Petition to Imran Khan: Contest for the mayor of Lahore or Peshawar

This is a serious effort to inject new thoughts in the political process in Pakistan.

Imran Khan has been on the sidelines looking in to Pak politics for many years now. Unfortunately he (or his followers) have so far not successful in making him the PM of Pakistan. It is clearly not working.

How about the idea that all sincere folks start sending emails/letters to IK to make him contest the mayor elections in Lahore, Pindi, or Peshawar.

This is how he can show his political, management, and governance skills to the masses in Pak and hopefully move up the food chain to become the CM and PM.

BTW we should petition the same way to any of the other “favorite” politicians like Altaf Hussain, JI, and other tonga parties.

And if they refuse, then we make a pact as to not ever discuss their possible PMship role in Pak.

Re: Petition to Imran Khan: Contest for the mayor of Lahore or Peshawar

I do not undestand why you should want such a corrupt person like Imran Khan to become mayor of our beloved cities.

^ Agree we should only elect khaleefas and 'clean' politicians like chor Zard 'aari', corrupt NS, loan defaulters Chaudharies, 'girgit' Fazlu and Altaf gangster

1. There is no political position called 'Mayor' in Pakistan.
  2. PPP wants to abolish the local government system anyways.

:bizz:

he might be Kisi main se surkhab ke par nikal laye ga :e6:

A very biased thread IMO

May I ask Burqa what special leadership or governing skills do our corrupt leaders possess apart from belonging to feudal families? Had they not been from vadera families Zardari and Gilani w'd not have made it to the top with the educational qualifications they have - period. You may differ with IK's war on terror stance but there is no reason to believe that he w'd not do a better job than the present idiots

So why should this clause only specifically apply to Imran Khan? Imran atleast is a graduate of a top university. I think he has shown enough leadership and organisational skills by taking on hugely successful projects like Shaukat Khannum (no one incl. many top doctors in Pakistan, UK and US gave him a prayer. They all felt it was impossible given the need for huge funds, organisational expertise etc. but he proved them all wrong) and state-of-the-art Namal University?

precisely!

We as a nation elect untrained people for the PM job and then do a matam when they make fail.

O Bhai!

If you want a driver for your school bus, you want to know how many years has he done the drivery.

The same thing applies to the politicians. They must have an experience managing and governing at a lower level before the get the big job.

Thus we must institute the culture of voting the leaders who rise from the city or state level.

Imran being "highly educated" must realize this basic fact, otherwise he will fail like other poltikos who show up for the job without proper resume.

The same thing applies to MQM/Altaf, JI/Mullhas, or ML/chaudries & sharifs.

Got it?

He can be eleted . If Musharraf comes back.

Ok Burqa

Agree that's how it should be

I thought you were singling Immi out. But should n't being an ex-MNA count for something atleast?

btw BB went straight from being in political exile to being PM of the country in 1988! She had no prior experience, had not held any public office or been an MNA, MPA etc. before that

BB's was a highly qualified lady. Not only she even his father was grown up in a political invoirment and they were educated for taking part n politics.
Now what is the tragedy of Pakistan.
Just See Is there any qualified person on the top slots of politics.
Simply college graduates almost whom B.A. was just possible due to their family influence.
Perhaps no one with good ecadamic ................

See the names

A.A. Zardari
Nawaz $harif
Sh..baz Sharif
Y.R.Gailani
Ch Brothers
All ANP leaders
All MQM gangesters
All PML N Leaders
Imran Khan
Rest there are Mullas with their self created digrees

Har Shakh Peh Uloo Betha hay Anjam e Gulistan Kia Ho ga

Please bhai logo.

Do not confuse "Royal lineage" with "Elected leadership".

Monarchs rule from the top.

Elected leaders are "anti-thesis" of Monarchy, and thus by definition

The elected members should "rise up" from the bottom.

Perhaps we should bring back Monarchy and make Bhutto family or Altaf family or Sharif family as "elected Monarchs".

However if we ever want to have good governance, then we must start from and focus on our city Nazims, our Chief ministers, and other "governors" who have a proven record.

Thus Nazims from Karachi, Lahore, Peshawar should be given a chance to contest CM elections.

Once they have spent few years as CM, then only then we should ELECT them to go for the BIGGY.

The above examples are meant as a serious thought,
and by no means, there is a malice towards Bhutto clan, Sharif clan, or the Mohajir clan.

And if we use this criteria, then we certainly have good people who are working as honest Nazims or CMs. Thus I tend to disagree with the matam that

------her shakh pay ulloo baitha hai.

May be there are a lot of Ulloos. But there are few shahins too. We as a nation need to nurture and encourage the shahins and discourage the ulloos. That's all.

pti is apparantly no2 in nwfp according to imran khan. it perhaps shows what type of policies nwfp wants

Whaaaat??

Thought that IK's supporters want to say that he is a "National leader", then why in the world you want to turn him into a ethnic chauvinist like Altaf clan, or the Wali Khan clan, or a Sharif clan?

so why you omitted Karachi? is that no go area for him?

Absolutely not!

That was just a quick list with ZERO ethnic angle. he is more than welcome to run as Nazime Karachi.

p.s. IK should be elected nazim of Cheecha Watni, Pannu Aqil, ........... before someone complains why their city wasn't included ;)

He might not be a great politician in terms of today's "polyticks", but he is and will make a great Administrator because he know his goals and knows how to get things done. I personally believe Pakistan is in need of an Administrative Prime Minister who can get things done, not one who's great at organizing rallies or bringing together broken political parties in the name of "reconciliation".

Imran Khan's track record of public based, by-public/for-public, initiatives speak volumes about his sincerity to the nation and a majority of its people who consist of middle or lower middle class. I liked what he said in a recent documentary about Namal University and I quote "We need Quality, not Quantity. Pakistan is littered with quantity." And I think what he said applies on so many different levels of Pakistani society whether it's politics, administration, or whatever else have you.

He should contest for more than just a mayor, because his sincerity can only best be utilized when it has the umbrella of being the nation's leader and ability to do great things for the entire nation on a larger scale than city or town.

No but when you mention Lahore or Peshawar and miss largest city Karachi, it depicts something else like he has no chance there or not welcome. surely you can list every city in the country.

and on the topic, why you even suggesting anything to him? and why you think he will be usefull at city level and not national level??

either you making fun of him or doubting his capability.

i think this remarks is disgusting and show that u havent a slightest idea of the syllabus and examination mechanism of the madaris.

students from dozen of foreign countries come to pakistan to learn ilm deen in these madarissas. these institution have gud standing all among other seat of islamic learning in the world, as far as aloome shariah and fiqah is concerned.

alhumdullilah we have very learned scholars ................ so avoid sterotyping

The whole Pakistani voter base doubts his capability. Haven't you realized it? YET????

Him and the Islami Jamatias are all running Tonga parties, and yet we have so-called educated FILO-SO-FARs who keep on beating the "Poly-tickly" dead horses.

And why on earth IK or anyone else find being a "mayor" of a large city as somehow "below themselves" or "demeaning".

The real work is always accomplished at the city or at the most state / province level.

If he can't run a city, how the heck he could claim to run one of the largest countries in the WORLD?

In fact if he ever get elected for the top post, he could very well turn out just like Zardari, Altaf, the chaudries, or Allah rehm karay Qazi ;)

I say Imran Khan for PM.

We keep rotating the same corrupt leaders again and again.

Time for a CHANGE, i think the youth of today should lead this and demand change in the politics of our country.

He certainaly could not make it any worse than it is.