Persecution of Ahmadis Continues Unabated

Re: Persecution of Ahmadis Continues Unabated

Interesting to know that policewalas are graduated from Madarsas. :chai:

They are not even graduates. :stuck_out_tongue:

sorry again but this law has nothing to do with the economy. your just stretching it there.

i agree with you, education is needed but will it eliminate this ignorant mindset of calling a group of people part of islam when **clearly **they are outside the fold? apparently NOT with the type of education the liberals receive.

This is a very heartfelt, very moving blog-- and an eloquent tribute to Dr Mehdi, a kind person and a brilliant cardiologist who became the latest victim of the persecution of Ahmadiyya community in Pakistan. Murder in Rabwah - Blogs - DAWN.COM

Rabwah is an Arabic word meaning “an elevated place”.

This is what Wikipedia says about Rabwah (also known as Chenab Nagar) but personal impressions are all the more relevant; and I know it be a different place.

During our trips to River Chenab, the only picnic spot in the vicinity of our college, we would hear the whispers about this sleeping town. On growing up, I would often visit the deserted streets of the town but hardly came across the hustle and bustle that was quite the signature of a Punjabi lifestyle.

The myth about this ghost city was finally broken when I had the chance to visit it on a Friday afternoon. Members of the Ahmadi community were out in the streets, filling them with life.

Despite living under the constant threat, the Ahmadis were still holding on to Jinnah’s Sri Nagar speech in May 1944.

The debate here is not about the fate of Ahmadis in Pakistan, for the matters of faith are, thankfully, not to be decided by humans alone. Whosoever ends up on the right side of faith, is an occurrence that is subject to an unpredictable future, but what remains Abrahamic about this group is the persecution that ensues.

**Not a single day goes by, when an Ahmadi is not discriminated on the basis of his religious belief, so how could this 26th day of May be an exception?

Dr Mehdi Ali Qamar is today’s count for the self-righteous in Pakistan.

A graduate of Punjab Medical College, Mehdi did his residency from the 10th Avenue’s famous Maimonides Hospital of New York and was currently teaching at the Ohio University. His half-a-century age had ignited in him, the flair of public service, for which he chose Pakistan, a land that he still considered his home. After lining up things for the three week medical mission at the Tahir Medical Centre of Chenab Nagar (Rabwah), he flew alongwith the family and started the camp.**

On the second day of his mission, Dr Mehdi was exiting the Ahmadi graveyard after paying respects to his deceased relatives and community members, when unidentified men shot him dead.

All this, while his wife and two-year-old son watched in horror and his other two sons slept peacefully. A little later, the sun appeared on Rabwah and the day started in the Islamic Republic, quite routine.

Though no one has claimed responsibility, sooner or later, some Lashkar or Jaish will make a call and own the killing; after all, nothing unites us better than hatred.

**Apparently, Mehdi’s crime is the one of his faith, a matter in which most of us, from this part of the world, have little to opt.

It all started in March of 1953, when violence engulfed Punjab and claimed over a dozen lives. The disturbances were stirred when the Pakistani state, headed by Khwaja Nazim-ud-Din, refused to succumb to the clergy’s demand for a systematic purge of Ahmadis. Loot and arson was contained after the military was called in but this left a question mark on the survival of minorities in the infant state. As things normalised, an inquiry commission was set up to find out the reasons behind the violence.**

The committee, headed by Justice M R Kayani and Justice Munir, held over a hundred sessions and after an exhaustive five weeks, issued a detailed report. The content of the report is every bit, an incisive analysis, but its essence can rightly be summed up in the following paragraph:

“Keeping in view the several definitions given by the ulama, need we make any comment except that no two learned divines are agreed on this fundamental. If we attempt our own definition as each learned divine has done and that definition differs from that given by all others, we unanimously go out of the fold of Islam. And if we adopt the definition given by any one of the ulama, we remain Muslims according to the view of that alim but kafirs according to the definition of everyone else.”

