Piercings

Re: Piercings

^ I find it some thing very cute so Faisal many thanks for your input. Jazakallah

Faisal bhai - Yea it's about time someone brought culture into the discussion, because that's one reason it's looked down upon by some scholars that come from somewhere that belly piercings aren't part of their culture.

A simple answer.

Body piercing is not allowed in Islam, especially, nowadays if it is a trend 

and way of the Kuffaar to do such things. Allah Ta'ala has created us in the
best and most perfect manner and we should not interfere with our bodies
which is an Amaanat (trust). We have to look after our bodies and fulfil our
responsibilities. We cannot use our eyes to see whatever we fel like. We can't use our ears to hear whatever we feel, etc.

Rasulullah (Sallallaahu Alayhi Wasallam) in many Ahaadith has cursed the
people that change their appearance by, e.g. tattooing, joining hairs, i.e.
wigs from human hair, etc.

and Allah Ta'ala Knows Best

Mufti Ebrahim Desai

^ cute or not cute, how bout we just don't do it :)

Trust me, when a da'ee goes out to give da'waa he doesnt start with all the haraam stuff the people are engaged in. He doesnt say, stop eating pork, and stop drinking, and raise your pants above your ankles.

He starts with the Tawheed, and after Tawheed and love for Islam settle in his heart they start on the various aspects of their life, and try to bring them in accordance with Islamic teachings.

Ever heard of the term "Islamic Culture". Islamic culture isn't just Arab culture or Indonesian culture. Islamic culture comes about when the peole of that land bring their values and customs in accordance with the Shariah. Islamic culture comes about, when the people of the land reject the norms of Jahiliyah, and understand whats allowed and whats forbidden in Shareeah..and reshape their lives according to it.

btw. no one has answered the question i raised in my first post. If body piercing is said to be allowed, based upon the ruling that ear piercing is allowed, where exactly would you draw the line. People would start piercing eye brows, lips cheeks, whatever they'd like. Would that be in accorance with the Shareeah?

ok :( but that will remind me of a video 'extreme makeover of islam'

Can I pluck the pierced belly buttons, that would give immense pleasure...:D

marry one to pluck one

^^ man this is expensive option. lol

Alhamdollilah brother for asking this very important question. Insha Allah, the answer to this question will benefit you as well as anyone who reads it and gains knowledge from it. You asked where do you draw the line. Brother, by the grace of Allah, we are provided great sources of knowledge and information. The primary source of knowledge and information for a devoted muslim, is the word of our Creator Our Sustainer, Allah Subhan'wa'tallah: the Holy and Most Amazing Quran. In addition, we have the sunnah of our Prophet (Sallalahoalaihewassalam), his traditions, his words and the lives of his closest companions. From there we have the most knowledgable scholars of Islam who spent their entire lives studying Quran and Sunnah and the rulings made by companions and earlier scholars to provide guidance. This is the pathway of understanding Islamic jurisprudence i.e. fiqh'aa and shaariah.

My dear brother in Islam, the answer to your question lies in understanding of how Islamic Shaariah provides guidance. In all matters of our daily lives, Shaariah provides guidance by telling us what is prohibited. If you notice carefully, all ayats in the Quran that talk about food, actually explain the rule in negative, rather than positive. Allah subhan'wa'tallah does not tell us "you should eat chicken" or "you should eat fish". Rather in the Holy Quran, Chapter 5, verse 3, Allah subhan'wa'tallah states (closest translation)

Forbidden to you is that which dies of itself, and blood, and
flesh of swine, and that on which any other name than that of
Allah has been invoked, and the strangled (animal) and that
beaten to death, and that killed by a fall and that killed by being
smitten with the horn, and that which wild beasts have eaten,
except what you slaughter, and what is sacrificed on stones set up
*(for idols) and that you divide by the arrows; that is a transgression. *
There are additional commands in the Quran about food, so this is by no means the complete ruling, but the point is to show how in Islamic fiqha'a, a command is explained - in negative. Build into it is the Sunnah of our Prophet, which we call the practical application of the Quran. Nothing that our Prophet did contradicted Quran, rather it reinforced it. The purpose of this explanation is to explain how Islamic jurisprudence i.e. fiqh'aa gathers its rulings.

