available in the west, especially in the USA. For the longest period of time it was the only translation available. Many benefited from it and I personally know a number of African Americans who consider it the most profound translation they have read in the English language.

Usually when people try to suppress publications, by stressing that a certain book should not be read they are actually admitting to their own failure to counter that publication. And in their frustration they have no choice but to propagate a boycott, which in most cases doesn’t really work. It happens in sports too actually, when teams who refuse to play their rival because they know that their rival is better than them but rather than admitting their lack of talentb make up all kinds of excuses.

I am just trying to inform my Bros and sisters. Thats It.
Wese I read Quraan.com and Islamicity.com.

take care

I am curious and want to read those translations, anybody tell me where can I find them?.

Thanks

Hi,

I posted the link to one of those translations and commentary but unfortunately was deleted by the Moderator. Can you a open a new thread so that links can be posted on that one as this thread is not intended for that.

*Originally posted by ahmadjee: *

Anyway, Maulana Sher Ali’s translation was the first to be made available in the west, especially in the USA.

or was it pickthall????