Perfume & ROZA ??

saby baji, woh toh aap na bhi bolein tab bhee lagani thee isi lyay toh post kholi thee saby baji :biggrin: :wave: :stuck_out_tongue:

oh my God, dont get me started on that hadith again.

I dont think there is anything wrong in wearing perfume during your roza, and it probably wont nullify it.

roza is about fasting, and fasting is about abstaining from pleasure like eating, and having sex.

Sure, perfume may make u happy for a minute or two, but does it really cause u pleasure? I dont know about you, but after I put on perfume, I forget its existance for the whole day.

You can't foget the pleasure of food while ur eating, or while you're performing intercourse (well, maybe there are individual exceptions to that - shrugs)

Originally posted by irem: *
its just that personally i dont consider perfume an absolute necessity, as opposed to brushing teeth and deodrant. and usu during ramzan elderly aunties always say to me that wearing perfume nullifies fasting. i did think about it logically myself and am not too convinced, thats why i asked.
* coz perfume does give a good feeling to ur senses which i am not sure is allowed while fasting or not.**

Perfumes and colognes are used to keep the 'people around you happy' and not yourself. Swimming in toxic cloud of body odour is not an option. Deodrant and perfumes function in different ways, but they work to achieve the same result: making your presence tolerable.

*Originally posted by Sheraz CT: *
you wrote: .. we were supposed to develop our intellect enough to be able to use common sense for that.

we might not agree on something so how do we know who is right? thats why we need more then Quran and thats what Prophet said as well

to find out who is right, we look at the quran, if the quran doesn't mention it explicitly it means that multiple meanings are legitimate or the issue in a non-important one.

Of course its not, I wouldnt think it could be. Cleansiness is half our faith. Smelling nice would be encouraged for Ramadan I'd think.

But I'm not a scholar, best to ask hamza Yusuf, and also tell him he should be Khalifa.

jazakallah for the replies everyone :flower1: was really interesting to read all the views :slight_smile:

http://63.175.194.25/index.php?ln=eng&ds=qa&lv=browse&QR=37706&dgn=3

jazak Allah brother/sister :flower2:

that was very helpful :slight_smile:

Praise be to Allaah.

It is permissible to wear perfume in Ramadaan and that does not invalidate the fast.

In Fataawa al-Lajnah al-Daa’imah (Fatwas of the Standing Committee) it says: All smells and fragrances in general, whether perfumes or otherwise, do not invalidate the fast in Ramadaan or at other times, whether the fast is obligatory or naafil.

The Committee also said: Whoever puts on any kind of perfume during the day in Ramadaan whilst fasting does not invalidate his fast, but he should not inhale incense or powdered fragrances such as musk.

Fataawa al-Lajnah al-Daa’imah, 10/271

Shaykh Ibn ‘Uthaymeen said:

With regard to perfume, it is permissible for the fasting person to put it on at the beginning of the day and at the end, whether the perfume is in the form of incense, oil or whatever, but it is not permissible to inhale incense because incense contains particles which, if inhaled, may reach the stomach through the nose. Hence the Prophet (peace and blessings of Allaah be upon him) said to Laqeet ibn Sabrah: “Rinse your nose thoroughly, unless you are fasting.”

Fataawa Arkaan al-Islam, p. 46.

Islam Q&A (www.islam-qa.com)

I checked that site man and it seems to be a Whabbi site-they spell Allah like Allaah and Islam like Islaam, I was told ONLY Whabis do that.

lol :hehe:

it’s pronounced that way nuthin’ to do with bein’ wahabi… and don’t call them wahabi yaar… they don’t like it, it divides the ummah…

I personally agree with their aqeeda, the only problem with 'em is they don’t believe in taqleed.

Alright mate, I take that accusation back. happy? :)

well said Axiom!