But we, as a nation, decided to look the other way and in 1974, the Ahmadis were declared non-Muslims.

However, this, as a matter of interest and reference, must be kept in mind that immediately after the Ahmadis were declared non-Muslims, all the forces that rallied for getting them off Islam, instantly joined hands against the Shias.
Dr Qamar Ali Mehdi was no ordinary doctor. While he held the Young Investigator Award by the American College of Cardiology and was identified among America’s Top Physicians for the year 2003-2004 and America’s Top Cardiologists for years 2005, 2006, 2007, 2009, 2010, 2011, and 2012. He also held the Physician Recognition Award by the American Medical Association. His bespectacled bright face smiled next to his profile that read:

“I believe in delivering the best possible patient care, maintaining the highest professional standards, contributing to the progress of the institutions I am affiliated with. My first priority is to deliver my professional responsibilities with competency, honesty and integrity.”

And with competence, honesty and integrity, he did. **

**I am sorry, Dr Qamar Ali Mehdi, I failed to protect you but I raise my voice against this persecution. I forgo my safety just so that tomorrow I don’t die unheard.

All the notions of a right wing government next door may not be as dangerous as the silence at this rise of ultra-right indoors. The hours of choice are narrowing every second and there remains no option but a totalitarian Pakistan, rising up against extremism. If, today we decide to stay silent about an Ahmadi killing, tomorrow we will be forced to stay quiet on another persecution, setting up a vicious cycle in motion that will leave all our cities as silent as Chenab Nagar (Rabwah), the elevated place.

**Once you attempt legislation upon religious grounds, you open the way for every kind of intolerance and religious persecution.

-W. B. Yeats

the 'merzai's' should all move abroad. I've heard they get refuge claims and residencies in any country easily.
I also believe they're doing pretty well outside Pakistan, specially in the western countries. They got big established communities already.

It's useless for them to cry. Injustice in Pakistan happens to everyone who is not part of the "elite" in Pakistan.
Everyone else is pretty much the same in society. When was Pakistan a place where justice prevails 100%.

Pakistan pays a high price for its religious bigotry | Toronto Star

By: Ahmed Sahi Published on Wed May 28 2014

Something is rotten in the state of Pakistan.

Having been born and raised in Canada, there is a sort of remoteness between me and Pakistan, the birthplace of my immigrant parents. Yet, I will forever be sentimentally attached to it.

That has made the recent string of ugly events in the country particularly sad for me to watch.

First, a 9-month-old baby was charged for attempted murder by some senseless clerics. Then an old man was charged with blasphemy for reciting the Qur’an.

And now, tragically, a poor pregnant woman has been stoned to death by her family outside a courthouse in Lahore, the country’s second largest city, for marrying someone not approved of by her parents. This happened in public, mind you, because that’s how acceptable such practices are seen to be.

Extremism is a widespread and corrosive force in the country. An overpowering religious bigotry, proliferated by the mullahs, has created a deadly atmosphere for many and is seriously stunting the country’s growth.

The situation is bad for all minorities, but is particularly dire for Ahmadi Muslims. Just in the last few weeks, two Ahmadis have been assassinated in broad daylight, including Canadian citizen Dr. Mehdi Ali.

This hatred has a long history. In 1974, the clergy and government concerted to amend the constitution, legally declaring Ahmadis as non-Muslims and passing a series of “blasphemy laws” soon after that barred them from even saying “Assalaamo Alaikum.”

It was anti-Ahmadi sentiment that sent the country’s greatest scientist into exile. Persecuted for his religion, world-renowned Pakistani physicist Dr. Abdus Salam fled to Italy, where, unsurprisingly, he was highly sought after. There, with complete co-operation from the government, he established the International Centre for Theoretical Physics in Trieste, now widely regarded as the world’s premier institute for physics. In 1979, he won the Nobel Prize in physics, the first Pakistani to do so.

Pakistan’s loss was the world’s gain.

