--Placing your trust in Allah

got this in an email thought I would share it here…it made me understand the statement that I had heard thats in the end:)

One day Allah’s Messenger, sal Allahu alayhi wa sallam, noticed a
Bedouin leaving his camel without tying it. He asked the
Bedouin, “Why don’t you tie down your camel?”
The Bedouin answered, “I placed my trust in Allah.”
At that, the Prophet, sal Allahu alayhi wa sallam, said, “Tie
your camel and place your trust in Allah” - Tirmidhi

[Lessons from this hadith] Placing trust in Allah means doing
everything that is necessary for success! -that’s a big one!

Re: --Placing your trust in Allah

so true... thats what my mum says aswell.

True. Heard this hadith many times. There is also an ayah where Allah says that He does not change condition of any nation until they change themselves. In similar manner, I was reading this book taken from work of Ibn Kathir where Umar (R.A) was khalifah. [Note: I am quoting from memory] *Umar (R.A) was standing in market with another sahaba. He saw a group of people that claimed they were putting their trust in Allaah while at the same time they were abandoning the means. He asked the sahaba standing next to him, *'Who are they?'...The sahaba replied 'They are mutawakiloon (those who place their trust in Allah)'...Upon hearing this, Umar (R.A) went upto them and said to them 'No, rather you are Muta’akkiloon (those who look to be fed). You know that the sky does not send down silver and gold'

in KhalifaouN ki to baat hi kuch aur hai, MA!

but its true... u only put ur trust in Allah SWT after u have made an effort in a respective direction... its like ppl in pakistan tell u the silliest stories... "i have a cousin, he left school to do hifz in grade 6, then came back to give grade 10 paper WITHOUT any studying, and got 90% plus!?!....

rabbana alaika tawakkulna, wa ilaika anabna, wa ila'eekal maseer, Amin.

Take the example of birds. They fly out in the morning with their stomach empty return home with that which Allah provides for them. They do not sit in their nest all day waiting for food to fall down from Heaven. :)

know what... when i was young, I always internally blamed the jews that we have to cook our own food bcoz had they not asked Allah SWT 4 it, we'd still be getting food from the heavens... lekin ab mein barhi ho ga'e houN (at least taller anyways lol)

Peace All

May Allah (SWT) reward you guys and girls for the nice words on this topic. To me, this is one of the harder topics that seems to fall by the wayside with dismissive convenience type of argumentation.

Something always seems to be lacking when people interpret the "effort" prior to the "trust" as a sequence of events. In a way it paves the way to a dangerous understanding on a philosophical basis and also on a moral basis.

Here is why ... I believe you all know this anyway but just to be clear on this.

If it was merely a matter of placing trust in Allah after the event then people can argue that Allah (SWT) is absent in that effort. They call it circular argumentation, actually it is not, but when it is understood that way the hole seems to form.

Also, people refer to the effort as some arbitary action which has no definite bearing on right or wrong action or good or bad action. And the priority of actions and trust. If Islamic obligations are being side-stepped to facililate effort for studies for example, then the effort is being made, but at a cost. It means we are putting trust in our effort.

So here is my understanding of the hadith:

1) Follow a sunnah in as much as we can ... i.e. tie camel because Prophet Muhammad (SAW) tied the camel.

2) Use logic to guide what effort is necessary, but place trust in the instruction of Muhammad (SAW) not in the 'effort' itself.

3) Understand that by obeying the reason behind an action such as taking 'medicine' is contained under the natural laws set in place by Allah (SWT).

4) Never over prioritise "effort" beyond obligation and always be aware of a 'risk'. There is nothing that we can do to be perfect, so trust is always required.

5) Seal an action with "Trust in Allah (SWT)" that the action you have just taken provided it is halal is done in a timely manner with the correct prioritisation and always being aware that Allah (SWT) has command over the outcome had you put the effort in or not, then walk away from the situation maintaining that "trust".

6) Should then an outcome be different from what was intended by the trust, know it to be a fulfilment of the trust as a test of Allah (SWT) or a matter of Qadr, but this point is probably very rare or non-existent.

JAK for that.

this point quoted above; its sometimes the hardest to do, but if accomplished, is the only way one can manage to keep sane in this world...

