Pindi Express derailed but KRL triumph

*Interesting how shoaib is getting wacked by unknown players. I dont know what really happened to shaoib akhtar. I stil remmember when he used to be very economical and had so much varities in his bowling. It seems like he totally lost it.

The captain waqar younis wasnt very impressive either in the bowling department giving away 50+ runs.
Muhammed Sami our future strike bolwer also gave away 77 runs with only one wicket. Yes I do understand the pitch is suitable to batsmen but if you are smart bowler you shoudlnt be getting wacked at any pitch*.

http://www.dawn.com/2003/03/17/spt18.htm

RAWALPINDI, March 16: Rawalpindi Express Shoaib Akhtar was thrashed for 73 runs by National Bank batsmen but his KRL team still won by three wickets in the NBP One-day Patron’s Cup Pool ‘C’ match at KRL Stadium on Sunday.

After being put in to bat, National Bank reached 292 for five in their 50 overs with Naumanullah hitting a superb 110.

Test reject Qaiser Abbas also stroked a fine 84 not out.

Shoaib following a disastrous World Cup, proved to be the most expensive of the KRL bowlers and could only get the wicket of opener Kamran Akmal in his 10 overs. However, KRL responded in a befitting manner through their openers Ali Naqvi and Saeed Anwar Junior, who struck impressive half centuries. Both struck 12 boundaries each in scoring 57 and 89 runs respectively.

Later, Misbah-ul-Haq (39) and Naseer Ahmed (33 not out) made important contributions as KRL achieved victory by scoring 294 for seven.

Pakistan captain Waqar Younis picked up one for 56 while Shabbir Ahmed and Qaiser Abbas took two each.

Scoreboard

NATIONAL BANK:

Imran Nazir b Jaffar 3

Kamran Akmal c Ramzan b Shoaib 15

Hanif-ur-Rehman lbw b Saeed Jr 23

Naumanullah b Jaffar 110

Akhtar Sarfraz run out 17

Qaiser Abbas not out 84

Mohammad Javed not out 3

EXTRAS (LB-9, W-19, NB-9) 37

TOTAL (for five wkts, 50 overs) 292

FALL OF WKTS: 1-26, 2-29, 3-89, 4-135, 5-282.

DID NOT BAT: Imran Javed, Shabbir Ahmed, Waqar Younis , Mohammad Sami.

BOWLING: Shoaib Akhtar 10-0-73-1; Jaffar Nazir 6-0-26-1 ; Yasir Arafat 10-0-69-0; Mohammad Asif 4-0-27-0 ; Saeed Anwar Jr 10-0-40-1; Ali Naqvi 10-2-48-0.

KRL:

Ali Naqvi c Waqar b Qaiser 57

Saeed Anwar Jr run out 89

Mohammad Ramzan c Kamran b Waqar 6

Misbah-ul-Haq c Kamran b Shabbir 39

Saeed bin Nasir c and b Shabbir 8

Naseer Ahmed not out 33

Shoaib Akhtar c Imran b Sami 6

Yasir Arafat b Qaiser 15

Jaffar Nazir not out 15

EXTRAS (LB-2, W-15, NB-9) 26

TOTAL (for seven wkts, 48.1 overs) 294
FALL OF WKTS: 1-95, 2-109, 3-208, 4-216
, 5-231, 6-250, 7-276.

DID NOT BAT: Zulfiqar Jan, Mohammad Asif.

BOWLING: Waqar Younis 10-0-56-1; Shabbir Ahmad 9.1-0-57-2
;Mohammad Sami 10-0-77-1; Qaiser Abbas 9-0-39-2
; Imran Javed 6-0-30-0; Hanif-ur-Rehman 2-0-18-0
; Mohammad Javed 2-0-15-0

Good to see that the local Pak cricketers are also not prepared to let sub-standard bowling go un-punished. Put it in the right place or expect to get hammered.

well done batsmen!
hammer shoaib akhtar!

World Class bowlers cant even bowl in First class cricket.

sherrybaba,

Shoaib needs to watch his mouth. That's it. The guy has potential but he wasted it in this World Cup.

Against Australia, he said, he will take first 3 wickets, which never happened. Against India, he said he will target Sehwag, Sachin[got it on the ball he should have bowled first in his spell!] but got wacked by both.

If you look at his previous records, he was very economical indeed, as you said. He's a rookie and gotta learn alot. After Sharjah Cup, he's going to be play in the English County, which I think will be helpful as it has produced great players.

Good to see Saeed Bhai at 89. :)

So what?
He is off form rightnow, does the player have to be perfect everytime.
I can bring up all great batsmans and bowlers in history of cricket who have had off days in county matches.

PT ji, its Saeed Anwar jr, not the real Saeed Anwar.

*Originally posted by UMAIR316: *
So what?
He is off form rightnow, does the player have to be perfect everytime.
I can bring up all great batsmans and bowlers in history of cricket who have had off days in county matches.

See now you getting the points.I hope you had used same logic when players from others team used to fail.
;)

Good ek jhatke ne sab theek kar diya hai...

By the way when was the last time SHoib Akhter had ON day.

He's a good bowler but he needs to get his head straight. Fact is, Brett Lee, Shane Bond, Vaas, and others have all performed better at the highest stage. Like all other Pakistani fast bowlers he needs to re-learn his bowling strategy, reverse swing is no longer a factor in cricket with ball changes being accomodated by umpires regularly now as soon as the ball gets a little worn.