No wonder Pakistan struggles to compete on the world stage. Rather than world-class scholarship and learning, the country’s leaders prefer extremist-infested schools, which keep the population credulous but ultimately keep the country down.

Sir Zafarullah Khan is another instructive example of the cost of bigotry. Possibly the greatest international statesman from the Muslim world, Khan rose to the pinnacle of president of the UN General Assembly and became the chief judge of the International Court of Justice at The Hague. Despite these achievements, he has been made a figure of scorn and derision in his home country simply because he is Ahmadi.

For any other nation, these two men, arguably the country’s greatest sons, would have been the source of so much benefit and pride for their people, yet not for Pakistan.

These two alone would have been fuel enough to motivate generations of Pakistanis to greatness, stirring dreams in young hearts that would push them — and the country — toward a better future. Yet Pakistan’s narrow-minded bigotry has deprived the country of all this.

There’s an adage: “A nation that stops remembering its greats eventually stops producing them.” For the greater good of the nation, Pakistan cannot afford this religious narrow-mindedness any longer. Endemic religious bigotry has left many segments of Pakistan’s population living in fear. It has taken countless lives. And it has crippled Pakistan’s prosperity for decades, and will continue to do so if the country doesn’t change its tune.

But alas, Pakistan’s rapid decline is like a Shakespearean tragedy unfolding before my eyes. The problems are self-generated and all too obvious; the solutions are achievable. Yet, as always with tragedy, the main players simply will not listen to reason. And for that, they and so many others suffer.

It is extremely sad that another brilliant mind was lost at the hands of thugs who have taken Pakistan hostage for a long time. Praying for the departed soul and that sanity and peace should prevail in this country.

when would be my turn to be kicked out or murdered?

For those who have been to chenab nagar know how protected this place is. it is difficult for muslims to buy property there and so on. It seems highly unlikely that some one from outside killed him. it is told that his visit was secret one so i think police should look into this factor as well.

Choudhry yousaf a famous ahmedi was killed , his daughter believe that this was internal job and after that she is suffering a lot having death threat from ahmediya jamaat.

Any way i hope police will dig into the matter and will arrest the correct culprits, whoever they are.

read this as well

Is it respectful to shoot someone for speaking out against a law? I want to know for sure. I like my ass bullet free.

A prime example of how far some people would go to “justify” killing an Ahmadi. If you didnt have the courage to condemn a barbaric act, you could’ve atleast kept quiet, but alas you’ll go to end of the world to find any pathetic excuse to justify this killing.

Peace obaid1982

Brother bao bihari has just said that he hopes that the police will dig in to the matter and arrest the correct culprits ... How is that justifying the killing of an Ahmadi?

He has denied that it was an outside job and insists on a careful internal investigation ... but justifying it? No ... He has not justified ... No human should be killed on Pakistani soil and be allowed to get away with it without recompense.

^^^ Disagree. There was no condemnation of the killing - a murder which took place SPECIFICALLY because he was targetted as being an Ahmadi Muslim. Rather, obaid1982 simply suggested a conspiracy theory regarding a previous murder taking place, thus insinuating that the present case of Dr Mehdi is likely to be a result of the same and/or similar cause i.e. another Ahmadi Muslim did it. Why else talk about the fact that property is difficulty to obtain for non-Ahmadi Muslims?

The general tone of the post was unempathetic to what happened, but rather a 'suck it up and deal with it' attitude.

There is a lot that can be said without actually saying it.

Anyway, I for one am deeply saddened to hear of this latest case - particularly as Dr Mehdi was visiting in his capacity as a cardiologist, with the aim of helping people, and had to pay his life as a result of his sacrifices.

Seriously, I don't get this. Its not just about Ahmedis. We muslims have this disease of intolerance. Anyone we don't agree with is an enemy. Lehaza kill them, isolate them, ban them etc. When will we start teaching our kids about tolerating other points of view? How many more generations will it take for us to learn to live and let live? Do we want to be the judge and executioners here in this duniya? Do we believe in the day of judgement? Why are we judging these people and punishing them? Allah ta'ala will judge them and they will get what is coming to them. And we will have to answer for what did. If we don't show mercy to others, we won't get any in the akhirah.