Wassalam

As muslims we place alot of trust in allah, and i always did, but i felt this was broken any times, ive stopped reading namaz and everything, it hurts alotr, but ive cum to the conclusion, the more u trust allah, the more likey it is that it will b broken

You have to think of the testing phase as a testing time...thisis where Allah mian test your faith as its very easy to remember Allah Mian only in the bad times and not the good ones.Please seek for patience and Inshallah when this too has passed you will come to see the significance of this time in the whole picture point of view.:).May Allah mian grant you patience to go thru this tough time:)

I agree that its easy to remember allah in teh abd and good times, and that he tests ure faith during difficult times. I have always thanked allah during the good times, and kept my faith in him during bad times, but hes always made things worst. I feel sick whn i read my namaz, a god u have always placed so much trust in always lets u down. The people that have always wanted to c me down in teh gutter, allah always gives the satisfaction of seeing this,but ive alaways though that good times will cum after bad, it only gets worst though. And it seems to allah only suppostd those who do bad, evil e.t.c Im crying as i wrote this becos it hurts to feel this, but i just don't believe that what allah does 4 u is 4 teh good of things anymore, i dont believe he is there 4 u when ureally need him

amazing. thanks for sharing.
Best,

Dushwari

Have a little faith tweety pie. Allah (SWT) never test anyone beyond his/her limit and I believe that he authored our life in the best possible way because he knows what is good or bad for you as he knows our future. I have been through this when I told myself that things would get better but they only got worse but you know everything happens for the reason. I quote Surah Hadeed (sorry i have got Quran in Urdu Translation. no english)
"Na koi Musaibat duniya mein atee hai na tumharee Janoon mein magar iss say pehlay kay Hum uss ko paida karein woh eik khas kitab mein likhee huyee hai" (22) So whatever happens to has laready been authored by Allah in book called Loh - Mahfooz . If it's meant to happen then nothing but only Dua can change it so keep praying.
Another thing this life is just not sustainable but akhrat is. You never know Allah testing you in this world because he want to give you Ajar in Akhrat that would be never ending. Another verse in Surah Hadeed " Khoob Jan rakhoo kay duniya ki zindagi sirf khail Tamasha aur aapis mein fakhir'o Guroor aur maal'o aulad mein eik doosray say khud ko ziyada dikanay kay siwa kuch nahin". It's not easy thing to believe in something that we have not seen but that's what Islam is all about. Remember Allah has created us and he does not want us to suffer because no creator wants his creation to suffer/destroy. "Aur Jahan kaheen Tum ho Allah Tumharay sath hai aur jo Tum ka rahay ho Allah dekh raha hai" (Hadeed, 4). Trust me, Allah don't want us to suffer just have bit of patience and days would change inshallah.

Placing trust in Allah means doing
everything that is necessary for success! -that's a big one!

Perhaps Allah had less to do with your success than your efforts.

It's the same logic as "God helps those who help themselves." In reality, those who help themselves succeed because they helped themselves, as compared to sitting around and waiting for God to do a miracle.

Peace worshipyourself

It seems that you haven't read post #8.

In Islam effort is not what we put trust in, we put effort in our works because that is what we were instructed to do. We put the effort in by trusting Allah (SWT) in that command. When we put the effort in, we do so in trust to Allah (SWT) that:

a) He gives us the tawfiq (ability) to undertake and complete that effort
b) That we do the effort out of motion and all our trust is in Allah (SWT).
c) We also believe that if we sit there and wait ... God can just as easily meet our requests.

Our reasoning explains why people who have car alarms still get their cars stolen and people who don't lock their cars still see it in the morning. It covers us not just for what is likely but also for what is going to happen in every case. God Knows and has Power over all.

So, Allah is a master of stating the obvious?

You're giving yourself multiple excuses for when Allah does not answer prayer, or when he seems to answer prayer.

If I were to claim to be able to do something, let's say cure a child's cancer, and you asked me to do so, how ridiculous would it sound if I answered:

I may or may not do it,

or I may do it in some other way,

or I may do it fifty years from now

or I may do it if you do it first,

or I may do it if you do something else for me but I won't tell you what I want you to do first

or let the doctor give the kid medicine, then I will heal the cancer.

And then when the child dies from cancer, I simply reply that it was my will. Or if the child lived because the doctors operated and cut the cancer out, I can say that my hand guided the doctors.

Ridiculous, eh? But that is what you are doing when you give Allah multiple escape clauses, so that no matter what happens, you can either say that it was the will of Allah, or that it was man's fault.

Maybe things just happen, and we can simply accept that without having to create gods to explain why.

2 Likes

Peace worshipyourself

Of course it would sound ridiculous because you are trying to put yourself (a human) in the place of God. There is no doctor that claims to heal cancer patients. They actually give chances of survival or success.

After major operations many doctors say "I've done what I can ... the rest is up to God."

Oh and a slight correction ... it is always the Will of God whether we bring it on ourselves or not. When something comes to pass it can only do so by the Will of God.

Yes, just as it's ridiculous for me to make the claim that I can heal cancer, and then not do it when I have the power to do so, it is also ridiculous when God claims to be able to do so, but he won't.

If everything that happens is a result of the Will of God, it makes you wonder why exactly people suffer so much. You'd think that a kind and caring God might have the Will to stop people's pain.

worship me,these sufferings are tests for human beings,
we r being judged by these tests
Allah swt has said this life is nothing just a test,we will e judged by sins and sawaabs of this life only on dayof judgement.

Just one question for u Do u believe in life after death?