So, my dear brother in Islam, when looking for a ruling in accordance with Islamic fiqh'aa, you should look whether something is prohibited, rather than looking where it is permitted.

Coming back to body piercings, we can look at it from three different ways to gather our answer, in accordance with Islamic jurisprudence.

1. Do body piercings alter the most natural and the most beautiful creation of Allah Subhana'watallah - our bodies?
  2. Do body piercings result in extranous pain to a human being - muslah, and thus are prohibited?
  3. Do body piercings result in muslims resembling the ways of kuffar, something that is expressly prohibited in Islam?

To seek answer to question number 1 and number 2, we have to seek evidence from the Quran and Sunnah that prohibited piercing, not the other way round. There is a difference of scholarly opinion on the ruling. The Hanafis and Hanbalis are of the view that this is permissible. The Shaafa’is are of the view that it is not allowed, and Ibn al-Jawzi and Ibn ‘Aqeel, who were Hanbalis, agreed with them. They did not quote any texts as evidence that it is not allowed, rather they said that it causes pain, and that wearing adornment in the ear is not essential, and is not so important as to allow causing pain to the female for this purpose.

The one who studies the texts of the Prophet’s Sunnah and the lives of the female Sahabaah (may Allaah be pleased with them) will see that the more correct view is the former, which is that it is permissible. The texts which indicate that include the following:

It was narrated that Ibn ‘Abbaas (may Allaah be pleased with him) said: The Prophet (peace and blessings of Allaah be upon him) came out and prayed, then he delivered a khutbah – and he did not mention any adhaan or iqaamah – then he went to the women and exhorted and reminded them, and told them to give charity, and I saw them taking off their earrings and necklaces and giving them to Bilaal, then he and Bilaal went back to his house.

Narrated by al-Bukhaari (4951) and Muslim (884).
Now that we have seen, Subhan Allah, the evidence that piercings are not prohibited in Islamic fiqh'aa, the answer to our question number 1 and question number 2 becomes easy. Yes, it will alter the body and yes, it will cause pain, but the most nobel Prophet (Sallalahowassalam) permitted it in his life time, and thus it remains permitted till the last day.

To our third question where we seek to understand whether body-piercing immitates kuffar, the answer depends on the intent. If the intent is to immitate the vilest ways of kuffar, then it is strictly prohibited. If the intent is to beautify yourself, for the benfit of your spouse, then it is pemissible.

Lastly, my dear brother in Islam, the question raised by you, as to where should we draw the line, the answer again lies in the Sunnah of our Prophet (Sallalahowassalam). If there were a line to be drawn, our Prophet would have drawn it for us. Piercings are permitted in Islam, and there is no prohibition about piercing explained in word or deed in the authentic Islamic fiqh'aa. In ayat 3 of surah 2, Allah subhawattalah says (closest translation)

This day have I perfected for you your religion and completed My favor on you and chosen for you Islam as a religion;
We can not add more to the deen-e-fitrat: Islam. This is a deen chosen for us by our Creator.

On the authority of the Mother of the Faithful, Umm Abdullah, 'Aaishah, who said that the Messenger of Allah, Salla Allahu Alayhi Wasallam, said, what translated means,

*"Whoever introduces into our matter (religion) that which is not a part of it, will have it (his innovation) rejected." *
*Related by Al-Bukhari & Muslim *

In another narration for this Hadith, the Messenger of Allah, Salla Allahu Alayhi Wasallam, said, what translated means,

"Whoever commits an act which is not a part of our matter (religion), will have it (his act) rejected."
Related by Muslim

The Status of this Hadith

Ibn Hajar said, "This Hadith is considered one of the basis of Islam and a pillar of the religion." An-Nawawi said, "This Hadith deserves to be preserved, publicly announced and (firmly) implemented in rejecting the impermissible."

