now thats the spirit ![]()
kitna beytuka time hai match ka .. don’t they have families to go to on eid? ![]()
and what if they ruin our eid too by losing ![]()
if you can’t take it, don’t watch it ![]()
its okay yaar, at least against India, Pakistan goes down fighting till the end even if we loose, I think, most of the time, and that is what I like to see. I don’t watch it just for WIN WIN WIN, as long as there is competition I’m fine ![]()
Pakistan hope to keep winning momentum against India
LAHORE, Pakistan (AFP) - Captain Inzamam-ul Haq said he hopes to maintain Pakistan’s winning momentum against arch rivals India as his team prepares for its first game across the border for five years.
The 15-member Pakistan squad will fly to India Wednesday afternoon for a one-off match in Calcutta at the weekend to mark the 75th anniversary celebrations of the Board of Control for Cricket in India.
“We have won all three previous matches against India and (coach Bob) Woolmer has made a difference in our overall showing,” Inzamam told AFP. He also praised the players for executing the coach’s plans.
Pakistan’s last tour to India was in 1999 before political tensions halted fixtures between the two nations.
Earlier this year India toured Pakistan for the first tour since 1989, winning a one-day series 3-2 and the Tests 2-1.
But since Englishman Woolmer took over in June, Pakistan have beaten India by 59 runs in an Asia Cup match in Sri Lanka in July.
This was followed by a 66-run win at Amstelveen in Holland in August and a three-wicket victory in the ICC Trophy in England in September.
“Since losing to India on home grounds we have shown improvement but we still haven’t achieved the desired results,” said Inzamam, one of only four players in the line-up to have toured India in 1999.
“Wins in the last three matches have raised our confidence but a one-day match between India and Pakistan is always a new challenge for both the teams.”
Inzamam said he has fully recovered from a back pain which forced him to sit out the last two days during his team’s six-wicket win over Sri Lanka in the second Test in Karachi last week.
Also back to full fitness are fast bowlers Shoaib Akhtar and Mohammad Sami, who both missed the Karachi Test.
“When you play before a crowd of over 100,000 at Eden Gardens it’s real tough for the touring team,” the Pakistani skipper said.
“But we will do our best to give an Eid gift to the nation by winning the match,” he said, refering to the annual Muslim Eid festival which falls either on Sunday or Monday.
Pakistan has only one uncapped player in 32-year-old Aamir Basheer. He scored five hundreds at domestic level last season and four in the current season.
Woolmer will join the team in Calcutta after spending a week with his family in England.
Squad: Inzamam-ul Haq (captain), Yousuf Youhana (vice captain), Taufiq Umer, Imran Farhat, Salman Butt, Shahid Afridi, Shoaib Malik, Younis Khan, Abdul Razzaq, Aamir Basheer, Kamran Akmal, Shoaib Akhtar, Mohammad Sami, Riaz Afridi, Rana Naveedul Hassan
Eden Gardens??? Hell no...this Dalmiya guy is a freak!!
If India lose or are on the verge of losing - I can assure Pakistani players of extremely hospitable and sporting crowd...
P.S - I still dont know what fun does BCCI get by staging the games at these controversial venues? I know it smells money but is it greater than country's reputation? The hooliganism puts my head to shame more than anything else.
Well interesting fact if someone pickup the pervious couple of years Eid date and Pakistan cricket team playing a cricket match they have for sure disappoint. it was against SA and someother team....
Stats dont coincide here but when playing against India stats should take a back seat and let the passion and adrenalin take the driving seat.
May the best team win; Pakistan Inshalla!
Mera Dil Kehta Hay Pak Jeetay Ga
, Lakin Mera Brain Kehta hay India Jeetay Ga ![]()
Joke side Per , The main thing is that against india we play with full force and we watch xcelent cric from both sides coz each and every player wants to show performence for the team plus for his own carrier.
Inshallah b Hopeful that we will continue our winning streak against india.
i think pak is gonna win since they r in better form than india right now. although india might have gained some confidence from the last test against the ausies. let us hope that they don't ruin eid for us
p.s i thought eid was onthe 14th
Eid in Pakistan won't be til Sunday or Monday. The match is on Saturday.
^ ^ ^ ^ ^ so much hype before the game !!!
Allah hum per reham fermaye - ameen
Please refrain from such high claims of victory so-on-an-so-forth
Allah has forbidden muslims to behave in this manner.
May the best team win !! Inshallah
^^ I agree on Time and Venue debate
We lost Sixes to Sri-Lanka and England win the championship 2nd time.
Pakistan ended on 4th position, against my prediction of 3rd position.
Highlite of the match ; Holland beat kenya ![]()
*Originally posted by bitter: *
Eden Gardens??? Hell no...this Dalmiya guy is a freak!!
If India lose or are on the verge of losing - I can assure Pakistani players of extremely hospitable and sporting crowd...
P.S - I still dont know what fun does BCCI get by staging the games at these controversial venues? I know it smells money but is it greater than country's reputation? The hooliganism puts my head to shame more than anything else.
dude it's one of the most interesting venue in the whole world.i would say all the matches should be played there and in AUssie(bcz i like aussie grounds)newayz about your point.it does not matter crowd behaviours can happen any where.it does not depend on a venue.so hoping for TIGHT and CRUNCN game :D
hahha it will be great man. A game in front of liek 80 000 screaming Indians. Damn its gonna be an ugly crowd though ahahahhah
*Originally posted by jatt_pathan: *
dude it's one of the most interesting venue in the whole world.i would say all the matches should be played there and in AUssie(bcz i like aussie grounds)newayz about your point.it does not matter crowd behaviours can happen any where.it does not depend on a venue.so hoping for TIGHT and CRUNCN game :D /QU
no offense to anybody but the desi crowds are pretty bad. u can tell the difference between the maturity level of desi people and rest of the world. i think we all know that since most of us have been around desi crowds. anyway about the match, the crowd is gonna be pretty nasty and an airplane won't even disturb the noise level
p.s is this site only famous in U.S or all over the world.
Crowd
Aha! the crowd and approx 80,000...
well wont this be the test of our new Pakistani team, the faces we will see for the many years to come.
Winning and losing is the part of the game and shouldn't matter much. ..
But its the way how they will play. True test of their metal and yeah Coach Bob Woolmer.
something tell me they (pakistani team) will pass it in flying color.
*Originally posted by pakinecro: *
p.s is this site only famous in U.S or all over the world.
dude didn't get this part.r u talking about this Gupshup site.pardon me for my dumbness :D
*Originally posted by jatt_pathan: *
dude didn't get this part.r u talking about this Gupshup site.pardon me for my dumbness :D
Yes I think J-Patthan he is referring to that exactly...
from what I know
USA, Canada, UK, Kangroos and Kiwis, Germany, Dutchland, and Bonjour.
and apna Pakistan, Hindustan, Bhalo bhasay.
thats to best of my knowledge but I know there are waaaaaaaaaaaaaay more guppies from many countries.
Deoes any body know if willow TV is broadcasting it?
I mean www.willow.tv, that is?
kinda off topic, but shoaib (allah kay banda) akhtar was seen on haji ali masjid in mumbai. He said that he prayed for peace between india and pakistan.
He also attended a iftar party there also.