so where are all our ppl? nobody showed up so far but *ishaz *. c'mon yaar lets forget for once which provincial language is ur mother tongue n support your National Language as being a Pakistani first. don't get lost in the stream of all those nations who supersede us.
thanks brother. i hope sooner or later if ppl keep coming up we might make it. now plz find ppl who actually can help developing urdu programme on FB to use. i'm still not sure how it will work but atleast we hav made the plunge. horraay
n i want to really say to all those who r lost in their regional languages love that brother entisaar is supporting this effort even though he's not urdu speaker.
way to go...
I'll gladly join the group, but before jumping on the bandwagon, we need to look at some facts. Do we know the constituent population of Urdu speakers as a proportion of total facebook members? May be we're not in the top 64 languages that are spoken by facebook members? facebook is a commercial venture and any expenditure they undertake has to have a viable basis.
Same thing goes about your school comment... in deciding the top 3 or 4 languages, they're catering to the top 3 or 4 languages that are spoken by families of students that attend the school.
Lastly, unfortunately unlike Hindi and Arabic end-users, we're not very keen nor adept in using the web and other software apps in Urdu (not transliterated). I also suspect that there isn't a universally accepted standard for Urdu syntax yet.
Umer bhai i'm still waiting for u. i know u r very informative n talented person. so come n support us. even though u hav ur doubts just join the plunge.
Aap agay ayo na... we need educated minds like u to support us. don't think now act plz
now look @ GS wat it was in beginning n ab kia hai. all collective effort..
Mabrook, I'm in... but as you've pointed out - GS as a case in point is a result of collective effort with a vision and dedication of many people who complemented one another quite well. Azkar with the technical knowledge and resources, Muzna with the management experience and mobilizing attitude, Fraudz with his marketing and operations prowess, and the multitude of moderators who dedicated their time to the growth of the community.
If we are to make something of this initiative, we need a similar basis. For starters, a combination of people with linguistic orientation, knowledge of technical requirements for language rendering, and a public relations person.
I just joined the group. Let's see what we can do.
***Hi Mabrook …I’ve joined the group and will try to get people on my contact list to join in the effort . Though my first language is not urdu and i learnt it when I was 18 , I still think that when it comes to things like this that we should come together collectively as a nation and make our voices heard !