Physical Attraction

Does there necessarily have to be a physical attraction between you and someone that you’re thinking about marrying???

There is a mystic thread of life
So dearly wreath’d with mine alone,
That Destiny’s relentless knife
At once must sever both, or none.

I think the more important thing is mental attraction i.e both of them should think alike and then there should dash of physical attracytion. that always helps too!

I agree with AliBeta.

We feel that physical attraction is "enough". How ever to be frank, looks come and go. What's deep down, lasts for ever.

Yes of course it is not everything. But what if there is NONE. Do you suppose that it will come after marriage???

So dearly wreath'd with mine alone,
That Destiny's relentless knife

Originally posted by Tube Runner:
*Does there necessarily have to be a physical attraction between you and someone that you're thinking about marrying???

He should at least look acceptable in my eyes....

You shouldn't marry someone if you are not (or can't be) attracted to them. Thats the islamic point of view anyway.

Can you have an intimate relationship with someone that you are not attracted to?

Originally posted by AliBeta:
I think the more important thing is mental attraction i.e both of them should think alike and then there should dash of physical attracytion. that always helps too!

i agree

Originally posted by Tube Runner:
Can you have an intimate relationship with someone that you are not attracted to?

It depends on each individual.

Instead of asking us, u should ask yourself this question if you are contemplating marrying someone you are not attracted to.

Offcourse physical attraction is important, look at the rest of the animal kingdom. Who wants to spend rest of their life with an ugly looking person

THis is interesting..

[This message has been edited by Hinna (edited July 19, 2001).]

No, this is not pertaining to myself. I'm just curious.

As far as i know myself.. i’d go on with a person like me.. i mean to say tht.. not alike in thinking but yet able enough to make n adopt changes accordingly..

well u see if.. she/he like what u like already.. man its too boring.. no experimentation no ego war kabhi kabhi no maza maan.

gotta have mirch masala in married life.. u say one color n she likes another for the room setting for growing up kid.. n then u end up with third or a mixture.. hehehe.. u give in sometimes n he/she does too..

different kinda movie or even music taste would do.. same is boring.. i dont know how many of u would back me up at this point..

aur rahi baat physical attractiveness ki.. tou aap ney suna hee hoga.. JUB DIL GADHI PEY AJAEY TOU HOOR KIYA CHEEZ HAI

^-Frankly ma dear, I really dont give a damn.-^

I'm sure you've all heard the saying "beauty is in the eye of the beholder" and as much as we would like to portray ourselves as "enlightened thinkers" the reality of the fact is that physical attraction weighs much more heavily than mental. Hence, the old man marrying the young and the beautiful.

Our own Pakistani society is racist in that regards to want the "gori" girl who is attractive as well.

Attraction is important on both levels physical and mental but in most cases people will settle for one or the other. And once you are with that person what they lack in mental beauty, they make up for in physical and vice versa. And if you are lucky enough to get both, then you've got the jackpot.

That's my two cents on the matter.. worth a few bucks

Share your experiences - they cost you nothing but will make us all richer.

Originally posted by CoolDude:
You shouldn't marry someone if you are not (or can't be) attracted to them. Thats the islamic point of view anyway.

The islamic ruling on the matter is not so simple.

In an arranged marriage the attraction may come after a while. The islamic ruling is to prevent forceful marriages, in cases where one of the soon-to-be-wed dislikes the other or wants to get married to someone else, or similar.

~Survival of the smartest~

[This message has been edited by aMiGo (edited July 20, 2001).]

It's true. We say that looks don't matter or that we really don't pay attention to them when in fact we do!!!

Hinna,

Looks matter ,but what matters to you as a woman or sindhi may not matter to a mohajir woman.

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/confused.gif

Some myths of beuty are Sindi ,Punjabi Kashmiri are beutiful,but to ppl outside that group ,it doesnt strike as beutifull.

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/pagal.gif

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/rotato.gif

Hence it is impossible to agree on looks.

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/tweetie.gif

Woh afsaana jise anjaam tak, laana na ho mumkin
Use ek KHoobsoorat moR dekar, chhoRna achha

yup, and you are allowed to marry a woman beacuse of her beauty.

All is the Beloved and the lover is a veil
The Beloved is alive and the lover is dead (RUMI)

We we are allowed to marry a Man for his body

FYI, granted people have different tastes. All I'm saying is that the majority look at looks...even for a tiny bit.

Mystical...err who said that????