plz come fwd as a nation

i hav opened a group on FB fightining for our national language.
Facebook has been launched in 64 languages but Urdu is no where to be seen. why???
Urdu has approximately the twentieth largest population of native speakers, among all languages. Hindi n Punjabi r included but not urdu??

Login | Facebook

i need everybody’s support. we guyz hav to stand up n get noticed too. so plz help me do it.

mods i posted it here for ore viewing. if u think its not the right place than do wat u hav to do :slight_smile:

Re: plz come fwd as a nation

aaj tak aur kiya kya hai? :aq:

chalo batain mat banayo. take a step forward. b our leader and hum sub aap k peechay hain :)

i'm moving it to AV so it doesn't get lost in the flooding and the proper audience can view it...maybe the mods there will sticky it....

well last time in All views nobody participated which i'm amazed at. but c'mon ppl don't stay quiet. don't accept things just like that. if indians n sikhs r everywhere we pakistanis r not anything less either. in my kidz schools even newsletters r printed in eng, arabic n punjabi but wat abt urdu?

That is a kind of a "Congrats, you are educated enough to speak two languages and can communicate with us just fine in our native language. In fact, you guys are the kind of immigrants we need, not these kind who can't even learn proper English".

BTW, how many people do you know who do their computing in Urdu? Romanized slang Urdu doesn't count. Do you know anyone who uses Windows in Urdu? Or uses MS Word to type in Urdu? I used to work in a university doing tech support and often had to help Arab, Chinese and Korean students with installing the local language pack in Windows XP. They use it because they grew up using computers in their language.

Just my opinion, but this Arabic style font for writing Urdu on computer is really hard to read. Urdu is written with a different font, much like Persian and less like Arabic.

I'll gladly join the group, but before jumping on the bandwagon, we need to look at some facts. Do we know the constituent population of Urdu speakers as a proportion of total facebook members? May be we're not in the top 64 languages that are spoken by facebook members? facebook is a commercial venture and any expenditure they undertake has to have a viable basis.

Same thing goes about your school comment... in deciding the top 3 or 4 languages, they're catering to the top 3 or 4 languages that are spoken by families of students that attend the school.

Lastly, unfortunately unlike Hindi and Arabic end-users, we're not very keen nor adept in using the web and other software apps in Urdu (not transliterated). I also suspect that there isn't a universally accepted standard for Urdu syntax yet.

this is the real thing that we r not keen... as for hindi n punjabi or arab kidz in my kidz school pakistanis r a lot but yes we r not keen. even i went to bank and it was written the services we offer in languages.... didn't see urdu .
on FB lots n lots of Pakistani ppl even those based in Pak as well but yes we r not keen.

i tried looking for urdu classes for my kids in calgary. there are classes on chinese, spanish, german, japanese,russian , hindi, arabic, punjabi, even bengali and many more but no classes anywhere offered in Urdu.. when i asked our so called pak association they just said nobody's interested. Our Pak canadian association does eid melas, jashan-e-azadi, all sorts of functions n parties but when it comes to promote our culture, our language no we r not keen.

Mabrook, i will be more than happy to join in but can you give me the exact link to that page or whatever it is please? I cant find it on facebook because i dont visit that site very often. Thanks:)

jub option ho ga tu ppl might use it.i see poetry everywhere in urdu on FB. its just like "barish ka pehla qatra". lets become that Pehla Qatra.
i don't care if we dont make it ever to top nations of the world. but atleast we can say we tried...

chk the group Urdu Language. its soo new but plz bring up suggestion to make it better.

^^ And where do i find that? Last time i went on FB was like 6 months ago, give me a direct link please.

Mabrook, I agree with your general assessment that many of us are just indifferent when it comes to the promotion of culture and language. However, you also need to look at numbers… compared to other ethnicities, we’re not really that big of a population. Furthermore, many of us still speak in regional languages rather than Urdu itself. It’s all about having a critical mass of people - and unfortunately, we don’t have that critical mass in situations where we wished we did.

That being said, it’s all about engaging people in an organized effort. I’m sure if there were a few people who were determined to make a difference, they can do so. It takes time and patience, and again, many of us just give up too soon and too easily - especially after getting disheartened with the lack of response.

click this link

Login | Facebook

Aap agay ayo na... we need educated minds like u to support us. don't think now act plz
now look @ GS wat it was in beginning n ab kia hai. all collective effort..

Done :jhanda:

well done

so where are all our ppl? nobody showed up so far but *ishaz *. c'mon yaar lets forget for once which provincial language is ur mother tongue n support your National Language as being a Pakistani first. don't get lost in the stream of all those nations who supersede us.

I have to paste this ad here, I don’t know it is good or not but look at spirit only.](http://www.jang.net/jm/sendtofriend.asp?picname=http://jang.net/jm/8-8-2009/pic.asp&id=02_04.gif) ](javascript:window.print():wink: ](javascript:window.close():wink:

http://www.jang.net/jm/8-8-2009/images/02_04.gif

C'mon people, this is the very least we can do.....will only take freakin 5 seconds....so JUST DO IT !