my grand mother always says that dont take bath first 3 days of periods..its not good ..veins will fill with water :confuse: it unhealthy ..you will feel pain in back and legs..body gets warm and sensitive in periods etc…
i never heard her and always take bath..i know medical science rejects all this…what she heard from her mother or her grand mother she is passing on us..may b she is right because what buzurg says some time gets right as they have experiance ..science bhi nai reasearch k ba ghalat proove hojati hai
may b there is no harm avoiding bath first or 2nd day of period ..i just wana ask taking bath on fisrt 3 days of period could b harmfull?
your grandmother is right!! Avoid taking bath for first three days. She might have also warned you about the bulky belly. It results in bulky belly too.
I'm pretty sure they mean showering when they use the term bath.
And please please please don't listen to your grandmother. Not bathing is disgusting. There's nothing harmful about taking care of your hygiene when you're on your period.
OMG - I listened to this crap when I was in pakistan too and was surprised how many women there don’t shower for a WHOLE WEEK when on their periods.
I don’t know about sitting in BATH TUB bit but as a swimmer I can tell you that your blood flow STOPS in water so you don’t sit in a pool of your blood. Since it’s uncomfortable, fine avoid sitting in BATHS but there is no rhyme nor reason to avoid showering while on your period.
your blood flow STOPS in water so you don't sit in a pool of your blood. Since it's uncomfortable, fine avoid sitting in BATHS but there is no rhyme nor reason to avoid showering while on your period.
See I didn't know that.
Showers, yes, but baths...I never got how one can do that unless they're wearing tampons and, well, I thought our desi women are very anti-tampons pre-marriage.
usually elders say something which could be right but the reasons they give are mostly not right ... The same may be the case here .. you can take a shower anytime during the period , however, make sure the water is warm.. you dont want your body temperature going down as that can increase pain in the tummy area .. usually if you take a bath in room temperature water, your body cools down a bit ..
The point is even medical doctors discourage doing acitivity that can impact the blood flow , during one period ...
My mother used to say this to us all the time but of course none of her daughters actually listened to this particular advice lol. I shower almost everyday when I'm on my period, it does lighten them too I've noticed.
OMG...how can anyone not understand that blood flow will stop when you are in submersed in water? it's very simple physics.....
please, please, please shower.......just make sure that the water is warm and you keep yourself warm once you are out of the bath/shower. cramps and pain can occur (not necessarily but can) from the variance of temperature. as long as you can maintain a warm temperature you will be okay.
I heard the same thing and one of my friend even told me not to work hard or exercise while having periods. On the other hand I found out that I had less pain if I was moving and working than lying around during my periods.
I have to have a shower everyday regardless of periods or not. But if you want to not have a shower for the first 3 days, just douche yourself with a water bath frequently throughout that time. Maybe take a sponge bath, just to be more hygienic than no shower or bath.