Agree.

I stand up for anyone who is wrongly persecuted, be it Ahmadi Muslims in Pakistan or Christian converts in Sudan. Persecution is worse than killing - period.

The Holy Prophet (saw) taught to stand up for your oppressed brother; if he is the one being persecuted then stand up for his rights. Equally, if he is the persecutor, hold his hand, I.e. prevent him from doing so by showing him he is*unjust. It seems the latter is harder for others to do than the former.

Now that investigation is underway how can we just safely assume that he was killed because he was ahmedi and there could not be any other reason for his killing?

All i am saying is that rabwah jamat is known for such killings, be it rana abrar , master abdul qudoos or yousuf ahmedi. It is childish to assume that i am justifying killing of an ahmedi, mr obaid kindly prove where i have justified his killing.

Brother Psyah, i have not denied that this is outside job,all i am saying is that it is possible to see if it is inside job or not, there have been previous cases as well, like dr shamsul haq who was killed in 2000 https://www.persecutionofahmadis.org/religiously-motivated-murders-2000/ and later it was identified that an ahmedi Mahmood ahmed killed him. (i will try to find news report about this inshallah).

Who so ever did this had no justification for killing a human, be it muslim or ahmedi,but outright claiming that he was killed by muslims is something no correct.

No, he was very likely killed b/c he was Ahmedi. Do I have proof? No, but state sanction persecution of this group is well known & as a result religious bigots murder them with impunity, and get away. Tell us one time when a killer of of Ahmedi ever went to jail?

What a nonsense.

Here you go for 2 second google. Ahmedis

All this discussion is based on your assumption that he may have been killed by some one who knew about his coming and killed him in high security rabwa area just after 2 days of his arrival.

Tum qatal karo ho ya karamaat karo ho.

Ameen.

Bao sahib, I don't understand why quoted the incident that was not under discussion and talked about irrelevant stuff and didn't say a word about the fact that a useful HUMAN lost his life. Rabwa has high security because of its vulnerability and places like hospitals are soft targets. if attackers come disguised as patients seeking urgent attention who would frisk them. Anyways, a thorough and unbiased investigation is needed to find the real culprits. If it is an inside job then it is a golden opportunity for you as whole government machinery is on your side.

Actually, it is the known trait of our opponents to lie and make fraudulent claims just to malign Jammat-e-Ahmadiyya and act innocent. I will quote several examples here. The molvis are the defacto rulers of this country. Although, they don't have significant vote bank but their influence on any ruler including military rulers is well-known. They
can go kill the governor and minister on the pretext of blasphemy and still culprits not get punished for the fear of backlash. They can put blame on anyone on religious grounds especially the groups like Ahmadis, Christians etc. and have their way. They can flare up idiots and burn houses in gojra, burn people alive. and still no significant action against them especially the instigators and you want me to believe that something gory is going on in Rabwa, killing people and all that and everything is calm and peaceful on your side. Give me a break!! enough of nonsense.

Here are some examples of deception on your part:

1) 1974 riots and subsequent declaring Ahmadis non-muslim were instigated by mullahs on the grounds of a single incident in Rabwa. Exaggerated gory pictures were painted to turn common people against us. It was allegged that ears and noses of our opponents were severed. This was proven false afterwards.

2) Maulana Aslam Qureshi. remember this guy? who was alledgedly murdered by the leadership of our Jammat. even bloodsatined clothes were produced. Later, the same guy appeared from nowhere unharmed and said he was on some jihad.

3) A few years earlier, ahle hadith jammat raised a false grandson of hazrat mirza sahib (as) who was tortured on "accepting Islam". This whole story was completely proven a hoax

These are just a few prominet examples that falsehood is the haulmark of your clan. There is no fear of Allah at all.

I rest my case.