At-Turaqi said, "This is a Hadith that deserves to be called 'one half of the proofs of the religion.' This is because the proof (evidence, Text, etc.) is used to confirm or reject a rule, and this Hadith is a tremendous tool to confirm or reject all religious rulings."

In addition, ibn Rajab said "This Hadith is one of the major basis of Islam, just like the Hadith 'Actions are only considered according to the intentions...', which is the scale with which the actions, in both their hidden and apparent aspects, are weighed."

So, my dear brother Sharaabi, I hope your question is answered appropriately and fully to your satisfaction. I have provided several daleels from Islamic fiqh'aa to explain the answer, and Insha Allah, I make dua to Allah subhanwatallah that he opens your heart so you seek and understand haq and make dawa'a. Ameen sum ameen.

^ not really.

You fail to explain the reasons why the Prophet Muhammad (sas) allowed ear piercings.

No its not all about intent, its about action too. The person over here, wants to show off her pierced navel to her female friends and her husband, and had the issue of Satr not been in Islam, she would probably have shown it to her male friends too. So it is really all about fashion, and immitating the kuffars, its just that she has defined a domain in which she shall exhibit her belly button, i.e. her female friends and her future husband.

ok one question?
are the actions of this khatoon in accordance with the Shariaah?

Alhamdollilah brother Sharabi for your excellent questions. May Allah reward you immensly for your efforts to gain knowledge and understanding. Please bring forward daleels from Islamic fiqh'aa to make your point, just as I have explained in my earlier post. Where possible, please give exact references from Quran and ahadeeth to enable other muslim students understand the sources used by you in reaching your conclusions. Insha Allah you will get huge rewards in this dunyaa and the Akhiraa. Jazak Allah khair and Ameen summ Ameen.

^ Just answer the questions, what daleels do u need from a person asking questions?

Here some answers on Body Piercings... (WITH the questions asked)

What is the fiqh position on body piercing (other than the ears) for women? i.e. nose, eye brow, belly button. Do these rulings also apply to men?

Assalamu alaykum ,
In the name of Allah the Inspirer of truth
The scholars are agreed that it is permissible for a women to have her ears pierced to wear an earring since that is considered an adornment for women. Likewise they have even permitted piercing the nose as women in some communities do.
However, it would not be permissible to pierce the lip, belly button etc, since that is not considered the adornment for any decent women. [Radd al-Muhtar 5:270]
It is not permissible for men to pierce their ears or any other part of their body as that has not been considered an adornment for them by the Shari'a.
And Allah knows best.
Abdurrahman ibn Yusuf

--

Would it be permissible for my wife to pierce her nipples or navel for my pleasure?

Wa Alaykum Assalam wa Rahmatullah wa Barakatuhu,
In the Name of Allah, Most Merciful & Compassionate
The scholars limited the permissibility of piercing the body to the ears and nose (if customarily accepted, whether in one’s area or among upright Muslims). [Ibn Abidin, Radd al-Muhtar]
And Allah alone gives success.
Faraz Rabbani.

SunniPath.com

InshAllah that would help.

^ he's just pretending..lol. You can tell by the number of off topic ahadeeth he's posted as part of his "daleels"

Don't let it force you like that...

islam is a beautiful thing, nothing harsh. Its people that make it hard.

And as bad as it sounds to us, Islam is the only way of life. Look at the corruption in society, its there not because people do bad, its because tehre is lack of islam.

If islam prohibits something, or allows something, its because everything has a reasoning, even if we can't understand. We're helpless humans, God knows better.

And those who have studied God's words and his Messenger's words know better than us. So if they tell us something we shoudl listen, its beneficial in the end for all of us :).

Sharaabi I found them related and helpful in understanding the basics of ruling and how Shaariah provides guidance.

Many thanks Cresent for your kind words, I know i am depress for not getting some thing i like so much i guess its natural and i will get over it.

yes, islam is simple and beautiful but looking at 1 B plus muslims i wish i could believe this.