*Originally posted by Mr Xtreme: *
He's a good bowler but he needs to get his head straight. Fact is, Brett Lee, Shane Bond, Vaas, and others have all performed better at the highest stage.

True.. And best thing to do it would be if Pakistani supporters stop patting his back just because he can bowl fast and make world record.
Give clear ultimatum to him to improve his economy rate and you will see the changes.Just see how Brett Lee has changes with in 1 year.

Pursuit of world record is useless.

*Originally posted by allah_ka_banda: *

True.. And best thing to do it would be if Pakistani supporters stop patting his back just because he can bowl fast and make world record.
Give clear ultimatum to him to improve his economy rate and you will see the changes.Just see how Brett Lee has changes with in 1 year.

Pursuit of world record is useless.

True. What we need from him is match winning performances not 100 mph wayward bowling. He can bowl as fast as he wants to so long as he bowls a decent line and length and takes wickets.

Indians are more happy at the state of Pakistani cricket than they are on Idia's performance in the cup so far. And come to think of it, they have had enough of Pakistani cricket superiority for the past 50 plus years.

It was Imran Khan in the 70's and 80's, then Wasim in the 80's and 90's and Waqar in the 90's. The Indians are really enjoying their short break at the moment. But trust me, it will be Shoaib who would rule this decade. He is only 25 and most bowlers hit thier peak in their late 20's.

Pakistani cricket is full of exuberant and sensational crickers who have always lived up to their names. Indians know that very well.

fg,

Shoaib is 27 I think. he's got tremendous potential along with Sami and others but they have been bowling to the old rules where reverse swing was a factor. Now we can see that it's been sidelined through getting rid of the ball after 20-30 overs in the one day game so our bowlers will have to re-learn their skills.

Funguy - That Sucks man. Most of the Indians always recognize the greatness of talented Pakistani players like Imran Khan, Wasim Akram, Inzamam, Saeed Anwar, Miandad Zaheer and many others.

Shoaib is 27 (not 25) and trust me another 3-4 years and he will be finished. If he plays another 30 tests and 100 ODIs it will be a big achievment for him.

Yes we may express our joy about how Pakistan got out, but it's not because we are happy at Pakistan's loss, its because of chest thumping of guppies like you which was going on for one year and something like 'We will see you 1st march' or 'Dhotis will be on fire on 1st march', your own signature said something about 'Sachin bowled shoaib 0' or something like that. We are happy at the way arrogance of some of the paki guppies was crushed. We always know the capabilities of Indian team and we know it very well that Pak team has been consistently better than Indian team and I have acknowledged it on more than one occasions.

I still think Shoaib can be another "waqar" he needs to be polish his bowling skills.

I believe it was Asif Iqbal who said Shane bond has been the most impressive fast bolwer in this WC. He is little slower than Shaoib and brett lee but he effectively move the ball in the air and as well in the pitch making it really difficult for the batsmen to defend or to score.

If you look at shaoib akhtar's bowling it has been "flat" and fast. He was lacking slower deleviries ,off and leg cutters and was not able to dictate the movement of the ball.The Batsmen knew what was coming. He was very predictable.

*Originally posted by Asif_k: *

Yes we may express our joy about how Pakistan got out, but it's not because we are happy at Pakistan's loss, its because of chest thumping of guppies like you which was going on for one year and something like 'We will see you 1st march' or 'Dhotis will be on fire on 1st march', your own signature said something about 'Sachin bowled shoaib 0' or something like that. We are happy at the way arrogance of some of the paki guppies was crushed. We always know the capabilities of Indian team and we know it very well that Pak team has been consistently better than Indian team and I have acknowledged it on more than one occasions.

Dude, guess what..our pride and backing up of our team will still continue no matter what. We are behind our team. Pakistan plays cricket that people love to watch. We bring crowds to the stadiums. I mean look at Indian team. If there was no Sachin, who would come to watch Indians play?.

very true funguy, I totally agree.

Sachin is really the only exciting player in the Indian cricket team.

^ LOL LOL LOL

Yaar riz bhai, I am impressed by your sense of humor. Keep it up.

Have you noticed Pakistani sense of humor is so refined and tasteful. Whereas these Indians just say some weird world record of this stupidist statistic and then end it with :he.he:. I tell ya man.

I am sure you are refering to Exciting player like Tqufeeq Umar,Saleem Elahi,Younis Khan…
Yep… Obviously Sehwag,Kaif ,Dravid is not as excitng as them .. :wink:

:hehe: After editing this mesg looks totally different and makes rijwan look like a sufi saint. :hehe:

Thank You ehsan Bhai. You are just too good :slight_smile:

*Originally posted by allah_ka_banda: *

See now you getting the points.I hope you had used same logic when players from others team used to fail.
;)

Good ek jhatke ne sab theek kar diya hai...

By the way when was the last time SHoib Akhter had ON day.

Many times, most famous comes to minds are Super Challenge II where he almost single handedly destroyed the world's best batting lineup of Australia and left them into pieces, and he followed that with one of those most destructinve spells ever produced in test cricket by again destroying the world's best batting lineup of Australia, and dismissed the team for 137 runs and brought back Pakistan's chances of winning.