Perfume & ROZA ??

ASAK

Can we wear perfume while fasting? Not ATAR but PERFUME.

jazak Allah
irem

parson se ramzan start hae so i need to know asap :(

kisi ko bhee nahee pata? :(

Swallowing perfumes will invalidate your fast. :p

:smack: google ji mai kya PERFUMES kapron pe CHIRAKNAY se roza tooT toh nahee jata?? coz u know they have a sweet smell and so in a way they are a comfort to your senses.

and unlike something like brushing ur teeth (another post in religion) its not something u absolutely cant do w/ out.

Sometimes I wonder why Muslims were left behind in the race to technogical/societal improvement.. then questions like these make it clear that to this day they debate matters like using colognes/deodrants/brushing their teeth etc and try to find answers in their religion when the religion was only to show them the straight path and bring them to the oneness of Allah.. not tell them how to fry eggs or if wearing pants was halaal.. we were supposed to develop our intellect enough to be able to use common sense for that.

PA bro,

asak, thx 4 the reply. i'm usually not one for such issues -- if u read my reply in Sheraz CT's post abt brushing teeth. its just that personally i dont consider perfume an absolute necessity, as opposed to brushing teeth and deodrant. and usu during ramzan elderly aunties always say to me that wearing perfume nullifies fasting. i did think about it logically myself and am not too convinced, thats why i asked. coz perfume does give a good feeling to ur senses which i am not sure is allowed while fasting or not.

anways, who says muslims are left behind in the race to tech and soc improvement? different topic altogether. tech maybe, but soc, we are ALHAMDULILLAH far better than any other societes...aho

ramzan mubarik,
irem

Peace ierm,

We may pride ourselves for forcefully minimizing public interaction between people of the opposite sex, but that certainly is no hallmark of societal progress as a whole.

Are we really a 'better' society?? Have we minimized corruption, waste, illiteracy, oppression, tyranny, intolerance, bigotry, duplicity, hypocricy?

Are we even remotely close to progressive nations in any of these departments? or showing any major signs of progress?

If not then there MUST be something fundamentally wrong with our 'system of life' majority of which is derived from our religious beliefs. There MUST be something in this 'religious system' of ours that was not revealed by Allah or meant to be, but was rather a human invention and an ill conceived one at that.

may you and your family enjoy the blessed month of Ramazan... inshallah.

and still nobody answers my question aur ramzan kal hae :crying:

bass i dont care hun te mein khashboo laga rai aan :snooty:

its a majboori lol coz my closet is next to the stove and my clothes constantly keep smelling of desi masalay if i dont thopafy perfume on them :disgust:

*Originally posted by irem: *
bass i dont care hun te mein khashboo laga rai aan

There u go... aisay hi itna taraddud kiya. :)

Seriously, I have never heard this question before. Probably because its considered a nonissue. There are certain things you are not allowed to do while fasting, and that short list is pretty clear. Whether some things are necessary or not (brushing or perfume etc) is probably not the criteria.

purely based on common sense and the true message of Ramadan, I don't think that wearing perfume nullifies your fast.

so basically we can do anything what we feel like doing?

What makes you think anyone is advocating that?

irem , Perfume is perfectly fine in roza....
do not worry or bother :)

you wrote: .. we were supposed to develop our intellect enough to be able to use common sense for that.

we might not agree on something so how do we know who is right? thats why we need more then Quran and thats what Prophet said as well

I think The only reason why some scholors say perfumes are “Makrooh” (they dont say its haram or it will break rozah but Makroh) is bcos some of them contain Alcohal, the perfumes that dont contain Alcohal are fine. so just to be on safe side, just try to avoide those which got alcohal, (try readin on the bottle u will find if one contains it)

:bravo:

Agreed

Shariat is based on Quran, Hadith & then at end Comman Sense.

We have to find the answers in Quran & Haith first & then rely on Comman sense, but few of our friends use thier common sense first & never bother to see what religion says.

& then again question arise, whos common sense? every one will have a diffrent opinion, so atleast i will follow who has more knowledge of Islam, (like Alim or Mufti or Scholar) bcos his common sense will be more closer to Religious point of view, while mine maybe a sense the world i live in which is far from religion.

:bravo:

jazak Allah for replying everyone :flower2:

Jony bhai - i always had this question abt alcohol in perfume - maybe its a dumb one - but doesn’t the alcohol EVAPORATE? so what’s left on your clothes doesn’t really contain alcohol or very very little? and its definitely not enough to intoxicate you via inhalation! then is it still an issue? (coz most perfumes do contain alcohol). For example, even my brothers in Pakistan, when they go to the masjid they don’t wear cologne though normally they always do, because they say that masjid mein log tokte hayn.

Saby bhai - :slight_smile:

Sheraz bhai - imho pretty much, if we truly have come to the conclusion within ourselves that what we are doing is not against the spirit of Islam…because each of us is only individually answerable to Allah and Him alone and whatever decision we make is between us and Him only…

UnderCover bhai - :slight_smile:

Faisal bhai - :slight_smile:

PA bhai - i just realised u called me ‘ierm’ :hoonh: :smash: i think thats the first time someone called me that, khayr hae :hehe:

*Originally posted by irem: *

Saby bhai - :)

Saby Bhai??... ahhh am i glad to hear that ..
Irem, honestly Pakistan main hur kisi ki apni theories hain and whenever you go to masjid you will see different opinions about the very same thing!

I have lived i saudia and they have some very clear views about some issues barring some issues in which thyey are rigid! But most ppl there Never forget to put perfume And/Or "ATAR" while going to mosques.

Unless someone comes up with some Concrete evidence, i dont believe in relegious opinions anyways! Every maulvi or even a single person seems to have a different opinions
thats why God has asked us to read quran and seek guidance for ourselves ...

Ha Ha Ha :biggrin:

only because this is the religion forum saby bhai :biggrin:

Cafe mein toh abhee bhee aap ko saby BAJI hi bulaon gi :stuck_out_tongue:

muhahahaha i just love confusing everyone :dixsi:

hmm wisay perfume laga lena :k: